We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at The Southern Mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Southern Mansion
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
PHL
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wedding at The Southern Mansion”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

For me it was a first at the Mansion and I was very impressed with the layout and the place. The only negative thing was parking since we did not overnight there, so we had to park somewhere and at night walking to ones car wherever it was was treacherous (uneven side walks). The ceremony and reception was outside and other than fighting the lawn with ones heels it was just lovely. Food and Drinks were excellent. The Dinner itself was something else - wonderful food in wonderful company. Highly recommendable for special functions.I was told that the rooms were just great and one night I would like to stay there, breakfast/brunch - the works. Cape May speaks for itself and for this particular event it was lovely, weather and all. Very impressed. Chris E

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    53
    15
    20
    4
See reviews for
18
174
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our two night stay with a "living social" discount was perfect. The hotel is beautifully restored, so if you enjoy history and luxury, this is a great place. It's also conveniently situated, a short walk to the downtown restaurants, shops, and tourist services. The staff people were friendly and happy to help with anything. My husband and I felt very pampered. Breakfast (included) was delicious, starting with a really good buffet, and then table seating with a menu and a waiter to deliver a hot meal (strawberry French toast was delicious, omelets were as good as any I've ever had). We were so pleased to have chosen The Southern Mansion for our stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our family stayed at the Mansion and held our rehearsal dinner there. Andreea was so helpful and responsive. She was creative and calming when I needed it.
The mansion is a gorgeous venue for an occasion like this. The event was magical.
The rooms are gorgeous and all different. But as a caution, you have to be able to do stairs to fully enjoy the experience.
The staff was wonderful and the food was excellent.
It is not on the beach but that was not the focus of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our stay at Southern Mansion September 15-18, 2013 was in perfect alignment with everything that we were looking for.
.
From the warm welcome of Rita at the front desk..-the charming mansion...-the weather-... wonderful made to order "everything omelette"......topped off by a beautiful wedding that took place in the garden.

The spiral staircase provided the perfect back drop to the glowing bride.

It was a magical first time experience . Rita offered suggestions to complement our stay that was a fit for us.

Room 22 is awesome. We plan to return soon to "our room."

Our Camryn said "Hi" to your Camryn.

Myers

Room Tip: Ask Rita who works at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank First_Timers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Booked one of the more expensive rooms for a 2 night stay.
Positives- good location in town, and the breakfast offered was excellent.
Negatives- The room was on the second floor and required ascent of a bizarre, almost vertical, narrow staircase. Two trips of schlepping luggage up this passageway and I was exhausted. No bellhops here. This room would not be suited to the elderly or anyone with an orthopedic handicap. The room was spacious, but also bizarre. The King bed was in a loft requiring another steep ascent up a spiral stair. The ceiling in the loft must have been designed for little people- over 4 ft tall and you whack you head on the ceiling. Any approach to the bed required stooping. At night, a bathroom call included 2 head bumps and a treacherous descent down the dark narrow spiral staircase. Oh boy. Considered purchasing a chamberpot. The bathroom had a small shower and toilet. No room for the sink, so it was out in the living area????? Huh? The "solarium" would be better named as a small sitting room. The window faced north, ergo no sun in the "solarium". No WiFi in the rooms- have to go to the central room to get on the internet. No minifridge in the room, and the ice machine was down 2 floors. On checking out, the desk person, a grumpy older woman, did not even look up from her calculator to ask if we had a pleasant stay- just "Key please" like the Goblin in Harry Potter.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank prakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernmansion, Manager at The Southern Mansion, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We are so very sorry that there were problems with your stay! Our guests are our number one priority, and any rudeness is unacceptable so we apologize profusely!
Unfortunately you did not mention any of your concerns to us before you left because we would have been happy to make any changes possible to accommodate you and facilitate a great experience. If you don't talk to us it is sadly impossible to help you.
Your room choice was chosen by you and booked online. The online description of a bi-level loft room is extremely descriptive and exact, as are the pictures. Though that room is loved by many many guests, we would never have recommend it to anyone who disliked or had a hard time with stairs. it appears the house was basically sold out when you booked but had you let us know you were unhappy when you arrived we would have been happy to try to have moved you to a large high ceiling first floor room that would have made you happy. I was also very concerned also about the "no bell-hop" comment as we have a man available to carry bags,and even the check-in staff are happy to take your bags to the room and they are trained to inquire if you need help with your bags when you arrive. As for the solarium I am a wee confused as with a 15 ft wall of glass and sunlight streaming in during different times of day , I don't think I'd call the 15ft x16ft room a small porch. Please call our manager Denise at 609-884-7171 we would love to do something to make you happy and learn to improve from your comments. Thank you Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent (3) nights at the Southern Mansion. It was our 1st time, there. Our 1st night was a nightmare. A loud & constant noise prevented us from sleeping. My husband described it as a diesel engine idling. I would describe it as the sound of a jack hammer. The next morning, we told the front desk about it. They offered to move us to a different room. We jumped at the chance. The remainder of our stay was VERY enjoyable. Altho, I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we could hear thru the walls & it is quite a distance to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtaylorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernmansion, Manager at The Southern Mansion, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much for your comments! We look forward to having you stay with us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Expensive (even in the off-season) but beautiful, especially for people who love historic homes (this one built in the 1860s). Lovingly restored, it includes lots of antiques (including in guest rooms), many of which had been stored when the early owners passed away and were discovered when the house was purchased (acc. to one of the staff). The staff were very nice and friendly, the breakfast servers delightful! Breakfasts were nice and included not only a buffet of pastries, fresh fruit, smoked salmon and more, but also on top of that an entree you could order (omelettes, pancakes or French toast, etc.) We loved lingering on the wicker chaises on the front porch reading and enjoying the gardens, and the walk to the beach is just a few blocks. (By the way, the house has beach chairs and towels for guests' use.) Overall, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: One caveat: We stayed in Room #11 and when the room next to us was occupied, we could hear the noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southern Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southern Mansion

Property: The Southern Mansion
Address: 720 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southern Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Southern Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
Southern Mansion Cape May
Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
The Southern Mansion Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing