We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful visit”
Review of The Queen Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queen Victoria
Ranked #4 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We've stayed at the Queen Victoria many times, and our stay over New Year's was again superb. Every aspect of our stay was outstanding--amenities, hospitality at breakfast and tea, holiday decor, etc. Thank you, Doug and Anna Marie, for a very memorable New Year's!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cshackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband booked a weekend stay at the Queen Victoria as a surprise for our 2 year wedding anniversary. Wow! We couldn't have asked for anything better. Our room was very clean and cozy; all of the rooms are unique but ours, the Osborne, had a jacuzzi and gas fireplace, the perfect setting for a weekend getaway. We had 24/7 complimentary access to a Keurig and coffee, tea, hot chocolate, bottled water, and cans of soda. There were also wine glasses, mugs, and disposable travel cups w lids for hot drinks. In addition to cleaning service we had a nightly turn-down service and were provided w hot chocolate and other sweets. When we went to breakfast (the food was wonderful and there was plenty of it) I was surprised to learn that our "server" was Anne Marie- the owner! She talked w us for awhile and was genuinely interested in making sure our needs were taken care of- from our accommodations to our day plans and dinner reservations. We also met Doug, her husband, during afternoon tea who was equally kind. They clearly took great pride in their work and service and it will show during your stay. Location of the Queen Victoria was great, we really had zero complaints and had an amazing weekend. I would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to anyone; it was such a beautiful stay! You will not regret spending the money to stay there!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittmacadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is the fourth time we've stayed at the Queen Victoria B&B . On this visit, our accommodations were in Prince Albert Hall. The room was excellent and the service was impeccable. Although there was not a lot of activity in Cape May at this time of the year,
my wife and I enjoyed the peace and quiet and were able to recharge for the winter months ahead.
Doug and Anna Marie always provide a wonderful breakfast and tea and make us feel right
at home every time we visit. The friendly atmosphere and the festive decorations for Christmas added to the enjoyment of our stay. We can't wait until September when we will
stay for a full week in the House of Royals.

Room Tip: if you like an old fashioned claw foot tub and a view of the ocean, The prince of Wales room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

What better way to spend New Year than Cape May, NJ, at the Queen of all Queens! Leasure afternoons by the fire enjoying an afternoon tea, listening to the great stories our hosts share with us, and meeting and making new friends. One of the great things about a B&B is the opportunity to meet new and interesting people. When sharing a table with what begins as strangers and ends as friends is an enriching experience. Our hosts are so very gracious and the staff is always available to assist. Pleasure and comfort abounds.

Room Tip: Most rooms are great, it is important to view the rooms on their internet site, and ask about the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Just returned from this lovely b&b. Room was lovely and very clean however there was a terrible stench of sewer in the room . When we reported this to staff we were told they were aware of the sewer smell and we could open the windows! It was 30 degrees out! For the price of the room we thought this was a terrible response to the problem! Also I have stayed many times in cape may and I would rate their breakfast as mediocre at best. Very beautiful, clean b&b, but customer service could be improved upon. :(

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladolcevita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2012

I can only say that I’m both stunned and horrified by this review. We did indeed have a sewage backup in the crawlspace under one of our buildings recently, which was quickly resolved but did result in unfortunate odors in some of our rooms for about a day (an innkeeper’s worst nightmare). In response to this we promptly moved and/or upgraded 2 couples to different rooms, found a room at another inn for a couple that we could not upgrade, and fully refunded one couple who chose to depart instead of staying at another inn. Every couple that we knew of that was experiencing this problem we dealt with as well and quickly as possible. I only wish that this guest had come to my attention.

We pride ourselves on our customer service, which is frequently commented upon in our tripadvisor reviews. Our goal is for every guest to have a perfect visit every time, no matter what. I truly wish I had known of this guest’s experience so that I could have addressed it as we did the others. The response that this guest appears to have gotten is clearly unacceptable and is completely opposite of the response to our other affected guests. I'm completely mystified by it, as I cannot imagine any of my innkeepers responding to a guest complaint in this manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

After many summer vacations in Cape May, we decided to meet family here for Christmas to enjoy the decorations and ambience. We could not have picked a better place and will definitely return. The inn was beautifully and lovingly decorated for the holiday and everyone was so friendly. The breakfasts and the Christmas Eve tea were especially special. For my modern family, it was the best of both worlds -- the lovely rooms of a well maintained, Victorian B & B with the special touch that attention to detail provides as well as the modern convenience of up to date bathrooms and internet connection. The 24 hour pantry and Doug and Anne Marie's warmth make you feel at home. The location is great for both beach and shops, and it will be great in summer with the bikes and outdoor shower.

Room Tip: We picked our room by reading about the 3 main buildings and looking at pictures of the rooms, and w...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
Thank SarahR358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stay at the Queen Victoria every year the weekend before Christmas just to relax and enjoy the beauty of the Inn as well as Cape May. Our stay is always welcomed by Doug and Anna Marie who make you feel right at home. Their staff is friendly and always eager to please. The Queen Victoria has many beautiful rooms and are very clean. Afternoon Tea is a wonderful way to warm up after a day of shopping and Breakfast is always the best! This has become our Tradition before the true meaning of the Holidays begin and The Queen Victoria will always be the place we stay. Till December 2012, Have a wonderful year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#16 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
1.0 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Victoria

Address: 102 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £172 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queen Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Queen Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Victoria Hotel Cape May
The Queen Victoria Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing