We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend!”
Review of Mooring B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mooring B&B
Ranked #19 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband just spent a wonderful weekend down in Cape May at the Mooring Bed and Breakfast. This is our second time staying at the Mooring and it just keeps getting better! The weather was not on our side but we made the best of it. The Inn is at a great location, so that made it easy for us to get around even in the rain. Vince, the host is wonderful! He is very helpful, very friendly and just so nice to sit down and talk to after coming back from a day of shopping! The room that we chose this time was a standard room, no television, and I was really surprised at how roomy it was. It was nice and had everything that we needed since we are never in the room. We love the breakfast at the Mooring, I loved the french toast, and my husband who is very simple loves that you can get to have a choice of simple scrambled eggs!
Overall we have been to a few bed and breakfast in Cape May and this is our favorite and the one we will keep coming back to!

Room Tip: Standard room without a tv is not a bad choice. Loved the size and really did not miss the tv at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troyt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at The Mooring in Cape May this past weekend, at the end of a week's vacation. There were many B&Bs to choose from in Cape May; we chose The Mooring because of its good location and the parking spaces on premises (which is a real advantage in Cape May). The room we were in was nicely decorated and had adequate light for reading (which has not been the case in some accomodations where we've stayed in the past). You can tell that the building has been restored with great care--I don't know how they painted some of the decorative details, but the colors worked together and it looked great. The innkeeper, Vince, was personable and knowledgeable, and was ready with a map of the area to show us what was nearby. The common area of the inn includes a basket that has a list of local restaurants and a bunch of menus, which helped us choose from among the many restaurants nearby. Breakfast was a choice of something sweet (a French toast) or something savory (a scrambled egg dish), with a breakfast meat, and/or a yogurt parfait, as well as freshly cut fruit, bread (and a toaster), with butter or jam. Each afternoon at 4:00 there was coffee or tea, and a homemade sweet (cupcakes one day, brownies the next). For afternoon tea, we had the option of hanging out with the other guests, or retreating to our room. We're very glad we chose The Mooring, and will definitely stay there again if/when we go back to Cape May!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay at The Mooring B&B. It has a great location to town and the beach. Many rooms have a designated parking spot. Nice front porch for an afternoon coffee or iced tea and a chat with other guests. Vince, the host, was quite knowledgeable about restaurants in the area and things to do. The room was clean and spacious. An easy walk to all that Cape May has to offer.

Room Tip: Room #2 for private entrance, kitchenette, easy loading and unloading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have stayed at other B&B's before, so we looked forward to a charming place with delicious food. The Mooring is very nice, lots of antiques and nicely decorated. Vince was very helpful and always ready to help with any problem. We were not impressed with the food. Breakfast was toast, juice, fruit and a choice of hot breakfast. However, the choices were always French toast or waffle for the sweet and some kind of scrambled egg for the savory. Afternoon tea was a pitcher of iced tea with store bought cookies or cake. Nothing fancy. We were very happy that our room came with a parking space as parking can be difficult in that area.

Room Tip: Check on the website for rooms that come with a parking space, some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Mooring for the first time, what a great place! We were in Room 2, a first floor suite, which also had a kitchenette with microwave, sink, small table and a nice sized refrigerator to store water, sandwich food for the beach etc. The room was perfectly situated to our car, easy to load and unload !
Can't say enough about breakfast, your choice of sweet ( french toast) or savory ( eggs a couple of different ways) and a breakfast meat. Our final breakfast we were treated to homemade sausage balls, wow, truly a treat !
Vince was very friendly and helpful - recommending places for dinner all of which were very good. The Mooring is 1 easy block to the beach and within walking distance to many fine restaruants and the Washington Street Mall. Can't wait to head back to the Mooring !!

Room Tip: Room 2 - first floor, spacious sweet, private .entry and easy to load and unload your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you go no where else in Cape May, stay at the Mooring. We had another fabulous stay! Amazing delicious breakfast of Peach Melba French Toast (YUMMMM), cozy canopy bed, yummy cookies at tea, 1 block to the beach, on site parking, outdoor shower, mini kitchen available to store your beach snacks, delightful, charming host, ocean breezes and rocking chairs lined up on the front porch---what more do you need? If you go to Cape May, this is the best place to stay...

Room Tip: We love Room #1, but #10 has a huge 2nd story porch with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marietta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Two girlfriends and I went down to Cape May for a quaint bachelorette experience, and stayed in Room 1 while there. To say that Vince and Leslie were gracious hosts would be an understatement! We had a late arrival on Friday night, and getting in and settled was seamless. We met Vince on Saturday morning at breakfast, where he set a separate table for our odd-sized party of three. In addition to an amazing continental breakfast serving muffins, banana bread, toast and fruit, we were offered greek yogurt with fruit and granola, banana fosters french toast (blueberry crumble on the second day), and a savory egg option (migas on day one and a basil and fresh mozzarella scramble on the second). Vince was able to provide great information about things to do around town, restaurant recommendations, etc. He gave us the name of a great shopping area- the west end garage- that ended up being an excellent place to grab a local artist's piece.
We were a block away from the beach; towels were provided by Vince and Leslie. The inn is absolutely beautiful and has a wonderful porch with rocking chairs- a great spot to read a book! We could hear some other people while in room 1, and it is not the most private of rooms (the stain glass windows open onto the front porch), but we were not bothered by this. The room perfectly suited our needs, and the innkeepers were so warm and inviting- we couldn't stop commenting on how wonderful the stay was. Thank you, Vince and Leslie!

Room Tip: For a more romantic and private room, go upstairs! Room 1 is great for friends or small families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 40 in Cape May
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooring B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring B&B

Address: 801 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2446
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £215 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable elegance in a classic Second Empire inn ... originally built as a guesthouse in 1882. Nine uncluttered guest rooms and two suites, each with private bath, a few with ocean view. Gourmet breakfast served at individual tables for two. One building back from the beach; easy walking distance to town center with shops & restaurants. On-premise parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mooring B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooring B&B Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing