We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite birthday vacation destination”
Review of Mooring B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mooring B&B
Ranked #18 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favorite birthday vacation destination”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

For the past 3 years my husband and I have come here for my birthday and we have agreed that we would never want to stay elsewhere! Vince and Leslie are so wonderful and hospitable. We love the rooms (onsite parking - huge advantage!) and the proximity to the beach and restaurants/mall is perfect because it's easily walkable yet far enough from the crowds. We love coming here every year!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michsvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
93
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Mooring. It was incredibly close to the beach and the owners were very friendly. We stayed in a standard room, which was decently sized but no television. We also had to find street parking, which was sometimes difficult as it was so close to the beach. We rented bikes on the street over and biked to the more secluded areas of the beach. The breakfasts were good and plentiful. I also left my charger there, but they were able to hold on to it for me until I could come back and pick it up. Very nice! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in standard room 14 and it was nice, very quiet. There's no television with standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

As a final weekend getaway, I booked this B&B for my wife and I. This was our first time to Cape May and staying at the Mooring. Happy to say, we'll definitely be coming back. Leslie and Vince were extremely friendly and accommodating. We stayed in Room 10 which shares a semi-private porch with Room 8 and it was perfect to sit outside, enjoy a breeze while getting a view of the ocean.
The breakfast options in the morning were very good and fulfilling! The Mooring is literally one block from walking onto the beach and has designated parking spots so you don't have to worry about metered spots on the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shammy7545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have travelled several times to Cape May and have stayed at several area B&B's as well as some hotels during the summer and fall season's but this was the first time I stayed at the Mooring and I was so sad to leave at the end of the week! The place was incredibly clean throughout and I for one loved the fact that it was decorated in a lovely victorian theme but comfortable and warm, not dark and stuffy like some of the other places I have stayed. We stayed in Room #12 and it was spacious and comfortable - the bed was firm and comfortable and the room offered ample privacy sometimes lacking in a B&B. Having your own parking spot is great so you can come and go without the hassle of worrying about parking. The location is excellent so if you prefer to park and walk to all, you can do that as well. The breakfasts were lovely and convenient. Ice tea and snacks in the afternoon was a nice touch as were the clean beach towels each day and the outdoor showers so you can extend your final day at the beach.

The part that really made the place were the innkeepers. Leslie and Vince really have the patience of saints and go out of their way to make you feel like part of the family. Leslie patiently answered all my little questions prior to arrival and went the extra mile to set up a dvd player for our room when my husband inquired if it had one. Vince is like "Cape May Google" on steroids. - he has the skinny on everything and every place in the area and will tell you straight. Trust me - if Vince tells you to go somewhere - go - you will not be disappointed! He has the most uncanny sense of showing up just when you need him - it was quite incredible. They made everything so easy with directions, information and advice.

Most of all - I think the place was very good value for the money, which is what I am all about - it was not the cheapest place to stay but for the money they offered a quality across the board that was equal or better to much more expensive places in town.

If anything can be improved I would consider possibly upgrading the 24 hour coffee station and ice situation. While filling up ice trays in the freezer of the communal refrigerator did bring me back to my childhood memories and was in some ways charming, there were a couple of times I wished there was a modern ice maker. An upgraded fridge with an ice maker would solve that problem. Also, the tv was a modern flatscreen but a little on the small side, though we considered that might have been purposeful to fit in with the decor. The air conditioner was a little noisy as well but worked effectively and we had a week of days from 90-100 degrees!

We will look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDW8456
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Mooring has all the essentials for a great stay in Cape May: on-site parking, simple but elegant rooms tastefully furnished in a semi - Victorian motif, personal seating in the dining room for breakfast that allows for privacy or communing, and very tentative hosts.

The innkeepers provide a lovingly clean guest home and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. They serve a wide range of in seasonal fresh fruit and deliciously enhanced yogurt as a continental breakfast to go along with the regular breakfast staples with The Mooring twists added.

Their front rooms provide the best of two worlds. You can use the air conditioner for comfortable sleeping in the heat of the summer or let the ocean breezes freshen your room while you relax on your semi-private porch from the long day on the beach. 4 o'clock high tea allows Leslie, to show off her talents when it comes to dessert and is not to be missed.

Vince has done an exceptional job upgrading the front room bathrooms, doing the work himself, to bring them into the 21st century while keeping with the original decor. Nice work, Vince!!!

So if you want a taste of how visiting Cape May was way back when, I highly recommend booking a room at The Mooring, Cape May's original Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdw8456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We went for just one night over the Memorial Day weekend and had a very pleasant stay there. Breakfast looked nice although we just had a cup of coffee. Vince really went above and beyond giving us directions of free parking. Will def recommand it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This was our second visit to the mooring and couldn't have asked for a better experience! The inn keepers are fantastic and always willing to lend a hand, the location can't be beat and the rooms are immaculate. Bonus-The breakfast was delicious! My husband had praline-crunch french toast while i enjoyed their texan omelet. We loved our quiet little retreat in room #2 and look forward to spending many more anniversaries there!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandHopperDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooring B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring B&B

Property: Mooring B&B
Address: 801 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2446
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable elegance in a classic Second Empire inn ... originally built as a guesthouse in 1882. Nine uncluttered guest rooms and two suites, each with private bath, a few with ocean view. Gourmet breakfast served at individual tables for two. One building back from the beach; easy walking distance to town center with shops & restaurants. On-premise parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mooring B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooring B&B Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing