We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedford is Perfect for ALL occasions”
Review of Bedford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bedford Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Bedford is Perfect for ALL occasions”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Bedford Inn is cozy and quaint. We just stayed here last weekend for a Wedding of our friends and we have to say that Archie might be a saint! Yes he has "rules" to follow (and if you don't appreciate that then you are just not a respectful person to begin with) but nothing that is over bearing or asking to much of anyone. It is a gorgeous house and anyone that goes there will understand why it is in such good condition because Archie takes care of it. He doesn't even bother you and he is the sweetest person we have met in a really long time.
All around the Inn are beautiful antiques and gorgeous pictures that you can tell have been there for such a long time. The vibe the house gives off is fabulous. The Bedford Inn is a perfect place to stay in Cape May, when you are in Cape May you are there to relax and to have fun and Archie helps you do that in any way that he possibly can. He has magazines from the county on all the latest attractions around and gives you helpful hints on what to do while you are in town. The drawings on the walls are also something that you must see. Overall this bed & breakfast was definitely our favorite and we have been to Cape May a few times, from here on out we are staying with Archie, every time!! Everyone has things that they like and things that they don't like but I would definitely tell anyone that before you decide to not stay here to try it for yourself first. It is so close to the beach and just a few blocks from all the shops, you really can't go wrong!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drea27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    39
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
252
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Walking around Cape May I wondered why I had booked our precious two nights at the Bedford Inn. There are so many beautiful b&b's and inns to choose from and I envied the guests sitting on the wide verandahs of some of those lovely guest houses. When we arrived we were given the full tour and "house rules" by our host Archie. You get a distinct impression that this house is run to suit the innkeeper rather than the guest. Guests are instructed to clear their dishes from the dining table and follow strict house rules. Breakfast is advertised on their website as a "full" breakfast but it is far from that and the food amateurish. The first morning breakfast times and choices were more limited because there were less guests. The second morning a large wedding group arrived for breakfast from another inn which is apparently under the same ownership. All these guests were sitting in the common living room in view of the breakfast table waiting for their turn for breakfast. Some of the guests from Bedford Inn couldn't find a place at the table. Archie explained that it was more convenient for HIM to serve all the guests at one location. Our room was "Elizabeth's", it was dark with very little lighting. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were OK. The room was shabby, I can believe another reviewer's comment that nothing has changed in, was it 25 years? I lost an earring so while searching the floor, my husband and I found more dust than most guests would notice. The bathroom lighting was very good but the mirror above the basin far too high. The deep antique bath, well that was why I booked Elizabeth's Room! There is a huge amount of rubbery smelling shower curtain surrounding this exceptional tub which makes showering very difficult. The smell permeates the whole room rather like that of an inflatable airbed. As we were leaving, a couple riding bikes approached us and asked if we would recommend Bedford Inn. They were looking for a place to celebrate their wedding anniversary during the summer and in all honesty I told them that I thought they could do better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississippi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The house is gorgeous! Very tastefully done in period furnishings. Archie was very helpful in working with us at the last minute and adjusting rooms and schedules. My only disappointment was that breakfast is not served until 9 am. As an early riser, this was an issue for my husband and I. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate is available 24/7, but there were no juices, or continental breakfast for those of us up early. We had commitments to be at events by 8 am both days of our stay, and no offer to accommodate us was made, even after a suggestion that I heat up my own, as it was already made for the next morning. All in all, a lovely place, but not a muffin or glass a juice will appear before 9. Plan on finding your own breakfast if you are an early riser, and this won't be easy in the low seasons as Cape May pretty much is barren in the slow months.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broadreach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordInn, Owner at Bedford Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
I am sure this was a misunderstanding on my part as I try to make every effort to accommodate our guests that are not able to have breakfast during our normal advertised times. As stated on our web site and confirmation letters, we serve a full hot breakfast usually buffet style between 8:30 and 10 am. When we have a full house this allows us to space out the food for freshness and quality when serving. We have a seating capacity of 16 available seats for breakfast and therefore need to space out the breakfast time to accommodate all of our guests; especially when we are filled to capacity. It seems to work fine, allowing our guests more flexibility for breakfast, since some get up early and some like to sleep in. It is less restrictive than a sit down with specific seating times. Our serving times are sometimes changed/shortened based on our capacity, again to make sure that food is fresh and not sitting for long periods of time on a warmer. Also, I set up for the next morning’s breakfast the night before. This includes putting out boxes of cold and hot cereals for anyone who is an early riser. If I am aware that someone has an early schedule, i.e. birders or guests going fishing, I offer to put milk in one of our common refrigerators for them to have cereal. Hot water, tea, coffee and hot chocolate are available 24/7. When requested by guests leaving early, I have in the past put out muffins and/or fruit for them to take with them in the morning. Of course this is all based on me being aware of the need. I kind of remember someone saying they would make their own but I thought they were speaking of hot tea. It didn’t make any sense to me why or how someone would make their own breakfast. I obviously misunderstood what this person was trying to communicate to me. I am sorry for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I decided to go to the southern tip of New Jersey for vacation. She had gone to other places along the Shore and wasn't satisfied so this was do or die for me being a lifelong New Jerseyan. Cape May was a pleasant surprise and part of that surprise was this B&B. It was in great condition and Archie, the inn owner, was very personable and helpful in guiding us around Cape May. We stayed in the Edwards Room, which is the first room in the house. It was a nice room typical of the good quality B&Bs that I have stayed in before. The dining and living rooms are immaculate with the murals and Victorian furniture. This was not your typical New Jersey shore place. I recommend anyone coming to Cape May to look into staying here.

Room Tip: I booked my room on the website. If you have a particular preference for a room, you should call an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ominnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Searched long and hard for a special place to celebrate our 40th Wdddding Anniversary. The Bedford Inn is that special kind of place. Take a step back in history and enjoy the comfort and ambience as it once was. Your host, Archie and his family will treat you as if you were one of their own. If you are celebrating a milestone in your life our you just plan on spending a memorable weekend or longer come to the Bedford Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRMartens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Wife & I visited the Bedford just after getting married in 1989, and finally got around to getting back this weekend. Twenty three years later, it was (almost) like we'd never left. Good job, Archie ! Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomingoDePerros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had the most relaxing time at the Bedford In. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfredo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Inn

Property: Bedford Inn
Address: 805 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2446
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Inn is a perfect year-round getaway where you can leave your hectic lifestyle behind. Take a stroll, bicycle ride or go back in time on a horse & carriage ride through the streets of our enchanting Victorian Village by the sea. We are located just a short block to the beach, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bedford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Cape May
Bedford Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing