We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Archie Does it Again!”
Review of Bedford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bedford Inn
Ranked #12 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Archie Does it Again!”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed another wonderful stay at the Bedford Inn. We highly recommend it for a relaxing stay in beautiful Cape May. We can't say enough positive things about the Inn and staff. This is truly a gem and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele-BillG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    39
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
252
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I truly enjoyed our second visit to the Bedford Inn. The rooms, numerous and on the small side, were beautifully decorated and set up maintaining the ambiance of a beautiful and historic Victorian home. The Inn is located a short walk to the center of the village, and just one block from the beach. The breakfast is truly generous, different each of our three days and delicious. We highly recommend this B&B and shall certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruceliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Lovely atmosphere, beautiful house, wonderful breakfast, peaceful, an accommodating Innkeeper and staff and all this plus one block from the beach! Thank you so much to Archie and staff for how accommodating and comfortable our stay was at the Bedford Inn! The Bedford will always be our choice for future stays in Cape May.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This review is a tad late, but better late than never. This was our second stay at the Bedford Inn, and once again, everything was wonderful! The Inn is always clean and inviting, the rooms are comfy, the food is perfect, parking is never a problem, and the service can't be beat. Archie and his staff really take care of you when you stay at the Bedford, and make you feel at home. He even gave us an engagement gift, after I proposed to my girlfriend (now wife) on the beach. We love the Bedford Inn and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Cape May. We can't wait to go back! See you soon, Archie!
--John and Becky Crawford

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Large, immaculate, and beautifully appointed rooms. Lovely breakfasts, coffee and tea available around the clock. A first- and second-floor porch for enjoying the Cape May sights and breezes. All of these characteristics of the Bedford Inn would be enough to recommend it, but then there are the little things that Archie (owner) does that make this a destination we will be sure to visit again. From bringing our luggage up to the third floor, to making reservations for us at local restaurants, to providing beach towels as well as beach chairs, to stocking the outdoor shower with soap and shampoo – Archie’s attention to detail and to his guests’ needs is truly outstanding. There is nothing else I can add to all of the reasons other guests have listed for staying at the Bedford Inn. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelersthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audubon, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I would like to thank Archie for a wonderful stay. The accommodations were amazing! The rooms were spotless and the service was stellar. The breakfasts in the morning were some of the best we ever had. I would highly recommend a stay at The Bedford Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBRA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Archie and his staff were incredible. They made reservations and suggestions of restaurants and activities. They were knowledgeable about the area and gave us a history lesson about the Inn! Accommodations were lovely -- very quaint. Rooms were large and clean. One of the best aspects is the Bedford is only a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Wifi not terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Inn

Property: Bedford Inn
Address: 805 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2446
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Inn is a perfect year-round getaway where you can leave your hectic lifestyle behind. Take a stroll, bicycle ride or go back in time on a horse & carriage ride through the streets of our enchanting Victorian Village by the sea. We are located just a short block to the beach, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bedford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Cape May
Bedford Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing