We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION!”
Review of The Queen Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queen Victoria
Ranked #4 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My family and I spent three nights and four fantastic days here.

To celebrate our anniversary, I splashed out and booked the Crown Jewel, which is a an annexe of the Queen Victoria. It is absolutely beautiful. No expense has been spared on this oasis of calm, the detail of the fixtures, fittings and decoration is amazing. The king-size bed swallowed us up, we slept like babies, it was soooooooooooooo comfy! It is so peaceful, you relax as soon as you walk through the door.

Our children, had a twin room in the main house, the room was beautiful. Tastefully decorated, with two queen beds that were voted the comfiest on our trip! The bathrooms in both rooms were spacious and well stocked.

The innkeeper's, Doug and Anna Marie, do everything to make your stay a memorable one, and believe me, it will be, and for all the right reasons! The breakfasts are amazing, the afternoon teas provided are as good as the breakfasts!

Every member of staff greets you with a smile, they all seem happy to see you, and they are even happier to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Never, in all of our travels, have we felt as relaxed and as well catered for as we did in the Queen Victoria, it was the highlight of our two week road trip!

I can only wish both Doug and Anna Marie every success, they deserve it. They, and their staff made our visit to Cape May very special!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funlovinfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

So glad we picked this B & B to celebrate our anniversary. Unfortunately it had to be a quick trip only 2 nights and we were out early. That being said, we visit Cape May quite often and have walked past the QV so many times. This was our first time staying and it won't be our last! Everyone was so warm and friendly, especially Tracy who took care of us at breakfast. We stayed in the House of Royals and our room had a view of both the ocean and the QV. Breakfast and Tea Time were great. The pantry for our "house" was always stocked. So great to be able to grab a bottle of water during the heat of the day. Our room was clean and the maid service was very good. Can't wait to go back!!! By the way, I commented on how comfortable I thought our bed was as compared to the last reviewer but maybe different mattresses in different rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoeyboey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We travelled to the Queen Victoria and all in all had a very nice stay with one exception..the bed. The service was very good, the location is perfect, the upkeep of the Inn is very good, the ammenities are very good (free bikes, towels, chairs, outdoor showers, etc). the bed however was so bad, that I actually put tennis rackets between the mattress and the box spring to get some support. I actually needed an accupuncture session to get by back aligned! This Inn has 20 rooms, so just stay away from the Bloomsbury Suite. I really hate to post a negative, but it was so bad... maybe management will simply invest in a new mattress! Strangely enough I would go back (no pun intended), as long as I made sure about the bed in the suite!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenyonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

First, I'm very sorry that this guest had less than perfect sleep quality. I truly wish they had brought it to our attention so that we could have attempted to address their issue. We have "bed boards" handy for people who prefer firmer mattresses (I don't think they do much, but it would probably have saved some stress on their tennis racquet).

This review is both surprising and not. Surprising because we routinely get compliments about sleep quality and I had a guest in that same room last week asking about how they could buy that "amazing bed". Not surprising because beds can be very personal for people and tastes vary widely. We often get back to back guests where one raves about a bed and the next guest complains about the same bed in the same room.

For the record, we have Sealy Posturepedic "Palatial Crest - Ultra Plush Top" mattresses, which provide a "firmish" experience, but with a soft, plush top layer. Our mattresses are changed far more often than those in most private homes, though they are only used about 65% as much.

Maybe we should consider "Dial a Beds", though I'm skeptical about their durability with constant adjustments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife & I stayed at The Queen Victoria Bed & Breakfast for 3 glorious nights & 4 wonderful days for our 20th wedding anniversary. Ann Marie & Doug treated us like family the first time we met. We stayed in the Windsor room & the room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were unbelievable & the afternoon tea set-up was to die for. The Queen Victoria is located in the center of everything; we never needed our car the entire time. The nearby restaurants were great, food was fresh. Shopping center had everything imaginable. The beach (less than 1 block away) was spectacular. We cannot wait for our next visit to The Queen Victoria.

Sincerely;
Cosmo & Lynda Zingaropoli

Room Tip: Windsor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cosmo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was our second stay here, and it was absolutely fantastic. The inkeepers are wonderful! Anna Marie's beautiful smile and greeting every morning was a positive way to start to our day! The breakfast was incredible.... an amazing amount of delicious food! We took advantage of the free bikes, and rode everywhere. We never had to move our car, so parking was not a problem. Tea was fantastic also. Compliments to the chef! There was plenty of food here, with lots of variety. The rooms were super clean (we stayed in 2 different ones, because of availability). We really loved Mayfair though, The desk and the extra sofa were great. And I just loved the colors! The staff was super polite, and always smiling. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Doug and Anna Marie for such a great vacation. We are sooo happy that we were able to come to Cape May this year,and stay at the Queen Victoria. In the words of one of our ghost tour guides....he asked if anyone was staying in town......we answered yes.....at the Queen Victoria.......he replied WOW....Lucky you! I agree! LUCKY US!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zblmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I are frequent guests at the Beautiful Queen Victoria Bed & Breakfast in lovely Cape May, NJ. We keep returning to the Queen Victoria because we fell in love with our experience the first time we stayed. It is simply paradise!
The Queen Victoria B&B is 4 beautiful Victorian buildings offering the best Victorian architecture that can be found .The buildings and rooms are beautifully decorated with the best antiques and lovely lace curtains. Each building and room has such great attain to detail. You will find the best Bradbury & Bradbury wallpaper too. The porches are fabulous and are probably our most favorite place to relax.
The innkeepers, Doug & Anna Marie, make you feel so at home. They do not exclude anything. The towels, toilet paper, tissues, and linens are of the best quality. Anna Marie even remembered to provide the ladies with makeup remover towelettes. Every bed is so comfortable too. We have stayed in several rooms, and have loved each bed and enjoyed each room very much. Doug & Anna Marie are simply the best! They also make it point to get to know all their guests, and their warm hospitality makes you want to keep returning and returning. They provide you with beach chairs, beach towels, and great bicycles making your life easier, allowing you to pack less. They extend their hospitality by inviting guests to stay and use the amenities on their departure day even offering guests to stay for tea on the day of departure. Doug & Anna Marie are so helpful in assisting guests with dinner reservations, tours, and anything else you are inquiring about in an effort to make your Cape May trip a memorable one.
The staff of the Queen Victoria is some of the nicest people we have ever met. They too extend themselves to help make your stay warm and inviting. The breakfast and tea are absolutely to die for. Breakfast is so comfortable and relaxing. The hot entrees are delectable and comforting. The breads and muffins are scrumptious, and there is something for everyone, even cereals and fruit. We love it all. Tea time sweet & savories are addicting too.
The Queen Victoria is truly my husband & my special place. We love to go in the winter too and enjoy just relaxing in the parlor or in our room. In fact, we love it so much that we are renewing our wedding vows there next June. Thank you Doug, Anna Marie, and QV staff for all you do and for making the Queen Victoria so special!! We love you!! Never change a thing because everything is perfect!!
If you have not booked a stay at the Queen Victoria, do yourself a favor and do so. You will be glad you did. It is truly MAGICAL!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babygrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I just returned from a five night stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Brighton room, which gave us access to a parlor and full kitchen. This arrangement was so homey feeling and relaxing, and we especially loved the Keurig coffee machine in our kitchen with provided pods and our frig stocked with bottled water and soda. The location of this B&B can't be beat, with the beach at your doorstep in one direction and the square with all of its shops and restaurants at your doorstep in the other direction. Beach chairs, towels and bikes are also provided for your use - very convenient. Sitting in our rockers on "our" porch in the evenings people watching and seeing the horse carriages going by was such a treat. Everyone at this establishment was very friendly and helpful. Again, we just felt very at home here. The experience was just overall very relaxing, and we will return soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacati0nbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Victoria

Address: 102 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £183 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queen Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queen Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Victoria Hotel Cape May
The Queen Victoria Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing