We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My birthday weekend at the Inn”
Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mission Inn
Ranked #1 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at the Inn(this was our third time). If we go to Cape May this Inn is where we stay! The rooms all 8 decorated tastefully done in Mission style. You could stay in your room or in one of the many other areas, the sun porch, the living room or outside porches, again decorated in Mission style. The breakfasts and mid afternoon snacks are
fantastic. They have bikes to ride, chairs and towels for the beach. Everything is at the Inn
for your stay. Innkeepers Susan and Ray are attentive to your every need, whether its a reservation for dinner or things to do in Cape May.
Bill and Maryann Ziobrowski

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocean32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

Treated my mom to an overnight for her birthday, and what a treat this was. Susan and her staff were so attentive, kind, and outgoing. They knew the perfect restaurants, and suggested new things for us to check out. What really sealed the deal was that no other B&B I called would let us stay for one night--but Susan found a way for us!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatthrutheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We chose to stay at the Mission Inn from the great reviews we'd received and we were not disappointed. Susan, the innkeeper, was a joy to converse with and also doubles as a gourmet chef. She served afternoon hors d'oveurs, served in a beautifully painted sunroom with a fully equiped kitchenette. The rooms were unique and stylish, and most have fireplaces. The entire b&b is done in the Spanish mission theme. There are several top notch restaurants in walking distance as well as the clean Cape May beaches.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Go online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I surprised my girlfriend with taking her to our 1st B&B this spring. Most of Cape May's B&B's look a little old and Victorian, which could be nice for some but my girlfriend and I are 26 and wanted a nice room with a bath in it that looks more contemporary. The rooms in other places seemed to lack amenities and all they had going for them was an old bed and bathtub and furniture. We could care lass. The Mission Inn was a breath of fresh air, its rooms were beautiful and unique, they had a Spanish mission feel but were still contemporary and new feeling, like I was staying at a pricier hotel sweet. Susan was awesome and made me feel comfortable even though it was my first B&B, and she has tons of suggestions of things you can do and knows everyone in Cape May it seems. She makes it feel like your house, and is very nice but not overly friendly in a way that weirds you out. The Inn is very nice, the beach is right down the street, she'll tell you whats going on in town, will go out of her way to make your trip great, and the rooms are great - I suggest the San Diego room. There were couples of all ages there as well, from young 20's to 60's. Overall, the place is a great Inn that has a fresh contemporary feel with a slight Spanish flavor in a town flooded with antiquated Victorian vibe. Great place for a younger couple, I have my friends going this fall.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

This was our fourth trip to the Mission Inn(3rd since Susan & Ray became owners). Everything about this inn is 1st rate----ambiance, decor, hospitality and food. The chef, Leslie, has been with Susan & Ray from the beginning and never ceases to amaze with her innovative and fabulous breakfasts. Always a feast for the eyes as well as the palate.
Returning to the Mission Inn is like visiting good friends and we can't wait to see them again soon! Kathy & Rich

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This was our third time staying at the Mission Inn and it was booked very last minute (the day before), but we were still treated like royalty. Susan and Ray go out of their way to make us feel at home. Every possible want/ need has been thought of and taken care of. The Inn is beautiful and the food is delicious. There is no other place I would rather stay. Fantastic B&B.

Room Tip: Santa Barbara is the BEST room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K8eDid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary by treating ourselves to three nights at the beautiful Mission Inn. We have visited Cape May many times, but for our anniversary we chose to treat ourselves to a few nights at the Mission Inn. We did some research and decided that the Mission Inn looked unique and interesting.

Our stay exceeded our expectations. You notice the detailed, beautifully decorated public rooms as soon as you enter the inn. The quality of the inn, along with the detailed touches are evident. The common "living room" area is comfortably decorated with warm, southwestern colors. Each of the eight guest rooms is different, presenting a different theme. The guest rooms are beautifully painted; you feel as if you are part of the mural-like artwork shown on the walls. We stayed in the San Luis Rey room, on the second floor. The king-size bed was very comfortable. The bath/shower facilities were modern and of excellent quality.

Susan and Ray, the innkeepers/owners, were very warm, friendly, and helpful in offering dining suggestions and attractions to visit. We enjoyed speaking with them and felt that they could not do enough for their guests. The breakfasts that Susan prepared were delicious; the presentation was so nice that it was almost too nice to eat! The breakfasts were all prepared with excellent-quality fresh ingredients, geared toward the health-conscious, and very tasty. Fruit was offered each day, and Susan alway asked if the guests had any special dietary needs/requests.

The location of the inn is only one block from the beach. Lounge chairs and beach umbrellas are made available, along with bicycles. It was as a bit too cool and windy for my wife and I to enjoy the beach, which was to be expected since it was only late-April. We did have a great time walking around town and doing our daily long walks on the promenade/boardwalk. The walk into the main park of town is about 15 minutes.

We enjoyed our stay and have made plans to visit the MIssion Inn again this summer. Anyone considering a romantic getaway in a beautiful inn, with wonderful, accommodating hosts, would love the Mission Inn.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible; visit midweek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rick1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2638
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £163 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2017 Travelers Choice Award for B&B's & Inns by Trip Advisor as the #1 bed and breakfast in Cape May, NJ (5 years in a row), #3 in the USA, and #11 in the world, The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. We invite you to experience the charm of a California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast just one block from the beach. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative and restful places for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original California missions. Each guest room is themed after one of the missions, with artistic murals and accents designed to resemble the original mission. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn. Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mission Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing