We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further!”
Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mission Inn
Ranked #1 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My hubby and I had never stayed at a B& B and I was unsure if we would enjoy the experience. This B&B blew our minds from the moment you check in to check out you enjoy exceptional service, a beautiful home and unbelievable hospitality. Susan & Ray the innkeepers treated us like a part of their family. They truly love what they do and want you to have the most enjoyable stay- they cared about every person that entered their B&B and you can tell. The snacks, wine and especially the breakfast were delicious! I almost forgot the oatmeal cookies- OMG. Our room was spotless and I watched the staff cleaning and caring for the Inn all throughout the day. We enjoyed riding the provided bikes to the beach and just relaxing in our room with the fireplace on :) We cannot wait to go back!!!! Thank you Susan & Ray- Jen & Tony

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have stayed at the Mission Inn twice and none other even compares! Ray and Susan are so attentive and by far the best innkeepers! I wouldnt stay anywhere else when visiting Cape May. The breakfasts are amazing as well! The rooms are extremely clean and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janjul0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to a warm welcome at The Mission Inn, we enjoyed hospitality second to none. The public areas invite guests to meet each other if they wish and enjoy tea, coffee, wine and nibbles at any time of the day or night. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean, cozy, and comfortable. The desk in the room and free, fast wifi were very welcome.
Last, but certainly not least, the breakfast was certainly the best we have enjoyed at a B and B. The food was freshly prepared, healthy and delicious, and exactly as we requested.
Overall, I can simply say that this was the best B and B experience we have had - here or abroad.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristinemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We will always remember our stay at The Mission Inn. Everyone was so warm and welcoming. You felt like family. The breakfast was delicious and they cater to your every need.I am so glad we chose to stay here. My husband and i will make plans to stay again, but for a longer stay. Such a relaxing place to rejuvenate. I would recommend The Mission Inn to anyone. The oatmeal cookies are to die for!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We just celebrated our 20th anniversary at the Mission Inn and had the best weekend ever! From the moment we stepped inside Susan & Ray were the most amazing, friendly, informative hosts! The breakfast was prepared by their talented chef Leslie, not only was the presentation stunning the meal was delicious as well as the afternoon hors d'oeuvres. The refrigerator was stocked and there wasn't anything that was overlooked, everything we needed was already there. It was such a pleasure, from being treated like we were part of their family to the friendly conversation on the front porch. We stayed in the San Francisco de Asis, it was beautiful and we loved the sunken tub. We would definitely go back again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had the good fortune of not finding a room right on Beach Avenue and instead booking the last room available at The Mission Inn--one block from the beach. We thought we would miss the ocean view, but instead we melted into the atmosphere at this most beautiful and comfortable B&B hosted by the loveliest couple, Susan and Raymond, who anticipated our every need. From the delicious gourmet breakfasts on the patio to the substantial and equally delicious hors d'oeuvres served at 4 pm to the cookies, cake and beverages available throughout the day--we literally had to squeeze in time for dinner. The atmosphere of the inn is relaxing and peaceful--especially on the patio in the back, where we enjoyed the warm afternoon sunshine. We would recommend The Mission Inn to anyone visiting Cape May--it was truly an awesome B&B experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We just spent our 15th wedding anniversary at the Mission Inn and we can't say enough about the Inn and it's owners. Susan and Ray were the most gracious of hosts and genuinely lovely people. Everything they recommended was perfect, from the restaurants to the wine tasting. The room was extremely comfortable and romantic, complete with spa tub and multiple headed shower. Breakfast on the veranda was light, delicious and unique. We are planning on making a return trip and telling all of our friends about the Inn.

Room Tip: You can't make a wrong decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferGub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2638
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £163 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2017 Travelers Choice Award for B&B's & Inns by Trip Advisor as the #1 bed and breakfast in Cape May, NJ (5 years in a row), #3 in the USA, and #11 in the world, The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. We invite you to experience the charm of a California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast just one block from the beach. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative and restful places for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original California missions. Each guest room is themed after one of the missions, with artistic murals and accents designed to resemble the original mission. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn. Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mission Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing