We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful bed and breakfast with great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humphrey Hughes House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Humphrey Hughes House
Ranked #15 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful bed and breakfast with great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Humphrey Hughes House to celebrate my birthday. With so many places to stay in Cape May, we chose the Humphrey Hughes House due to wonderful review on Trip Advisor and it's location. It is half a block from the beach and a few blocks from Washington Street, with all of the shops and restaurants. We parked our car when we arrived and never had to move it until we left. The breakfast was amazing, especially the french toast, and the room was beautiful and very comfortable. I would love to return and it was a wonderful place to celebrate my birthday with my husband.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorebucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
105
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Cape May is one of our favorite towns and now the Humphrey Hughes House is a new favorite place to stay. The owners, Lorraine and Terry, made us feel welcome during our whole visit. Our room (Grandmom's Nook) was delightful, actually a two-room suite: bedroom and sitting room -- how nice to have a little extra room to relax. We were on the third floor (no elevators) and had a little view of the ocean from a window; it's just a block away. The bed was king-size, high off the floor, and very comfortable. The rooms and whole house were clean as can be. The linens -- bed and bath -- were extra fine. Breakfast was served on the front porch so we had a view of the ocean. Portions were so generous that we had muffins and scones to save for lunch. The corn frittata and blueberry pancakes were delicious. There were always snacks and drinks on the side porch -- a welcome treat after bicycling around town for the day.

Room Tip: Grandmom's Nook, third floor, two-room suite -- lovely and charming rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We decided to try a place in town after staying further down by Poverty beach historically. We consulted with Trip advisor (as usual) and found this elegant B&B. The on-site owners were wonderful and anticipated our every need. The room (and entire establishment for that matter) is immaculate. Breakfasts were wonderful. The towels and beach chairs were appreciated as well as restaurant recommendations. Will definitely return. Note: no parking available, you may have to park blocks away. We were three blocks away, even during the off season.

Room Tip: Dragonfly room was quiet and off the Main Street. This is very important as the B&B is located o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxwellpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

If there were TEN STARS; this one woudl have it!
I have been staying at the Humphrey Hughes House, however haven't stayed in a number of years; the owners just are as nice as can be. The rooms are spotless, yes spotless; the entire staff is kind/courteous so nice. The breakfasts' are DELICIOUS!!!!! Just sit back and relax on the nice big porch and rock away; you are in prime location of the beach and downtown; we never moved our car. They have chairs/towels for you; its a slice of heaven at the Humprhey Husghes House. So Don't bother go looking; you have the SPOT in Cape may that is wonderful!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are GREAT; I have stayed in several of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoelady365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

A beautiful home a block from the beach?....Yes, please! A seaside step back in time. Very quiet, clean and well kept. I stay here whenever I am in Cape May for more than the day. Turns a work/ meeting trip into a lovely Victorian escape. September in Cape May is a few steps from heaven, so I am always up for that. Lorraine & Terry are welcoming, yet not overbearing...which is the perfect characteristic of an Innkeeper. Breakfast is amazing as always. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were lucky enough to secure a room at the last minute during our "flying" vacation, which was predicated on the changes in the weather. Terry and Lorraine provided us with the most lovely room, which was immaculate and comfortable. You can't beat the location, either. I would not hesitate to recommend the Humphrey Hughes House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dramatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for a three night weekend and it was beyond my expectations. We would definitely come back in a heartbeat. What impressed me the most was the cleanliness of every aspect of this inn especially the rooms. The owners anticipated our every need. In addition each room had a decanter of sherry and the sitting room had a decanter of port for any guest wishing to enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#6 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphrey Hughes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphrey Hughes House

Property: Humphrey Hughes House
Address: 29 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Humphrey Hughes House Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing