We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Southern Mansion
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
cattjer812
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our anniversary. The inn is beautiful, and has it's own parking which is a huge plus. It's also across from my favorite restaurant (Washington inn) . We booked a room with a private entrance which was very convenient forgoing in and out of and especially packing and unpacking. The only thing that kept me from giving it five stars was the breakfast. It was good, but you were served from a menu and if u wanted more had to pay extra seemed a bit hotelish and less bed and breakfast style .

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cattjer812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    53
    15
    20
    4
See reviews for
18
174
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Southern Mansion is unique because you have the feel of being on a secluded estate, but you also enjoy the benefits of being within easy walking distance of the beaches and shopping areas. We have vacationed in Cape May many times before, and the Southern Mansion is superior to all of the places we have stayed previously. All of the staff were courteous and accommodating. We stayed in a Premier King Room on the second floor of the annex building. The room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was delicious and the coffee was excellent. (Bad coffee can make or break a breakfast for me !) We will definitely stay at the Southern Mansion again. Although hotel information says wifi is in common areas only, I was able to connect to an xfinity hotspot from my room. I loved that the hotel is such a quiet environment- children over the age of 10 are welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumont, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My daughter and I have been coming to Cape May for years and have always wanted to stay at The Southern Mansion. We finally made an overnight trip in early June and had a great stay! The place is immaculate, the gardens are beautiful, and the breakfast was delicious! The staff was exceptionally friendly (Ken and Rita especially) as well. I would definitely recommend staying here! The tour was also very nice (Jasmine did a good job) and is free if you're staying at the Mansion!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

my husband and I just staye there this past weekend for our 1st year anniversary married the staff are great the mansion is GORGEOUS the whole place is a dream we will continue to go every year evertything is close by beach is three blocks down. if your going to dine out you MUST try Lucky Bones!! and also the blue rose which is located across the street from the mansion. we loved it and give it 5 stars!! John & Michelle

Room Tip: we stayed in the third floor room 8 it was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
201 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Oh what a wonderful place. The staff is so nice. The living room and breakfast area are lovely. You can sit on the porch rockers outside and sip lemonade or iced tea. The place is beautifully taken care of inside and out. We stayed in a king premier room and all I can say is this was a great place to spend my anniversary. Unfortunately the sun never shined. Would love to come back some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17. I would think any king premier on that row would be equally lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydeexyz011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We just got back from the magnificent Southern Mansion. If you love the Victorian era, please mark this place as a don't miss. It's stunningly beautiful, the food is gourmet, the staff is friendly and accommodating. Our personal favorite is the wonderful Rita whose enthusiasm for the place is infectious. We had room # 10 which was spacious and the furniture, though completely stunning, was also quite functional. We really enjoyed the tour by the delightful Ken and spend a good part of our vacation enjoying the main hall, the outside porch, the grounds, especially our room. We highly recommend The Southern Mansion and will return for the beauty, the food, the staff, and especially dear Rita.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mita430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The mansion is beautiful. Tastefully appointed lovely grounds.
The breakfasts were unremarkable by Bed and Breakfast Standards but were certainly fine.
Over all our experience was great. When we arrived home we realized we left our phone charger behind. When we called the inn, Rita could not have been more rude about how inconvenient it was for her that people always forget their phone chargers. We can appreciate that this could be a nuisance to a business but expressing some tremendous displeasure and scolding a patron left a really bad taste in our mouths.
We would rather not patronize a business with such low tolerance.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Annie2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernmansion, Manager at The Southern Mansion, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us at the SOuthern Mansion. Though we are delighted you found it beautiful we are sorry that you were not fully satisfied. We try constantly, to make our guests happy and satisfy them in every way. I am sorry that you felt we were not conciliatory enough about you leaving you charger in the room when you checked out. We reviewed the tapes from your phone call and the front desk persons comment to you when you said I can't believe I left it"was Oh yes a lot of people do that" was not not meant to be unkind in any way. She took your information and located your lost charger. Please keep in mind we sometimes have thousand of items left by guests, It would be a tremendous cost to send everything back . In your case we actually sent it back to you for free. Please contact Manager Denise Cortina she would love to make you happy! 609-884-7171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southern Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southern Mansion

Property: The Southern Mansion
Address: 720 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#11 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southern Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Southern Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
Southern Mansion Cape May
Southern Mansion Hotel Cape May
The Southern Mansion Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing