We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Southern Mansion
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Southern Mansion and from the moment we walked in and met Ken at the front desk, our visit was perfect. The property is a beautiful Victorian mansion that is immaculately clean and well appointed. The sitting room is large, airy and gorgeous. We stayed in Room 3, with red walls, a king sized bed and gorgeous furnishings. And a HUGE portrait of a naked lady on the wall!! The place is fun, has an exotic feel, and is just gorgeous. When we got to our room, our tv didn't work. Ken, the front desk guy came right up and began trouble shooting, He was wonderful. He contacted a couple of staff people by phone until someone made a suggestion that it may be the cable box. He came back again and did what was suggested and voila, it worked!! He did this all with a smile and what impressed me the most was that he CARED!!! This was customer service at its BEST!!! I hope Ken sees this- Ken- you were fabulous!!!
Breakfast is served at 8 AM. They have an assortment of pastries, cereals, juices, coffee, etc that are out already. Then they have an extensive breakfast menu of pancakes, eggs, french toast, etc. Breakfast was delicious.
Everything about this place was opulent. The grounds reminded me of an English garden. There is a large porch with chairs to relax and read on. The location of this bed and breakfast was walking distance to the Washington Street Mall- with loads of shops and restaurants. It was lovely to walk there both during the day and in the evening.
This was a great place!

Room Tip: Room 3 was the only room we saw (it was our room). It was gorgeous!! King bed/comfy sheets/blanket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    53
    15
    20
    4
See reviews for
18
173
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I just completed a weekend stay at the Southern Mansion, and we were extremely pleased. This was our 7th visit to Cape May, and we have rented a number of different homes with other families and also stayed at a few inns and B&Bs. The Southern Mansion met and exceeded all of our expectations. We always stay within walking distance, and the Southern Mansion was a nice walk to the beach and to town, as well as a great place from which to bike all around. Ample parking on-site is also a nice plus so close to town. Our room was very spacious, clean and quiet. We especially liked all of the rocking chair/porch options to relax - at the front of the hotel as well as on the enclosed hallway in front of our room. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept.I have seen some negative feedback about the breakfast, and I'm extremely puzzled. The pastries and fruit were all very tasty (especially the scones). In addition, a full breakfast is given, and my egg white omelette with crab and asparagus was delicious. There were many options to choose from, and none of our party had any complaints. A nice treat is that lemonade, tea and coffee are set out all day, and the coffee happened to be excellent (nice to have an ice coffee in the afternoon). It was even enjoyable to listen in on parts of the historical tours that were given (but not intrusive) to learn about the wonderful history of the inn. What perhaps stood out the most to me was the service we received from every member of the staff. To a person, everyone was pleasant, engaging and clearly trying to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The little accommodations they provided (allowing us to check-out towels on our departure day) may seem small, but it is often the little things that separate one establishment from another. In sum, our stay was wonderful top-to-bottom. We would gladly return to the Southern Mansion.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 18 in the back of the hotel but with easy ground floor access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAC614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We just completed our stay at the Southern Mansion for the first time. It was like our home away from home. The room was very, nice and clean and the bed was comfy. The staff was pleasant, the breakfast good and the grounds were well kept. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broker520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

When we arrived at the Southern Mansion my first impression was how beautiful. The grounds were kept neat and the flowers surrounding were gorgous. ( Smell good too) When we got to the front door we rang the door bell and was greeted by Ken. He checked us in immediately ( no waiting) and he gave us a short tour of where everything was. Our room was #10. We were on the 3rd floor. Like everyone is saying "yes" its very quiet and relaxing. Our air-conditioner was cool and comfortable. The room was very spacious, the linens were crisp, clean and luxrious, and our room was aways kept clean daily. We were walking distance to everywhere, 5 minutes to the Cape May mall, and 5 blocks to the beach. We were given towels and chairs for the beach. which was nice. My husband and I liked that every time we came back from somewhere there was always beverages cold and hot available. The sitting room downstairs was a nice place to chill out and talk about what we had just done. Each morning the breakfasts all I can say was that they were "YUMMY!" I enjoyed the eggs, bacon and toast, another day french toast. My husband loved the omlets. Besides your breakfast you had coffee, juice, fruit, muffins, scones, yogarts, and more. The hots days that we were there I was always cool and comfortable. I enjoyed looking around at all the antiques, pictures on the walls, fringe lampshades. The staff was alway gracious and smiling and Rita was helpful helping us on where to go for dinner. It was fun too, to watch the horse and buggy rides pass the front of the mansion. This place is awesome and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, very quiet, and no problem with air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
328 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in rooms 8&9 each room cost around $350 per night.the positives;beautiful grounds,great location,nice bedding.Now the negatives;tired and musty environment (even when making allowances for Victorian shabby chic),poor bathrooms,greasy cooked breakfast,poor choice of items in breakfast overall , no bottled water or minibars in room.Worst of all,noisy A/C that kept us awake much of the night.
You have been warned!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sweetiesPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernmansion, Manager at The Southern Mansion, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
First I want to apologize for your obvious dissatisfaction. We truly value our customers and only want to make you happy. We are so sorry that you did not let any of the staff or manager know that you were unhappy in any way. We would have gone out of our way to rectify any situation and make you happy, even moving or upgrading your room. As we pride our selves on cleanliness the musty comment is extremely disconcerting, and something we would have wanted to be made aware of immediately and remedied. We could not locate any musty odor at all today and would have loved to be alerted to any problem. As far as the price went, the rooms were $265.00 a night discounted from $285 for you and not $350. Perhaps there was a confusion and you were looking at something else? In regards to the breakfast choice , we offer everything from eggs any style, pancakes, French toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, always a health conscious special, and a fancy (not so healthy) special, smoked salmon, baked goods, oatmeal and it goes on. If you had been unhappy, all you had to do was let us know and we would have replaced it with something that would have made you happy. We accommodate special needs diets such as gluten and vegan as well. We truly are sorry you were unhappy and we would have loved to fix it immediately but as you said nothing and appeared to the staff to be happy we were unable to satisfy you. The front desk believes that you were a male couple and single female who stayed in a separate room and they too had no clue and are truly concerned. May we ask the you please give Manager Denise Cortina a call at 609-884-7171? We would love to learn from your constructive criticism and ameliorate the situation to your satisfaction. Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Cape May is known for it's Victorian homes, so when my husband and I were deciding on a wedding venue for our small guest list of 65, the Southern Mansion was a no-brainer! I won't go into detail about their performance as a wedding venue other than to say they do an EXCELLENT job executing events!

As for the bed & breakfast aspect, we stayed here two nights during our wedding weekend. Five couples total stayed in their rooms on the porch (#16-20) and each was uniquely beautiful! Although a newer part of the Southern Mansion, the rooms are true to the Victorian style and all 5 rooms had connecting doors, making for a fun after party!

Breakfast each morning was also a treat, with a full spread of fruits, muffins, yogurt and a breakfast entree of your choice. I had the french toast both mornings with the topping of the day (walnuts one day, strawberries the next) - it was SO GOOD. Their chef and catering staff are amazing, both for breakfast and for our wedding meals!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank migratialcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Kisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here because of a special promotion and we have never been to Cape May. We requested a room on the 3rd floor which was just like their website said, quiet, but be aware there is no elevator so bringing up your luggage may not be so much fun.
The place had a "home-y" feel. You felt comfortable wandering the garden (admiring their beautiful flowers), sitting on their porch, helping yourself to tea, coffee, lemonade and snacks. No young children are allowed, so the grounds were quiet as well. Everybody on the staff appeared well trained and helpful. Ken was extremely professional when I called to add my daughter as a guest. We had wonderful conversations with Rita at the front desk. Her many suggestions were spot on and we can't thank her enough for her favorite place for potato salad. A 6 mile drive out of Cape May but were we rewarded when we got back home and tried the "Extreme Egg and Bacon" potato salad. As lovely Rita (not the meter maid) said, "make sure you get the big bucket". Breakfast is included at the Mansion and as others reviewed it, it was excellent. Pastries changed everyday at the buffet and a daily special breakfast item added to menu was a nice touch.
We had room 8 on the third floor. It is in the back corner of the Mansion. Three windows, one of the parking lot, the other, the roof and parking lot and the third, the roof and part of the 2nd floor deck. So if it is views you like, you might not like this room. The room is large and more than adequate for 3 adults. The shower stall is spacious and has a small corner marble seat. The bathroom is small with just enough room for the toilet and shower stall. The sink is located outside the bathroom. Furniture in the Victorian style. High bed and very comfortable. Pillows were a bit lumpy though (it was obvious they were washed). I left suggestions for a grab bar or non-slip strips to be added to the shower stall because after soaping up the tile floor can be quite slippery. The other suggestion was for a full length mirror. Oops, I forgot to ask that they dust the cobwebs of the lamp shades on both night stands and the floor lamp by the TV. Free wifi is available in the common room in the lobby. Wished it was available in the room as well because after a day sightseeing or going to the beach, you get back to your room, clean up, put on your comfy clothes and darn you can't stay in your room if you want to check email or get online :(
We partook of their free wine tasting at their winery, Willow Creek. See review.
Location of the Mansion was good. It was about a 3 short tree lined block walk to the Washington St Mall. The walk to the beach was about 1/2 mile with stretches in the sun. With towels and beach chairs (available at the front desk), it can be a longer hike than some people would like. Oh, it costs $6/day/person to get on the beach. My daughter did not have cash with her (and they don't take American Express or any cards including debit cards) and we ended up having to bring her some.
The Southern Mansion is a well managed property, each room is unique and has its own character and a southern delight.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAtravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southern Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southern Mansion

Property: The Southern Mansion
Address: 720 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southern Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Southern Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
Southern Mansion Cape May
Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
The Southern Mansion Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing