We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mission Impossibe-ly Lovely”
Review of The Mission Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mission Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
“Mission Impossibe-ly Lovely”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My boyfriend and I just say one night, but I can not say enough good things about our stay. We were greeted by Raymond and given a tour of the house. The incredible attention to detail was unsurpassed. The handpainted murals covered every wall, it felt like being transported to different place and time. Our room was amazing, fireplace, jacuzzi tub, king size bed, mutiple shower jets, adjustable plasma TV. Raymond suggested places to eat and visit. We went Cape May Winery, Hawk Haven, and the Martini Beach Bar all fabulous. Although, there was so much more to do in Cape May I just wanted to get back the room and curl up by the fireplace. We took advantage of being the only guests staying the night and got hot chocolate and sunggling on the couch. Susan and Raymond made the Mission Inn feel like home. After the most incredible sleep, Susan prepared breakfast (even taking into my dietary restrictions) anything we could have wanted was offfered to us. By far one of the best stays I've had. I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
461
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My wife and I are expecting our first child in 1 1/2 months and we decided to take a Baby-moon before the big day. I found the Mission Inn on a web search and it looked beautiful. We were not dissapointed. Owners Susan and Ray operate an amazing Inn. The accomodations are second to none as are the delicious gourmet breakfasts and afternoon treats. The staff are warm, helpful, and friendly. Ray and Susan attend to every detail and go above and beyond to make your stay the most enjoyable it can be. We created some wonderful memories that will last a life time and at the center of it all was the Mission Inn. We look forawrd to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deerhuntr436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The Mission Inn is a unique, comfortable, special Bed and Breakfast and Susan and Ray, the innkeepers, know what their guests want to make their stay memorable, fun and easy. The attention to detail in the food, service, architecture and amenities is second to none. We spent three nights at The Mission Inn Inn for our anniversary. We loved the location - one block to the beach, close to restauants and tennis. The Inn bikes were fun to ride and got us everywhere else we wanted to go. We loved the food - snacks, happy hour hor d'oevres and delicious, healthy breakfasts as well as recommendations for great dinner spots. We met some nice guests who were also staying there and we loved our room. It was spacious and beautifully painted with murals as is the whole Inn. We highly recommend The Mission Inn and will deifntiely go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The owner's of this bed and breakfast are the best - no question about it. Whenever we visit, they make us feel at home. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfy, the showers are huge, the breakfasts are original and tasty, and the staff is knowledgeable and their hospitality cannot be matched. There are too many good things to say. I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jefuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This was a very relaxing weekend. The innkeepers are very willing to provide information about the area and historical facts. They provide a very quiet, relaxed atmosphere with the breakfast and afternoon treats (all the food is delicious). Meeting other guests at the inn and having open areas to get acquainted was interesting and enjoyable. The guest rooms provide privacy when desired. I would strongly recommend The Mission Inn to anyone who goes to Cape May for a relaxing get away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cweaver53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

My husband and I spent our Labor Day weekend at the Mission Inn, Cape May. It could honestly be summed up in one word - PERFECT. Everything the previous reviewers have mentioned is exactly the way it is. The Inn is immaculate, so unique, and just entertaining in itself with the entire Inn being hand painted with various scenes from different missions. What makes it even more perfect is Susan and Ray, the owners and their entire staff from Leslie and Janet to the lovely ladies who help out around the Inn. Every one of them will make you feel so welcomed and comfortable that you truly won't want to leave. Each day, I couldn't wait to go down to the outside dining area to see what delicious breakfasts awaited us, not to mention the so cute table settings that were different each day. After breakfast, we then picked out our bikes for the day and set out to explore the Cape (which is another review all its own - adorable town). Being the beach people we are, then spent the entire afternoon at Cape May's pristine beach, making use of the Inn's beach equipment. Of course, I wouldn't be telling the complete truth if I left out the fact that at 3:30, we would head up to the Inn only to find Janet's "to die for" appetizers awaiting the guests. The entire staff made sure we were well taken care of, and had all our questions answered. They would ask if we needed any help in dinner plans, shopping help, etc. I believe the previous reviewer said it best when she said they felt pampered. You will want for nothing during your stay and I feel confident in saying that you will not want to stay anywhere else during your future visits to Cape May. The Mission Inn will set the bar very high for any other B&B you choose to use during your travels. They will make you feel so comfortable and happy, which to us was just PERFECT. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this Inn to my friends and family, or even complete strangers.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronniedawg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We were late deciding to take a Labor Day break and glommed on to the last available room at Mission Inn--and what a great break it was! The gourmet breakfasts by Leslie on the outdoor patio; the wonderfully stocked refrigerator in the common kitchen; the afternoon treats prepared and presented by Janet; the spacious, breezy sunroom furnished with curl-up comfy chairs and loveseats for reading or watching TV; bikes, beach umbrellas, beach chairs and towels for those so inclined; housekeeping done in a manner more timely and efficient than I've ever experienced anywhere (go to breakfast, come back and it's done!) and a spacious--and apparently soundproofed!-- room to enjoy. Haven't a clue how Susan and Ray pull this off but they do so with great panache. Go pamper yourself at Mission Inn!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnywrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn

Property: The Mission Inn
Address: 1117 New Jersey Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2638
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded the 2017 Travelers Choice Award for B&B's & Inns by Trip Advisor as the #1 bed and breakfast in Cape May, NJ (5 years in a row), #3 in the USA, and #11 in the world, The Mission Inn Bed and Breakfast is not your typical Cape May B&B. We invite you to experience the charm of a California Spanish Mission Style Bed and Breakfast just one block from the beach. You will find The Mission Inn guest rooms to be bright, airy, tastefully decorated, creative and restful places for the weary traveler as was the purpose of the original California missions. Each guest room is themed after one of the missions, with artistic murals and accents designed to resemble the original mission. The common areas were themed to reflect the warmth of the missions. Each year additional improvements are planned and implemented. Return guests are always finding the "little changes" that reflect the attention to detail so noticeable at the Inn. Book one of our 8 Rooms before they fill up! We are an Inn for all seasons and open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mission Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing