We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chalfonte was a great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chalfonte

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chalfonte
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
richmond
1 review
“Chalfonte was a great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Chalfonte for one evening. The staff was most accommodating and helpful. The food was excellent. The charm of the hotel was a reat treat. The manager Dillon and staff (Andrew, Darren, and Jillene) were very professional. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pookette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    49
    24
    23
    26
See reviews for
60
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

First the good stuff. The food is first class--the dinner is 4 star plus and the included breakfast is a solid deal. This however is the end of the good, and the beginning of the not so good. Firstly, the rooms are very shabby, i.e. no furnishings other than a wicker rocking chair. Our room, actually a suite (Rm 75 & 76) had exposed wiring and a filthy closet. The absolute worst about our room was the bedding. The mattresses were lumpy and hard and left the entire family ill-rested (and tempered) each day. The last night, we actually used an air mattress on-top of one of the cots--this is not acceptable for the price we were paying. Also we were on the 3rd fl. and heard a lot of hallway noise during the evening hours. We cut our vacation short due to the poor accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HegelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Hockessin, DE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

I guess I'd like to start off by saying I've written many reviews and have never written such a negative one. I'm not one of those people who enjoy complaining. However, I don't have anything positive to say about this hotel! Upon arriving, we discovered they have no parking lot. So we had to drive around for 25 minutes looking for parking and ended up several blocks from the hotel, having to drag our suitcases along toward the hotel for check-in. We had the European Bath and the room was TINY. For $199/night, I've stayed in better hotels in Paris! There was nothing European or Victorian about the room. There was a modern headboard and side table, modern bed cover, no room to put luggage. No wall decor. No balcony. No bathtub! Only a shower. And I thought oceanside, meant facing the ocean, but it means facing the side. So the view was terrible. No blow dryer. No shampoo, and none at the front desk. Dingy mirror so discolored you can't see your reflection. A miserable place to stay. Next time I will probably just go to Long Branch NJ and skip Cape May. My advice, don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyInABottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

Don't waste any time trying to find a nice room in this hotel - all the pictures are photoshopped, and I agree with all the other reviewers who say this hotel is overpriced and mismanaged. The hotel may look nice from 500 feet away on the outside, but you'll smell the stench of a rip-off by the time you step into your room. Rooms are small and poorly maintained, and they call half-tubs a bathroom (and charge you extra for them). Staff is unfriendly and unhelpful, and makes you feel like you are asking for too much when you ask for a little service. When I am writing this review, the hotel is ranked 39th of 43 hotels in Cape Map. I think it should be 43rd of 43 in Cape May.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MD_T0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

I paid over $300 a night for a room with a closet converted into a bathroom, a broken door lock on the ground floor near an unlocked unattended entrance a blockfrom the front desk, invested with sugar ants with no air conditioning with on the street parking that the closest I could get was three blocks away in the opposite direction from the beach and shopping, Inconvenient, overpriced. Feel so sorry for the staff they are constantly apologizing - seems like they are used to complaints and the management not satisfying clients. We were offered free dinner in the Magnolia Room for two nights as compensation, but heard complaints from three different couples dining outside.
No worth the time, money or aggravation, Went to celebrate the end of treatment for cancer - added to the nightmare.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sapphire522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

We paid too much for a room wth no private bath. The staff was great, room clean and the complimentary breakfast was wonderful. The sink in our room was stopped up and we could not use it. There was no off-street parking and we had to park blocks away. It was also very far to walk to the beach. The furniture in the lobby and TV room needed either cleaning or new upholstery. They were grimy. We sat out on the porch, rather than on those sofas. I probably would not book there again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanF_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. paul mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

We were suppose to stay there in June. We booked them through a travel agent. We were told that we would not be charged until check-in. Next day the hotel charged our account and caused us overdraft fees and refused to acknowledge that they shouldn't have charged us until we checked in. We even printed the papers from the travel agent which stated that they shouldn't have charged us. Then they charged us $25 to cancel the room so we wouldn't get more overdraft fees. This could have been resolved if they would have credited us back the full amount that they took from us and offered us accommodations, instead we have to look for accommodations somewhere else and we are stuck with huge overdraft fees because of them. We have filed a claim with the Better Business Bureau.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommymania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#26 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#22 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalfonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalfonte

Property: The Chalfonte
Address: 301 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2430
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape May
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chalfonte 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, The Historic Chalfonte Hotel is recognized as the oldest continuously operating hotel in Cape May, America's Original Seaside Resort. Situated just two blocks from the beach, The Chalfonte offers a unique seashore experience defined by warm, Southern-style hospitality and simplistic traditions. We cater to every budget with spacious suites, guest rooms with premium and European style baths, and traditional rooms with shared baths down the hall. Guest rooms feature crisp linens and cool seaside colors, and are free of televisions, telephones, and clock radios. Our nationally acclaimed Magnolia Room restaurant serves Southern-style fare with lovingly prepared family recipes and our King Edward Bar is famous for its classic cocktails and casual ambiance. Our guests continuously return from around the world to enjoy this very special destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
Chalfonte Cape May
Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
The Chalfonte Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing