We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Southern Mansion
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Cape May is known for it's Victorian homes, so when my husband and I were deciding on a wedding venue for our small guest list of 65, the Southern Mansion was a no-brainer! I won't go into detail about their performance as a wedding venue other than to say they do an EXCELLENT job executing events!

As for the bed & breakfast aspect, we stayed here two nights during our wedding weekend. Five couples total stayed in their rooms on the porch (#16-20) and each was uniquely beautiful! Although a newer part of the Southern Mansion, the rooms are true to the Victorian style and all 5 rooms had connecting doors, making for a fun after party!

Breakfast each morning was also a treat, with a full spread of fruits, muffins, yogurt and a breakfast entree of your choice. I had the french toast both mornings with the topping of the day (walnuts one day, strawberries the next) - it was SO GOOD. Their chef and catering staff are amazing, both for breakfast and for our wedding meals!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank migratialcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here because of a special promotion and we have never been to Cape May. We requested a room on the 3rd floor which was just like their website said, quiet, but be aware there is no elevator so bringing up your luggage may not be so much fun.
The place had a "home-y" feel. You felt comfortable wandering the garden (admiring their beautiful flowers), sitting on their porch, helping yourself to tea, coffee, lemonade and snacks. No young children are allowed, so the grounds were quiet as well. Everybody on the staff appeared well trained and helpful. Ken was extremely professional when I called to add my daughter as a guest. We had wonderful conversations with Rita at the front desk. Her many suggestions were spot on and we can't thank her enough for her favorite place for potato salad. A 6 mile drive out of Cape May but were we rewarded when we got back home and tried the "Extreme Egg and Bacon" potato salad. As lovely Rita (not the meter maid) said, "make sure you get the big bucket". Breakfast is included at the Mansion and as others reviewed it, it was excellent. Pastries changed everyday at the buffet and a daily special breakfast item added to menu was a nice touch.
We had room 8 on the third floor. It is in the back corner of the Mansion. Three windows, one of the parking lot, the other, the roof and parking lot and the third, the roof and part of the 2nd floor deck. So if it is views you like, you might not like this room. The room is large and more than adequate for 3 adults. The shower stall is spacious and has a small corner marble seat. The bathroom is small with just enough room for the toilet and shower stall. The sink is located outside the bathroom. Furniture in the Victorian style. High bed and very comfortable. Pillows were a bit lumpy though (it was obvious they were washed). I left suggestions for a grab bar or non-slip strips to be added to the shower stall because after soaping up the tile floor can be quite slippery. The other suggestion was for a full length mirror. Oops, I forgot to ask that they dust the cobwebs of the lamp shades on both night stands and the floor lamp by the TV. Free wifi is available in the common room in the lobby. Wished it was available in the room as well because after a day sightseeing or going to the beach, you get back to your room, clean up, put on your comfy clothes and darn you can't stay in your room if you want to check email or get online :(
We partook of their free wine tasting at their winery, Willow Creek. See review.
Location of the Mansion was good. It was about a 3 short tree lined block walk to the Washington St Mall. The walk to the beach was about 1/2 mile with stretches in the sun. With towels and beach chairs (available at the front desk), it can be a longer hike than some people would like. Oh, it costs $6/day/person to get on the beach. My daughter did not have cash with her (and they don't take American Express or any cards including debit cards) and we ended up having to bring her some.
The Southern Mansion is a well managed property, each room is unique and has its own character and a southern delight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VAtravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay in Cape May at the Southern Mansion. This recently restored Mansion is impeccable in all respects. Our room was elegant and comfortable with a tastefully appointed bed and a spacious bathroom. Breakfast was ample and delicious with table service and buffet available. This mansion has lush and beautifully well kept grounds with colorful and fragrant flowers. We were greeted by Rita who was most accommodating and helpful in guiding us. She went out of her way to insure that our visit was carefree and memorable. The tour of the mansion conducted by Ken proved to be very informative. There is a very interesting history attached to this mansion which has been lovingly restored by Barbara, it's owner. If you stay here, make sure that you visit Barbara's vineyard which is located in close proximity to the mansion. All in all, we would recommend the Southern Mansion to our family and friends and plan to return in the very near future. Ray and Connie from Mercerville, NJ

Room Tip: room #16 was a winner for us...nicely appointed and strategically located near the lovely grounds on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayandConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband and I decided to stay in Cape May for a couple days after our vow renewal. The master suite room is just beautiful, as is what we saw of the rest of the house. The breakfasts were excellent. My only complaint about that would be that they only serve it until 10, I believe. We are not morning people haha! The mansion is within walking distance to many restaurants and shops, but not quite as close to the beach as I might've liked. The young lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful in giving us a map and pointing out restaurants we might like to try. Overall, I'd say we had a very good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I cannot say enough good things about our stay at the Southern Mansion in Cape May, NJ this past weekend! The accommodations, building, and grounds were meticulously well kept and beautiful. We stayed in a king room on the 3rd floor, and it was gorgeous. The reception and breakfast staff were awesome, always having a recommendation if requested. This place provides beach chairs and towels and is within walking distance to the beach. The breakfast each morning was great - lots of pastries, fruit, cereals, as well as the opportunity to order a hot item from the menu. The room linens were very clean and smelled fresh. It was overall such a pleasant experience, and I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone. Thanks again Southern Mansion!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAToland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We've stayed at Southern Mansion many times, always have a great time! The staff are great especially Rita and Denise. We just came back from 2 nights during Memorial Day week, had a wonderful! Sarah Treat

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Spent two nights at The Southern Mansion in Cape May. Wow!! The place is gorgeous. The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. The grounds really make you believe you are in another century.
Staff was wonderful, more than happy to take you on a tour and explain the mansions' history.
Breakfast was superb--cooked to order as well as a full buffet of pastries, fruit and salmon.
The weather was great which made our stay all the better.
The Southern Mansion was not cheap- but for a special occasion it was well worth it.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgette526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,242 reviews
0.6 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southern Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southern Mansion

Address: 720 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2331
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £110 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southern Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Southern Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
Southern Mansion Cape May
Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
The Southern Mansion Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing