We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Angel of the Sea review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angel of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angel of the Sea
Ranked #6 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Angel of the Sea review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is the 2nd time that I stayed @ Angel of the Sea in Cape May. LOVE this place ! Less then a half block from the beach - staff is so friendly - the food is great ! Had a great time AGAIN & will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara3212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    93
    41
    23
    10
See reviews for
68
416
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just returned from our second stay at the Angel. My 10 year old daughter and I went for a Mommy & Daughter vacation. The inn is just beautiful and very clean. The breakfasts, afternoon tea and evening wine & cheese are delicious. The entire staff went out of their way to make my daughter feel special. The owner of the inn saw us enjoying our tea on one of the porches and invited us to follow him. He took us to a third story porch that we did not realize was open for our use. The view was gorgeous. Later he took myself & my daughter to see some of the suites that were not being used that day. He gave us a lovely "guided" tour of the inn and made us feel very welcome and special. I would highly recommend the Angel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have been going to the Angel almost every year since 1999. We love the ambiance and we didn't enjoy Cape May as much the 2 times we didn't stay at the Angel. This year our daughter followed our lead and stayed there with her friend. They loved it too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The building is beautiful and uniques with a rich Cape May history. Wonderful ocean view from many of the rooms and porches. The breakfasts are amazing and people are very pleasant and accommodating.what a great place to sit back, relax and enjoy the beauty that is Cape May, NJ in general and Angel of the Sea in particular.

Room Tip: Sorry, but there is no swimming pool, I accidentally clicked a review of the pool and can't unch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfiedandcontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We never went to Cape May, a friend suggested going to Angel of the sea. We arrived on a Tues and left 2 days later. We had the happiest 2 days there. The Angel was a beautiful historic Victorian B and B. We were on the third floor, not too many stairs. Outside our room we had a beautiful balcony. We were right across the street from the ocean. Breakfast was gourmet, beside the main dish there were homemade cakes, fruit , juice and coffee. The porch was like a paradise. So nice just to sit and watch families have fun and see people riding their bikes. We were provided with chairs , towels, umbrella's and bikes at no extra charge. 4:30 was tea time, accompanied by homemade pastries. We missed the cheese and wine both nights because we were sight seeing. Loved our room and the staff were so nice. One thing you must do when u go there if you love history and good fried chicken is do" The Chalifonte's Civil War dinner package." Bring your own hangers that is helpful. We can't wait to find time to go back.

Room Tip: I have only been there once so I can't say much. We were on the 3rd floor of the second house an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaD5562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

this has been our second stay at The Angle of the Sea and was every bit as enjoyable as our first. We are hoping to be able to bring back our family and friends to share such a wonderful experience. The staff is phenomenal, the breakfast and afternoon snacks are equal to any 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The location is great - close enough to everything but just enough out of the way to be peaceful and relaxing. The property is charming and well maintained; the staff goes out of their way to be helpful and accommodating and the food was very well managed and prepared. The bathrooms could use some updating in the 2 rooms we were in (showers particularly) but they were clean and there were plenty of towels, soaps and so forth. We had fun and enjoyed the sunset, cocktail hour and the proximity to the beach as well as the convenience of the bikes and ease of parking in their lot. I would recommend this to anyone looking for the B & B experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#9 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Sea

Property: Angel of the Sea
Address: 5 Trenton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2735
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn located opposite the ocean. Your stay includes full breakfast service, afternoon tea service and evening wine and cheese service. We also offer free use of bicycles, beach towels, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Angel of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Of The Sea Hotel Cape May
Angel Of The Sea Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing