We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place by the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Angel of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angel of the Sea
Ranked #5 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place by the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We spent 2 nights here in May. Lots of porch space to enjoy the sea air, sit and lounge or read,and you can hear the ocean. Wonderful breakfast and tea time treats. Wine and cheese at 6. Newspapers in sitting area in the morning and coffe and tea are out ahead of breakfast so you can scan them with your tea. We hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    93
    41
    23
    10
See reviews for
70
429
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Angel of the Sea had great reviews but we should have known better than to take the last one remaining room -- because it was on the bottom floor and next to the dining area. We don't usually stay at B & B's because they all seem to have cats roaming around and I have severe cat allergies. Also, I don't particularly care to socialize with people I will never see again, especially at breakfast. But it was our wedding anniversary, and we were making plans last minute. My husband was assured that there were no cats. (And that was, in fact, true.) I am a light sleeper bothered by noise and light. Our room, even with shades closed, was not dark because the windows opened up into the parking lot and its bright lights. I was prepared for that, however, bringing a mask, although it gets uncomfortable sleeping in it. The noise factor had to do with the fact that we were on the ground floor and two more stories above all have squeaky wooden floors over our heads. We were in room #2, which was very small, made even smaller by the large, solid, wooden sleigh-type day bed crammed in, besides the bed. Perhaps people who love B & B's might like this particular aspect of them, but every surface seemed covered with some cutesy objects, making the room feel even smaller. Besides, where are you supposed to put your own stuff??? There must have been a dozen pillows in shams on both beds. No place to step, no place to go. The bathroom felt so small that my husband chose not to shower this morning. Since we don't live that far away and were going home this morning, it didn't really matter that much. But it's a negative for sure. On the positive side, however, were the high ceilings. That opened up the space a bit. Also, I must commend the staff on the level of cleanliness in the Angel. Victorian B & B's tend to get dusty with all the stuff around. My nose did not protest this time. The 4 pm tea with baked goods was very enjoyable, as was the 5:30 wine and cheese. The staff was mostly pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was abundant and ok, although I wouldn't rave about it. It was partially buffet and then you were offered a choice of a hot dish, which tried to be gourmet but flopped, in my view. The coffee was a major disappointment. It was weak, as in most places, and it was served in carafes which failed to keep it hot. Starbucks it was not.

Room Tip: upper floor just keep in mind there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitvoyodelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This Victorian B&B, two sections, 3 stories tall, is a great place to spend some time. The food--breakfast, 4 o'clock tea, and 6 o'clock wine and cheese with lots of other goodies--is outstanding. The rooms are Victorian-right, the living and dining rooms beautifully appointed and the place was filled with friendly folk, a number of whom have been making this their vacation destination for 17 or more years. Now, that says something about the place!

Room Tip: Cape May is a community on the historic register because of it's awesome collection of Victorian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThProfessah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We spent a weekend here a couple of months ago. When we came back from dinner we realized that someone, with a key, entered our room and stole $175 out of my purse. After notifying the police and making a report, the manager implied that we were making this up. The owner never even contacted us. Needless to say that this incident ruined our stay which ran us $300 a night and the breakfast had a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Angel of the Sea in Cape May last month. The sweeping porches are the perfect place to relax! Our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was gracious. The breakfasts were delicious and satisfying. Thank you Angel, for another unforgettable visit!

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the first floor...no stairs to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfair, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

First time visit to Cape May so can't comment on other options but this was a delightful find with reasonable off season rates just beginning at the end of September. Room was small but pretty (but why so many pillows that necessarily end up on the floor?); pleasant and helpful staff and, with big breakfasts, tea and cake at 4 and wine and cheese at 5:30, one could almost skip outside meals although good local restaurants abound. Although one house separates this from the beach, all the wonderful porches and many bedrooms make one feel like it is almost beach front. Bicycles are free to borrow; the location is about a mile from the center of the old town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjspringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My mother and I arrived and were greeted with a wonderful and informative welcome. Our room was nice, we had our own private entrance and porch. A little dusty and way over decorated with tacky furnishings. It was nice we were right at the beach, so great location! That afternoon we had small desserts and tea and then wine and cheese. We stayed 3 days. So, the breakfasts were very good. Two choices a pancake or waffle selection and then an egg dish. I had the eggs each morning, however very heavy on the cheese. The tea was good, but desserts were average and so was the evening cheese and wine. By our second day, the manager seemed grumpy and not so friendly anymore. it did become more crowded as our days progressed, but isn't that your job, dude?
I would recommend this B&B, but for a short visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Sea

Property: Angel of the Sea
Address: 5 Trenton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2735
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn located opposite the ocean. Your stay includes full breakfast service, afternoon tea service and evening wine and cheese service. We also offer free use of bicycles, beach towels, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angel of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Of The Sea Hotel Cape May
Angel Of The Sea Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing