We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One the the prettiest, lovingly maintained B&B's ever stayed in.”
Review of Mooring B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mooring B&B
Ranked #19 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island
2 reviews
“One the the prettiest, lovingly maintained B&B's ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Selected this B&B based on other reviews, as well as location. This was not one thing that disappointed myself or my friends who came on vacation as well. As a "girls" getaway it was a perfect place to stay - but it was also perfect for couples. The place was beautiful and very lovingly maintained by its owners. Vince and Leslie couldn't have been nicer with Leslie cooking up out of this world breakfasts and Vince being the welcoming and most helpful host you can imagine. His sense of humor and desire to make your stay not only at his B&B but in Cape May the best helped make the vacation a true vacation. We are already planing our visit there for next summer and can't imagine staying anywhere but back at the Mooring.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgtsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
92
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Clean. No fuss. No must. Lovely decorations -- not too cloying or fluffy. Appreciated parking space. Great location. Good breakfasts. Note: there is no bathroom on the ground floor so if you have a room on the 3rd floor, that's where you will have to go. It's definitely a business. Do not expect too much coddling. But the hosts can provide helpful information.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oonadwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

You know that feeling when you have spent hours trawling the internet, doing your research, trying to decide what constitutes value for money, you finally pick a place to stay out of dozens and dozens of possibilities, you travel for hours and hours and when you finally get there you walk in the door and feel like you won the Bed and Breakfast Lottery...well that's the feeling we got when we walked in the door of The Mooring!!!

This trip was a combination of a family reunion (my four sisters and their husbands/partners, my daughter and my two neices) and a celebration of my pending 60th birthday so I was into really wanting it to be "perfect". My definition: welcoming, clean, comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, centrally located, in-house amenities that give you a bit of that "home away from home feeling" and really good food...Leslie and Vince tick all the boxes.

Even before we ever set foot in the door Leslie was offering a level of "customer care" that can be hard to find these days. Because of the number of family joining me there were a significant number of changes to the rooms I wanted/required. Over the couple of weeks it took to get things sorted, Leslie advised me well and showed a remarkable level of patience!

Once we arrived, jet lag meant waking up at 4am so really appreciated being able to go down to the kitchen and make a cup of tea. We also had booked rooms 10 and 8 so the family were able to have full use of the balcony and Leslie and Vince made sure we had the extra chairs we needed. The ceiling fans are not only lovely to look at; they are also an efficient and blissfully quiet alternative to air conditioning. (We Brits can find sleeping in a refrigerated room a bit of a challenge). We had five rooms in total and they were all superb; attractive, scrupulous clean and comfortable.

Nothing was ever too much trouble. If Leslie and Vince can do it, they will. I am at risk of running out of superlatives, but can't finish without lauding and applauding the brilliant breakfasts. Delicious and worth every single calorie!

Thank you Vince and Leslie for making a very important event everything I hoped it would be.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrninrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed in Room 2 at the Mooring - a large room on the first floor with its own entrance and small kitchen. A little more expensive than the other rooms, but worth it, especially for an extended stay. The room is light and bright with very high ceilings and cheerful yellow paint. There is a sitting area in front of the bedroom area, a small kitchen with a sink, counter, fridge and breakfast table, and a private bathroom. The bathroom was nice - on the small side, but with a nice claw-foot tub/shower. (Beware though, it's a big step up to get into the shower, you need to be a little limber!) The king bed was incredible - tough to get out of it in the mornings, and ideal for a mid afternoon nap. And I should not forget to mention, everything was really clean!!

The location of the B&B can't be beat - one block from the beach and just 4-5 blocks from all the action on the Mall. There's a large front porch with rockers which just beckons you with cool breezes and relaxation. For breakfast, there are basically 3 courses: fruit, bread and muffins to choose from, then yogurt or oatmeal, followed by a special french toast or egg creation. The food was good, the right amount to fill you up without being stuffed. In the afternoons they have iced tea and cookies or brownies.

Vince the innkeeper was around pretty much all day - made sure to greet us and give us all the info we would ever need about the house. Overall, very accommodating and pleasant. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Only a short block to the beach. We kept the windows open all day to enjoy the comfortable ocean breeze in our room. No need to drive anywhere. Just park you car at the house and walk to the beach, restaurants, shopping, etc. There are multiple places to rent bikes if you want to get around a little quicker and explore the Victorian neighborhoods and coastline. The home is an amazingly well kept Victorian. Beautiful dining and parlor rooms and a gorgeous grand staircase. Every afternoon they have tea and a sweet (cookies, brownies, etc.). The last afternoon we stayed a brief but strong rain and thunderstorm came through and we enjoyed it sitting drinking tea and socializing on rocking chairs and the large covered porch. Vince is welcoming and a wealth of information for things to do and places to go. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveannapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Mooring over 4th of July weekend. It was wonderful right from the start! Vince was so welcoming and even went out of his way to get us some treats since we arrived a little late for the afternoon tea. He was always available for recommendations and even helped us find an ice cream shop we were looking for. Our room was great! It was roomy and had a small kitchenette, which we always appreciate. It was a little noisy being right next to the door to the main house, but it would not keep us from staying in it again. We also had our own parking spot, which is a real luxury on a holiday weekend in Cape May. Breakfasts were awesome too! Unlike a lot of other B&B's, there were 5 different options everyday, as well as fruit and pastries - a very good thing for my notoriously picky husband. Even he was able to find food he enjoyed! We would totally recommend to others!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Went there for our 1 year anniversay, fist time there we enjoyed our stay, Vince and Leslie were great host.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cnjmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooring B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring B&B

Property: Mooring B&B
Address: 801 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2446
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable elegance in a classic Second Empire inn ... originally built as a guesthouse in 1882. Nine uncluttered guest rooms and two suites, each with private bath, a few with ocean view. Gourmet breakfast served at individual tables for two. One building back from the beach; easy walking distance to town center with shops & restaurants. On-premise parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mooring B&B Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing