We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Cape May”
Review of The Queen Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Queen Victoria
Ranked #4 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Loved this B&B. Great location to beach and resturants. Beautiful and romantic B&B. Great afternoon ice teas after a long warm day. Will definetly go back and stay here again and again. Great romantic getaway for all.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank newyorker96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

I booked this place sight unseen as the base of operations for my wedding.

The staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful -- Doug even offered us the use of the place for our wedding ceremony, in case our beach wedding was rained out.

Breakfast was very nice, afternoon tea even better.

But the big, BIG surprise was that they have bikes that you can use at your leisure, and at no additional charge. For that point alone, it was worth staying there!

Also, the place is immaculately clean and pretty.

My sole quibble is that the photo of the room we booked looks MUCH larger on the Queen Vic website than it did in real life, and that was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barreleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I've stayed at The Queen Victoria several times, and each visit is a treat. If you like B&Bs with a Victorian flair, this is definitely the place to be. The rooms have unique personalities and, in my experience, they have been flawless in every way. The hosts are delightful, striking just the right balance between attentive and respecting your privacy. The afternoon tea is relaxed, low-key, and absolutely delicious, varying from day to day with mouth-watering treats like quiche and fresh pastries. To sit in the parlor at the end of a wonderful day in Cape May, surrounded by beautiful objects from the past and present is one of life's great moments of pleasure and relaxation. The Queen Victoria offers comfort, atmosphere, and the perfect get-away for couples, groups, and individuals.

Room Tip: Aim for off-season or weekdays if you can. If you plan to stay on the weekend, book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarsupialSurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

cute and clean room, warm and friendly staff, perfect location

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Queen Victoria Bed and Breakfast was really nice and quaint-as is the whole area of Cape May. The location was about two blocks from the beach. Its not beach front but in the House of Royals you can get an ocean view balcony room and because you are high up you see the beach! The view there was amazing! I believe this is the only one of their four buildings that has ocean view balconies or any balconies for that matter. The breakfast was good. I have had better but it was certainly not bad at all! They have Keurig Coffee Makers in all buildings as well as a sweet treat; sodas, waters etc available at all times was was really nice!! I love Keurig's! There was also a nice DVD collection too! They have bikes (beach cruisers) that you can use at any time which was nice to see the town! The rooms were ok size, the bathrooms were big and renovated. The inn keepers were nice! I cannot say anything bad at all =) The reason we might not stay here again is because I felt the price was a bit high and I am interested in Congress Hall Hotel right on the beach! We did wine tasting and had a wonderful time in Cape May. For dinner we went to the Lobster House which was great!! and right on the water! We ate and drank at some restaurants and bars within walking distance the rest of the trip. Next time we go, we will probably go in May when its a bit warmer and more things are open. The wineries were all great! go, go ,go !!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pisces219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

What a wonderful B&B! Stayed at the marigold Prince Albert building right next to the main green building, and the Prince Albert building seemed much nicer and peppier. They serve the afternoon tea and breakfast from there and have lots of rocking chairs and seating on the porch.
The place is well manicured and taken care of. It seems like there more trees surrounding this property than the rest of the Victorians on Cape May, making it very cool on a hot 4th of July weekend. The staff was indeed very very nice, they served watermelon and crab quiche on 4th of July during tea time, and throughout our stay we were welcome to free beverages and sweets.
Free usage of beach chairs, bicycles, and outdoor showers all came in handy, and they weren't stingy or gave us a list of rules to follow either. It was really chill, and we had a great time there.
For just one night they let us stay there, and gave us a top floor wonderful room with cold ac and whirlpool tub. Everything in pristine condition for such an old building. We had a whole rooftop next to our room that was ours to use undisturbed as well.
A truly great experience and well worth the money for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichiefromBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

If you are looking for the perfect place to get away from it all, The Queen Victoria is for you. The innkeepers and staff go out of their way of make you feel at home. Our room was not only clean and comfortable, but beautifully decorated with antiques. Having a small refrigerator to chill our wine was terrific! The parlor right outside our door was equipped with a Keurig coffeemaker, sodas, ice, and treats. Each morning we were treated to a sumptuous breakfast with Doug constanty on duty with a coffee refill. Afternoon tea is a delight with not only tea, but delicious baked goodies and other treats. Both Anna Marie and Doug love to chat with the guests on the wraparound porch. From them, we learned the best restaurants to try, the events to attend, and the nearby attractions to visit. And the location!! The Queen Victoria is only one block from the beach! Forget the hassle of bringing your own chairs and towels - everything is provided for you to make your day, or evening, at the beach a relaxing one. Or, if you prefer to bike on the promenade in the early morning or through the streets of Cape May, a bicycle is ready and waiting for you. To say what we liked best about our stay is nearly impossible, but if we had to choose, it would be the friendliness of Anna Marie and Doug. They are like the good neighbors we all love to have. Give The Queen Victoria a try. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marigold17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
575 reviews
1 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Victoria

Address: 102 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £144 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queen Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Queen Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Victoria Hotel Cape May
The Queen Victoria Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing