We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Southern Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Southern Mansion
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Clark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Staff friendly, rooms large, nicely decorated and extremely clean. Breakfast wonderful, Close to everything except beach. Very relaxing atmosphere. Have gone back many times and will again.
Very interesting tour of the mansion. Be sure to do that.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several different rooms and each was wonderful in its own way. Can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    50
    15
    20
    4
See reviews for
18
169
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York Haven, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love the Southern Mansion. The rooms are beautiful and well kept. The mansion house alone is gorgeous but it was even more so decorated for Christmas. I don't feel like I'm at a hotel or an inn when I'm there, I feel like I'm at home. Our stay was wonderful, relaxing and we didn't want to leave. The fact that the breakfast is outstanding is just a bonus on staying at one of the most elegant places in cape may. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamericanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and I just returned from our shared 40th birthday weekend retreat (Dec 14/15, 2013). The Southern Mansion is a gem, authentic Victorian top to bottom. We were greeted by Ken at the front desk, who couldn't have made a better first impression...warm and welcoming, funny and chatty, just a nice, nice guy. Our room was #11, a split level King room with a sitting room, nice bathroom with roomy shower and claw-footed tub, and a really cool lofted bedroom up a spiral staircase. Breakfast was solid...a nice spread of pastries, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, and salmon, and a to-order menu for eggs, French toast, etc... Coffee and tea appeared to be available well into the afternoon/evening. Location was perfect, immediately across the street from The Washington Inn (we had an excellent dinner here, but to be honest, we had an even better dinner at the Peter Shields Inn, which isn't too far from The Southern Mansion), just a few short blocks (easily walkable) to the Mall area, and a short drive to the lighthouse area. The Southern Mansion has off-street parking for guests, which is a huge plus. The interior of The Southern Mansion is spectacular, with multiple fireplaces, period furniture, grand cathedral and spiral staircases, and stunning mouldings and paint schemes. Lots of paintings of naked ladies, but hey, that's also true to the period. We learned that The Southern Mansion has the same ownership as the Willow Creek Winery, where we went for a really nice "Sip and Shop" event (drink a glass of wine while checking out/shopping with local vendors). We ran in to Ken at this event, and he recognized us and treated us like old friends. It's a very nice, new winery, with surprisingly good wines. We visited in December, and it seemed like we had Cape May virtually to ourselves...I'm sure that added to the enjoyment of our trip.
There were a few negatives. Ken was awesome, and the majority of other front desk staff we interacted with were quality. The staff at breakfast were attentive and pleasant. There was one front desk person who wasn't nearly as pleasant, and I have to say that our visit might have felt a little different were she the person we interacted with most as opposed to Ken. Also, the power went out in our room multiple times when my wife was trying to use the hair dryer (both nights of our stay, and using both the hair dryer permanently mounted in our room and my wife's personal hair dryer plugged into the GFI outlet). We were told this happens quite a bit in Room 11, and it happened to us despite turning off essentially everything in the room but the hair dryer. Personally, I put a lot more value in the response to a problem, and the staff were quick on the fix. Besides, it was pretty funny.
Overall, positives FAR outweigh the negatives. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 11 was very cool with the lofted bedroom area and spiral staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been coming to Cape May for many years. Though we've tried other B&Bs, we always return here. Yes, it is a bit more expensive than others, but there is a reason for that. The Southern Mansion isn't a typical B&B for all the reasons mentioned in the favorable reviews. We especially like Room 25, large, private and so comfortable.

We were, however, very disappointed to learn upon check in that they have done away with their wonderful afternoon tea. Sure, there is tea and other beverages available, but gone is the lovely spread of afternoon treats. For the price of the rooms, we felt this was a real takeaway and really left us lost when it was something we were so looking forward to.

Instead, we found the Butterfly Tea Room on Sunset Blvd, which we highly recommend for those who love afternoon tea. When we visited, they offered their Christmas menu: scones, homemade soup, finger sandwiches, sweets and of course, your choice of tea. The owner is a true delight. She lets you pick your own tea pot from a large selection of all different styles. Such fun. A must see the next time visiting Cape May

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cmartinangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral, VA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Southern Mansion is a B&B... but we found it to be much more. The facility, built in 1863 and fully restored to that state, including many items and artwork left over from past eras, is as close to living in the 19th century as we could ask for. The room, large by any standard, had furniture like (and some actually from) the 1860s. The huge parlor/sitting room had beautifull Victorian decorations and two fireplaces. The staff was friendly and efficient... and the "full breakfast" (on the house) was as good as any we have been served anywhere (by an attentive wait staff,) with specials each day plus a full standard menu.
The facility is in town, three blocks from the northern start of the Washington Street outdoor shopping mall, nearly a quarter mile long (my wife loved that feature.)
The Southern Mansion isn't the only great B&B in town, but it is certainly at the top of our list.

Room Tip: We were is Room 15 on the ground floor, known as the Lincoln Bedroom. It is close to the main areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bschaeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have written a ton of reviews for this place throughout 20 plus years. I have to say it has never ever disappointed my husband, my daughter, and myself. This trip was my husband and I. We have stayed in many rooms here but by far our favorite is The Master Suite right next to the office and right off the Parlor. It's as large or larger than an apartment in NY. I don't know that I'd ever want to stay in another room again. Check in is always smooth and very friendly. The place is always immaculate. The grounds are amazing. The porch is amazing. The gorgeous attention to detail in the ornate decor is so fitting to the time period in which it reflects. Barbara Bray Wilde did an amazing job in finding antiques and decor that suit this place perfectly. The bedding is always phenomenal. I love the pillows and mattress and comforter. They always smell so clean and fresh. We always get a perfect night sleep here. Breakfast is always amazing and plenty of food and beverages to choose from. We both ordered egg white omelet with asparagus, crabmeat and hollandaise sauce, sausages, home fries and whole wheat toast. They also had cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, muffins, house smoked salmon with capers, tomato, and field greens. All to die for.
We are looking to book soon again soon.

Room Tip: The master suite. I think it's Room 2. Really though I love all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RFosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Southern Mansion Nov. 10 & 11, 2013. We wanted a quiet get away for our anniversary. It was our first Bed & Breakfast stay. The location is great, short walk to the shore & the outdoor mall. This time of year many stores and restaurants are closed for the season. Ken, front desk, greeted us warmly and is very pleasant. They are very helpful when we were looking for a place to eat. They have menus of area restaurants and called ahead for us to make sure they were open. The breakfast was delicious, the room was large and comfortable(high beds, be carefull!) Included in our stay was a visit to the Willow Creek Winery(same owner as Mansion),very enjoyable tour and tasting. My only complaint is we rushed back from the winery tour to take the mansion tour( as posted on large sighs in front of the mansion) to be told there was no tour at that time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16 first floor, good location, close to breakfast and easily accessible to parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flobo113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southern Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southern Mansion

Property: The Southern Mansion
Address: 720 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southern Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Southern Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
Southern Mansion Cape May
Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
The Southern Mansion Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing