We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Romantic Fall Getaway"”
Review of Mooring B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mooring B&B
Ranked #20 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Romantic Fall Getaway"”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This was our first trip to Cape May and our first stay at the Mooring and it won't be our last! We found The Mooring by reading the excellent reviews that have been posted on Tripadvisor. The Inn is a beautiful victorian with a welcoming front porch with rockers that invite you to sit and stay a spell. We stayed in room 16, which was a beautiful room with a very comfortable king sized bed and wonderful ocean breezes. The inn is meticulously maintained and spotless. Vince made us feel right at home the minute we walked in the door and if there's anything you want to know about Cape May, he's your man! We had the pleasure of meeting Leslie on Sunday before we left. Both she and Vince are lovely, wonderful people. Oh and did I mention the breakfasts were to die for! Thanks to everyone at The Mooring for taking such good care of us and making us feel like family. You will see us again next Fall.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
93
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had never been to Cape May and had picked The Mooring based on other Trip Advisor reviews and crossed our fingers when we chose room10 . What a lovely place to celebrate a laid back and relaxing anniversary. No need for the ac on September 30 especially with the second floor porch room with the doors open. The room was clean, elegant and very comfortable. We brought our own champagne and ordered the cheese and fruit platter to go with it. We arrived earlier than check in but they allowed us to park in their lot and took,the champagne to be sure it was well chilled. After walking around the town, we got back around 5. When we unlocked the door the champagne was on ice in the room and the cheese and fruit platter was all arranged on the tea table. The presentation was very well done....china plates,cloth napkins and a large selection of both fruit and cheese. We found out the next day the food selection and presentation was all Vince. And as another reviewer said, he is the Cape May version of Google. And breakfast did not disappoint either. Vince even wrapped up the banana bread and cookies for travel snacks as we were traveling further south when we left.

Absolutely recommend The Mooring. The accommodations and food are excellent as are the hosts. Can't imagine a better or more relaxing place to stay. And yes we will be there for our anniversary next year.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 10 both have a second floor porch. Prime location especially in the fall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLK1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This was our second visit to this lovely, eclectic B&B in beautiful Cape May, NJ. It is located a block from the beach and is an easy walk to shops and restaurants. Owners Vince and Leslie do everything possible to make your stay relaxing and effortless. We stayed in Room 8, which is a suite with access to the 2nd floor porch (the parking space is a bonus). The HUGE Breakfast is better than you'd get in most CM restaurants. We've stayed in half a dozen CM B&B's over the years and have enjoyed most of them. The Mooring, however, is our favorite summertime retreat!

Room Tip: Check to make sure that your room includes a parking space. Rooms 8 and 10 have access to the 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Mooring is one of the few B&Bs in Cape May that was more about 'living' well for a few days than about showing off its Victorian chatchkes. The place is lovely to look at and very sound to be in - everything about the building is well maintained, quiet, comfortable and pretty. Yet, it is like being in a grand old home. Vince is a former contractor and his touch is evident in the small details, such as the porch floor and the woodwork. Perhaps Leslie selected the furniture, perhaps she and Vince together, but whomever, it's sturdy, handsome and in a subdued color scheme that never makes you think "I could never take a whole week of this" as other Cape May b&bs can.
And breakfast is handled very well, and generous without being overbearing. The buffet is laden with juice selections, muffins or coffee cake and toast, to which you may help yourself. Then a special treat: Vince comes to the table and takes your order for a warm entree, and every day they offer up one sweet or one savory, done wonderfully by (I suspect) a slave in the kitchen (probably Leslie). You make your choice, or you can have Greek yogurt, dressed with honey and nuts, or hot steel cut oatmeal, and one gets the feeling that if you asked for fresh caught fish, Vince would cycle down to the wharf and get it. He is the animated bonus to a great breakfast - you are his and Leslie's guests and he delights in it.
It's friendly and classy. Just go.

Room Tip: Try to stay on floors 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Vince and Leslie are the perfect hosts in their beautiful Victorian B&B just one block from the beach and central to all activities and restaurants. Be sure your room has a parking spot as parking in this part of Cape May is a premium. You can park your car and leave it and walk just about anywhere you need to as The Mooring is centrally located. If you are computer connected be aware of spotty issues with the wifi.

Room Tip: Parking availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

For the past 3 years my husband and I have come here for my birthday and we have agreed that we would never want to stay elsewhere! Vince and Leslie are so wonderful and hospitable. We love the rooms (onsite parking - huge advantage!) and the proximity to the beach and restaurants/mall is perfect because it's easily walkable yet far enough from the crowds. We love coming here every year!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michsvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Mooring. It was incredibly close to the beach and the owners were very friendly. We stayed in a standard room, which was decently sized but no television. We also had to find street parking, which was sometimes difficult as it was so close to the beach. We rented bikes on the street over and biked to the more secluded areas of the beach. The breakfasts were good and plentiful. I also left my charger there, but they were able to hold on to it for me until I could come back and pick it up. Very nice! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in standard room 14 and it was nice, very quiet. There's no television with standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooring B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring B&B

Property: Mooring B&B
Address: 801 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2446
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable elegance in a classic Second Empire inn ... originally built as a guesthouse in 1882. Nine uncluttered guest rooms and two suites, each with private bath, a few with ocean view. Gourmet breakfast served at individual tables for two. One building back from the beach; easy walking distance to town center with shops & restaurants. On-premise parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mooring B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooring B&B Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing