We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable despite a cold spell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Southern Mansion
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable despite a cold spell”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our 2-day stay took place in this large comfy Victorian mansion-and it is just that. Our third floor room in the main building could accommodate a family of four with its two beds.The holiday decoration was delightful and tasteful. We didn't mind the stairs-good exercise. I suggest they re-stuff the Victorian antique couches in the main salon for more comfort. The breakfast to order was fine but the muffin recipe was far too oily. Easy walk to the main shopping area. Not so much to do in the winter but of the several couples we met, several were repeat visits, quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Third floor was quiet. If you need better accessibility, there are rooms in the addition on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    51
    15
    20
    4
See reviews for
18
171
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have read a number if the negative reviews of this hotel. I expect they are honest and should be taken seriously, but the portrait they paint was not at all our experience. Indeed given what we paid - half price thanks to a living social deal - I would give it five stars. I rate it 4 stars not to mislead people who are paying the Inn's usual price. Why four or five stars? Here's what it had going for it: nice property; well appointed, clean room, comfortable bed, not much external noise, and a good breakfast in pleasant surroundings. Not only did the breakfast include a nice buffet style selection, including quite good house smoked salmon during the first day of our stay, but there was also a cooked option, including for the health conscious an egg white omelet special and for those not so health conscious tasty sausage. Also the few requests we had were quickly and politely attended to.
We prefer the lesser formality and lesser elegance of a homey bed and breakfast and probably would not stay here if we visited Cape May again, especially at full price, but if we were looking for a place of this sort we would not hesitate to return based on our experience, which was nothing like the negatives I have read. However, the Inn does not match the level of some similarly priced small hotels in other locations which is why I give it only 4 stars - for Cape May, however, it's prices are probably not out of line, especially in high season.

In addition to the hotel our Living Social deal entitled us to a visit to a local winery that was started by the owners of the hotel. The winery was in about it's sixth year but in the first year of its own production and the cellars and facilities for winemaking were not yet complete. Thus the tour we had focused on the vineyards. Thanks to Stacy our guide and herself a former, it was perhaps the most informative and interesting winery tour we have ever taken, much more so than some tours I have taken of Napa Valley and French wineries. If you can get Stacey to take you on a tour you will be delighted by her personality and knowledge, although the cost at $15 is quite high if you aren't taking the tour as part off deal. The wines themselves were fine, but the owners must have thought better of them than their quality justified because they struck us as overpriced. At $14 a bottle we might have taken some home; at twice that we weren't tempted - a bit like the room prices perhaps. There seems to be a theme here - the owners think a bit better of their property than they should and so they price things at a bit more than seems quality-justified. Still if you like stylish comfort, if you don't mind paying for comfort, and if your experience is like ours, you won't regret choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had our wedding at the Southern Mansion and despite three days of rain and being forced indoors, it was beautiful. The staff made us and our guests feel welcomed and they do a great overall job. Staying here isn't for everyone, but if you like historic and quirky charm and a fantastic breakfast, this is the place. I proposed and was married here and it will always be my first choice whenever we are staying in Cape May.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just got married here at the end of September. Our guests were so pleased with the beautiful grounds, the fabulous food and the gorgeous ballroom that they cannot stop talking about our wedding. Our ceremony was held on the well-manicured grounds of the mansion. The cocktail hour was held outside among high top tables with delicious hors d'oeuvres passed. The ballroom brings you back to a gorgeous Victorian era. Any bride would be foolish to not consider this establishment when you look for a venue. The rooms were stunning and the breakfast is delicious each and every day. We look forward to seeing this lovely old girl for as many anniversaries as we can.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room here. Avoid the solarium if possible when weddings occur. You will have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrsygrl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHL
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

For me it was a first at the Mansion and I was very impressed with the layout and the place. The only negative thing was parking since we did not overnight there, so we had to park somewhere and at night walking to ones car wherever it was was treacherous (uneven side walks). The ceremony and reception was outside and other than fighting the lawn with ones heels it was just lovely. Food and Drinks were excellent. The Dinner itself was something else - wonderful food in wonderful company. Highly recommendable for special functions.I was told that the rooms were just great and one night I would like to stay there, breakfast/brunch - the works. Cape May speaks for itself and for this particular event it was lovely, weather and all. Very impressed. Chris E

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our two night stay with a "living social" discount was perfect. The hotel is beautifully restored, so if you enjoy history and luxury, this is a great place. It's also conveniently situated, a short walk to the downtown restaurants, shops, and tourist services. The staff people were friendly and happy to help with anything. My husband and I felt very pampered. Breakfast (included) was delicious, starting with a really good buffet, and then table seating with a menu and a waiter to deliver a hot meal (strawberry French toast was delicious, omelets were as good as any I've ever had). We were so pleased to have chosen The Southern Mansion for our stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our family stayed at the Mansion and held our rehearsal dinner there. Andreea was so helpful and responsive. She was creative and calming when I needed it.
The mansion is a gorgeous venue for an occasion like this. The event was magical.
The rooms are gorgeous and all different. But as a caution, you have to be able to do stairs to fully enjoy the experience.
The staff was wonderful and the food was excellent.
It is not on the beach but that was not the focus of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southern Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southern Mansion

Property: The Southern Mansion
Address: 720 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southern Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Southern Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
Southern Mansion Cape May
Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
The Southern Mansion Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing