We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queen Victoria, Queen of Cape May”
Review of The Queen Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queen Victoria
Ranked #4 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A lovely celebration of our anniversary! The room was beautiful, the breakfast excellent and the afternoon tea hit the spot! I would recommend this spot to everyone! The inn and the rooms are beautifully decorated and the staff is kind and caring. We will be back every chance we get! The location couldn't be any better. A block from the beach and local shops. Put this inn on your list of "best places to stay!"

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyc580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
There are newer reviews for The Queen Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

From the moment we checked in, we were treated like royalty. Upon arrival, Maria gave us a tour of the building where we were staying and personally escorted us to our room on the third floor. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. We choose a room with a jacuzzi tub, which stopped working after 10 minutes of use. We reported the problem; it was repaired and in running condition the same day. The rooms are elegantly decorated, but not overly junked with Victorian embellishments. Staff is extremely attentive, but not intrusive. Breakfast was delicious, with an abundant variety of choices. The afternoon tea, sweets and savories were also a big hit with our group. Located close to beach, Washington street mall, restaurants and activities means you don't need your car. We will return for another five star experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We took advantage of an introductory offer and enjoyed an absolutely perfect experience. The Queen Victoria has to be the most beautifully restored and maintained B&B we've ever done. The accommodations and hospitality are equal to Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous, the Breakfasts and afternoon tea were wonderful, we genuinely appreciated the convenience of courtesy bicycles with which to ride all over the island, and the guests we met shared our enthusiasm and added to the pleasure of our visit. We absolutely plan to make this a new tradition and repeat the experience many more times as a perfect getaway anytime of the year.

Tom and Wendy Hibberd, Media Pa.

Room Tip: The Kew Garden Room with sitting room, fireplace, jacuzzi, and luxurious bed was elegant, but In spe...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomH19063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stay at the Queen Victoria every year. The moment we leave, we start the count down until our next stay... The place is exquisite. Every detail is perfect... and don't get us started on the fabulous breakfasts and delightful afternoon tea... The staff is gracious and accommodating.

We come home tired, even though the bed and linens are so luxurious. We just do not want to sleep. Everything is so beautiful, we hate to close our eyes. We stay up really late, and get up really early. We do not want to give up a single minute spent in this victorian paradise.

Room Tip: Do not just stay in your room. Plan time to spend in the palors and other common areas. This is a gr...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I recently spent two nights at The Queen Victoria with 2 other ladies. It was perfect. Doug and Anne Marie couldn't have been more accommodating and seemed to predict our every need. We arrived on time for tea and refreshments the first night but since some guests were still coming in, they continued to replenish past the ending time. The breakfast in the morning had many choices which met everyone's needs. One of the ladies couldn't have nuts so the staff went out of their way to go over the menu with her to make sure her needs were personally met. The pantry is well stocked - coffee, tea, V8, sodas, water bottles, ice - and was available 24 hours a day. Our room had extra towels and extra toiletries since we were 3 ladies. Since this was wintertime, we didn't make use of their beach chairs and beach towels but many places that I've stayed don't provide these and it was good to know that if we stay there in the summer, they would be provided. Everything was very clean. I think Doug and Anne Marie have raised the standard on B&B's to a new height! I highly recommend The Queen Victoria.

Room Tip: You need to check out the rooms on the website because every room has different features. Our room...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLC056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Once again, The Queen Victoria Inn with Doug and Anne Marie at the helm, did not disappoint. First of all fantastic location, just a few steps from Washington Mall with great shopping and fantastic restaurants to the left and the beach to right.
The Inn itself. I cannot say enough about this place. Every detail is down to a perfect science. From the pantries with complimentary juices, water, coffee wine glasses, mugs, even to-go cups (love that) to the friendly accomodating staff to, the beautiful buildings (4 in total) and meticulously maintained grounds complete with little gardens, lit pathways and courtyards. There was even an umbrella in our room in case of a chance of rain. In the evening a basket of towels, bath products and little plate of sweets were left for us. Nice. They have thought of it all. We love The Osborne in the Queens Cottage which is located across the street from the main building. Antiques, a lovely sitting room shared by the other room in the building, comfortable bed, big bath tub. The staff are all very friendly and full of tips and information on what to do, where to eat etc.
Breakfast in the main building is where we were greeted by our host Doug who is so wonderfully friendly and so helpful. The food was wonderful, homemade jams and breads. A wonderful egg bake sausage patties, fresh juice, fruit... all good. Doug gave us a suggestion for the Cape May Winery and even gave us a little map. We missed afternoon tea this time around, but in the past it has been wonderful. Sweet and savory treats, I walked over with my glass of wine and made friends with the other guests. Part of the charm.
This was our 4th stay at this very special property. I'm already looking for dates in October and Feb of next year. We are so looking forward to it, in Cape May we would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosey223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Just stayed for two nights at the Queen Victoria in Cape May for our anniversary. Yes it was off season and very quiet. We stayed in Osborne suite in the Queen's Cottage. No one else was in the building (has 4 rooms altogether in this building). Our common room became our living room for the stay. There was always coffee, tea, soda, juice available along with some type of goodie. Breakfasts were plentiful and the Afternoon tea was a treat. All homemade goodies (except for english muffins and bagels). Our room also had a gas fireplace (very warming) as well as a heart shaped jacuzzi for two. Great place to stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,166 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Victoria

Address: 102 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £178 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queen Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Queen Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Victoria Hotel Cape May
The Queen Victoria Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing