We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality PLUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mooring B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mooring B&B
Ranked #19 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
JDW8456
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hospitality PLUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Mooring has all the essentials for a great stay in Cape May: on-site parking, simple but elegant rooms tastefully furnished in a semi - Victorian motif, personal seating in the dining room for breakfast that allows for privacy or communing, and very tentative hosts.

The innkeepers provide a lovingly clean guest home and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. They serve a wide range of in seasonal fresh fruit and deliciously enhanced yogurt as a continental breakfast to go along with the regular breakfast staples with The Mooring twists added.

Their front rooms provide the best of two worlds. You can use the air conditioner for comfortable sleeping in the heat of the summer or let the ocean breezes freshen your room while you relax on your semi-private porch from the long day on the beach. 4 o'clock high tea allows Leslie, to show off her talents when it comes to dessert and is not to be missed.

Vince has done an exceptional job upgrading the front room bathrooms, doing the work himself, to bring them into the 21st century while keeping with the original decor. Nice work, Vince!!!

So if you want a taste of how visiting Cape May was way back when, I highly recommend booking a room at The Mooring, Cape May's original Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdw8456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
92
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We went for just one night over the Memorial Day weekend and had a very pleasant stay there. Breakfast looked nice although we just had a cup of coffee. Vince really went above and beyond giving us directions of free parking. Will def recommand it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This was our second visit to the mooring and couldn't have asked for a better experience! The inn keepers are fantastic and always willing to lend a hand, the location can't be beat and the rooms are immaculate. Bonus-The breakfast was delicious! My husband had praline-crunch french toast while i enjoyed their texan omelet. We loved our quiet little retreat in room #2 and look forward to spending many more anniversaries there!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandHopperDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Mine and my husbands first time in Cape May, NJ. Staying at The Mooring definintely made our stay the best weekend getaway. The location of the Mooring is literally a block away from the clean beaches of Cape May. This was also our first time at a bed & breakfast, and to be honest, I was a bit skeptic on what to expect. I was fearing a musty smelling, dusty Victorian with not so great food... let me tell you-this place is NONE of that!

What impacted my decision to stay here was definitely the previous reviews and people, everyone has great things to say when their expectations are exceeded. The Mooring is conveniently located to the beaches, the outdoor mall, and all the shops and beautiful houses. My husband and I walked or biked everywhere during our extended weekend. There were even bike racks to lock our bikes we rented over night. The Mooring is beautiful, exceptionally clean. Our room was on the 3rd floor and had a wonderful breeze during the night. The room smelt of clean laundry and was imaculate and beautifully decorated with a Parisian theme.

The breakfast in the morning was better than any cafe or diner. It was so good that we didnt even have a crumb left. They give you a choice of sweet or salty as breakfast choice, fruit, and the Greek yogurt with the nuts, fruit, and honey was our favorite. Everything was so filling and tea time and cookies were a nice delight in the afternoon.

I honestly have not a single complaint. Its been quite a delight and most thanks to Vince (very knowledgable of the area-take his advice! And hes very happy to help), Emily & Michael!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAydin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just spent another glorious weekend in Cape May at the Mooring!! It is the best B&B in Cape May if you want extreme hospitality, gourmet breakfasts and high tea, authentic Victorian charm, comfy cozy rooms artfully decorated and spotlessly clean, outdoor showers, bike racks, parking, AC and to be treated like a king and/or queen for your stay and welcome you like losng lost family. If all that turns you off, then try somewhere else and pay way more $$$ for much less!! Thanks again to Vince and Leslie...welcome summer.

Room Tip: I love Room #1 but all are just awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marietta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Yes Cape May is a delightful getaway, but what made it even more delightful was our stay at the Mooring B&B. We have stayed in Cape May several times throughout the years. Each time has been very enjoyable but there was something special about this most recent visit.Our host and hostess, Leslie and Vince were very gracious. They made us feel right at home. Our accomodations were excellent. The B&B is spotless and so appealing to the eye. The decor is lovely and each morning the breakfast was delicious. Vince was more than happy to offer other options for breakfast if we so desired. The proximity to the beach is perfect. It is located on a quiet street with little traffic. They were more than happy to suggest some intersting things that we might want to do during the day. I know that when we do choose to visit Cape May again we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannyfranny947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first time and had a really enjoyable experience. Upon arriving at the Mooring, we were greeted at the door by one of the owners, Vince, who is full of energy and extremely nice. Vince gave us the grand tour of the B&B and then showed us to our room. The house itself is really very special. Every single thing has an antique flare to it, whether it be the cups used for morning/afternoon tea, the couches, photos on the wall, staircase, decor, etc. You really feel like you step back in time when you're here. You can tell the owners take immense pride in the appearance and are constantly maintaining the house.

The location is great! It took us 10 minutes to walk to the town center and it's just steps away from the beach.

The breakfasts were phenomenal and the service was great.

Vince suggested several local restaurants and even offered to call and make our reservation which was really helpful as we had never been to Cape May before.

Only a few minor disappointments. Our bed was really uncomfortable and could certainly use an upgrade (we stayed in room #2 with the private entrance/kitchen/parking). We both woke up with back aches because the mattress is sinking in the middle Also, because room #2 is located on the bottom floor, you hear every single noise in the house. The kitchen must be located right behind our bathroom because we could hear full on conversations starting at 7 am which made for sleeping in on our vacation impossible. Also, we were woken up by the other guests coming down the squeaky stair case from the upper floors each morning as well. I suppose the noise comes with the territory of an old house though.

All in all, we really enjoyed our B&B experience and would definitely come back. We would just request a different room on one of the higher floors to avoid the noise.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs. If you stay on the bottom floor, you'll get no sleep as you hear everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoGi410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooring B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring B&B

Property: Mooring B&B
Address: 801 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2446
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable elegance in a classic Second Empire inn ... originally built as a guesthouse in 1882. Nine uncluttered guest rooms and two suites, each with private bath, a few with ocean view. Gourmet breakfast served at individual tables for two. One building back from the beach; easy walking distance to town center with shops & restaurants. On-premise parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mooring B&B Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing