We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B half-block from the beach”
Review of Angel of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angel of the Sea
Ranked #5 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This Victorian B&B, two sections, 3 stories tall, is a great place to spend some time. The food--breakfast, 4 o'clock tea, and 6 o'clock wine and cheese with lots of other goodies--is outstanding. The rooms are Victorian-right, the living and dining rooms beautifully appointed and the place was filled with friendly folk, a number of whom have been making this their vacation destination for 17 or more years. Now, that says something about the place!

Room Tip: Cape May is a community on the historic register because of it's awesome collection of Victorian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThProfessah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

We spent a weekend here a couple of months ago. When we came back from dinner we realized that someone, with a key, entered our room and stole $175 out of my purse. After notifying the police and making a report, the manager implied that we were making this up. The owner never even contacted us. Needless to say that this incident ruined our stay which ran us $300 a night and the breakfast had a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Angel of the Sea in Cape May last month. The sweeping porches are the perfect place to relax! Our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was gracious. The breakfasts were delicious and satisfying. Thank you Angel, for another unforgettable visit!

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the first floor...no stairs to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

First time visit to Cape May so can't comment on other options but this was a delightful find with reasonable off season rates just beginning at the end of September. Room was small but pretty (but why so many pillows that necessarily end up on the floor?); pleasant and helpful staff and, with big breakfasts, tea and cake at 4 and wine and cheese at 5:30, one could almost skip outside meals although good local restaurants abound. Although one house separates this from the beach, all the wonderful porches and many bedrooms make one feel like it is almost beach front. Bicycles are free to borrow; the location is about a mile from the center of the old town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjspringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My mother and I arrived and were greeted with a wonderful and informative welcome. Our room was nice, we had our own private entrance and porch. A little dusty and way over decorated with tacky furnishings. It was nice we were right at the beach, so great location! That afternoon we had small desserts and tea and then wine and cheese. We stayed 3 days. So, the breakfasts were very good. Two choices a pancake or waffle selection and then an egg dish. I had the eggs each morning, however very heavy on the cheese. The tea was good, but desserts were average and so was the evening cheese and wine. By our second day, the manager seemed grumpy and not so friendly anymore. it did become more crowded as our days progressed, but isn't that your job, dude?
I would recommend this B&B, but for a short visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was probably the fifth or sixth time we've stayed at the Angel of the Sea in Cape May, but the first time "in season" during the summer. We can't say enough about the hospitality, the beauty of the house and rooms as well as the food. It's always such a relaxing stay there. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that, for guests, they supply beach umbrellas, chairs and towels so we didn't have to bring any of that with us. As well, there's a huge outdoor shower to wash off the sand before you go inside. We will continue our annual stay at the Angel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassidy1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This isn't a place where you feel welcome. The girls at the front desk were pleasant, but the Sunday breakfast waiter, who I think was the owner, was both abrupt and unfriendly.
The food was okay but the room was shabby, in particular, the bathroom. The room wasn't 't very clean either. Maybe that's ok for a budget hotel, but not for $275 a night.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BethB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#17 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Sea

Address: 5 Trenton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £84 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn located opposite the ocean. Your stay includes full breakfast service, afternoon tea service and evening wine and cheese service. We also offer free use of bicycles, beach towels, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Angel of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Of The Sea Hotel Cape May
Angel Of The Sea Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing