We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just One More Thing to Love”
Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mission Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
River Vale, NJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just One More Thing to Love”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

As if my husband and I did not already love Cape May enough -- now we have found the Mission Inn. We spent Valentines Week-end in this beautiful and inviting Inn. Everything was perfect from the moment I made the first call for a reservation. Ray and Susan leave no stone unturned from the fabulous breakfast to the impeccable accommodations. We were also so lucky to share the Inn with some amazing guests and we came away from the week-end with new friends. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
461
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

My husband & I spent a weekend here in Nov.
The whole experience was fabulous , Susan & Ray were the perfect hosts providing us with suggestions on where to dine etc.
Our room was named San Diego de Alcala , it was beautiful & after fishing all day the hot tub & fireplace welcomed us home !
The breakfast here is scrumptious as well as the afternoon treats.
This will be our Cape May place to stay, can't wait to return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mareonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Visited Cape May for our son's USCG training graduation. The overnight stay at the Mission Inn was nothing short of perfect. All adjectives apply here from warm, inviting, private, comfortable, delicious, luxurious, romantic, etc. The Inn combines old-world charm/setting with all the modern conveniences/luxury you would expect in a CEO business suite. If you are planning a visit to Cape May, give the Mission Inn a serious look, you won't regret it. That's just the Inn. Add to your experience, the opportunity to meet the most gracious couple in the United States. Susan and Ray are truly wonderful positive people that you will want to meet. Their affable style makes it easy to relax and feel at home.

Room Tip: Any room you choose will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We try to visit the Mission Inn once a year and this year was no exception.. We stayed for a long weekend in February. Weather was chilly but sunny, perfect time for walking, shopping, and dining. As always our accommodations were just wonderful and it could not be anymore romantic. Each and every room in the Inn has the most unique motifs, equipped with beautiful fireplaces, gorgeous bathrooms, and heavenly beds. Not to mention there is no finer breakfast served in all of Cape May. The Inn is run by the most wonderful two people, Susan and Ray, who have dedicated their lives to making "The Mission Inn" a truly wonderful place to rest, relax and fall in love all over again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I celebrated my birthday with the love of my life at Mission Inn. I needed a relaxing weekend free of the stress of everyday life. I could not have picked a better place. The inn was immaculate, the food was superb and inn keepers were perfect. Every aspect of the experience was geared towards relaxation and romance. Thank you Susan and Raymond for making Stephanie and my stay so wonderful. Stephen Graham

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mission Inn this past weekend. My husband is NOT a "B & B" type but LOVED the Mission Inn! It was so clean and the room was perfect! We will be making another trip hopefully when the weather warms up!

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Luis Rey which was wonderful as I am sure all the rooms are!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franny9794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I have never stayed at a B&B before, we have always stayed at hotels. But for our anniversary we wanted to try the Mission Inn. We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable, welcoming, beautiful place to stay. Sue and Ray make you feel so at home and go above and beyond accommodating your needs. The food is fabulous! The rooms are down to the very detail amazing! I would recommend to go to the Mission Inn any time of the year! Our Anniversary is in October and we loved it! Can't wait to go back! Especially for the oatmeal cookies!! Thank you again Sue and Ray for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Property: The Mission Inn
Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2638
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2017 Travelers Choice Award for B&B's & Inns by Trip Advisor as the #1 bed and breakfast in Cape May, NJ (5 years in a row), #3 in the USA, and #11 in the world, The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. We invite you to experience the charm of a California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast just one block from the beach. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative and restful places for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original California missions. Each guest room is themed after one of the missions, with artistic murals and accents designed to resemble the original mission. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn. Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mission Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing