We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th Birthday Stay”
Review of The Queen Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queen Victoria
Ranked #4 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2008

A friend who had stayed there before raved about it so she thought it would be fun for us to celebrate our 60th birthdays together there without husbands. The staff was incredible, the ammenities were wonderful and the food was delicious! The decor was beautiful and we were all made to feel like a big family. I plan to definitely go back again, this time with my husband. It was a terrific experience!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
There are newer reviews for The Queen Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2008

For 22 years my wife and I have gone to Cape May. We have stayed at many places. This experience at the Queen Victoria was the best we ever had. The Inn Keepers were the best, and they made the stay a wonderful experience. I will suggest the Queen Victoria to anyone looking for a place in Cape May.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank capemayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2008

We loved the room, very spacious and perfectly decorated with a gorgeous fireplace, and spa tub! We also had an entire wrap around porch to ourselves. The food served was amazing for breakfast and afternoon tea! We were also close to everything we wanted to do-sooo relaxing!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank caralee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We have been to a few bed and breakfasts in Cape May, but our favorite is The Queen Victoria. We have been there the past 3 Aprils for our anniversary. Doug and Anna Marie are the most gracious of hosts! The staff is always helpful and most pleasant.

The rooms are very charming and very comfortable. Refridgerators and safes are in each room. We try to stay in a different room each time we go, and Doug and Anna are always quite helpful in our picking a room out. Each room we have chosen has been a "10!"

The Queen Victoria is so centrally located in town that all you have to do is park your car and not visit it again until you leave.

The breakfasts are great. There is always a wonderful breakfast casserole, along with regular staples such as bagels, rolls and cereals. I highly recommend "The Queen's Oats."

Your visit to the Queen Victoria is one you will want to repeat on a regular basis!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BRKINGFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

We had a delightful time during our stay at the Queen Victoria. What a beautiful B&B. The Staff is great and the owners are wonderful. I highly recommend for anyone who is going to visit Cape May to stay at the Queen Victoria. Thank you for a great vacation.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank TracerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

I have stayed in many B&B's in Cape May in the past, but this was my first time at the Queen Victoria. The original decision to stay there was honestly based on price and location. From the moment I arrived, my experience was a positive one. The owners, Doug and Anne Marie are incredibly hands-on and super-friendly. I remember I had stayed at one other place in the past and my first interaction with the owner of this B&B - which shall remain nameless - was him yelling at me for how big my car was and it wouldn't fit in the lot. So already, I'm on an upswing here. Upon checking in, I had informed the friendly lady working the desk that I had planned to spend some quality time in my room reading for the weekend, since I was there alone and it was the middle of January. Not much to do outdoors by myself. She let me know that there was room-refurbishing going on near the room I had originally booked and I might get some noise during the day. Then, seemingly out of nowhere, Doug, the owner, materialized. He had overheard my plans and had offered to move me to another building on the property (an upgrade at no additional cost) so that I wouldn't be disturbed during my long weekend of self-entertainment. They also gave me a choice of the rooms to pick from in the other building out of the ones that were still available for the 3 nights I had planned on staying. They didn't have to do that. But they did and I was incredibly impressed. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and once again, the owner Doug, was there. Talking to everyone, pouring coffee and just being a great host. This was the case each day. The room was comfortable (and quiet). They seem to have done renovations throughout the property. While keeping the original intent and charm of the room ... new, super-modern bathroom amenities seem to have been added. Each house on the property has a little pantry with free coffee, tea, water, juice, soda, etc that is available 24 hours a day to your liking. Afternoon tea each day was wonderful and offered another chance to meet some of the diverse guests staying there. And of course, the houses. Beautiful. And completely in keeping with the Victorian history and aesthetic of Cape May. This place is not in the Select Registry for nothing. My suggestion ... if you want a spectacular, comfortable, personal experience at a B&B in Cape May, off-season or in-season, go to the Queen Victoria. You won't be disappointed. And Doug and Anne-Marie McMain will definitely see to that ... personally.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2008

We went to the Queen Victoria for our 30th anniversary get-a-way.
Our stay could not have been better. From check-in to check-out it was a great experience. This was our first stay at a B&B and I think we got spoiled by one of the best. We were greeted by Maria at check in and she showed us around and explained all the amenities. She was so gracious and made us feel welcome right off the bat. The housekeeping staff is outstanding although invisible. You never see them coming and going but everything is done twice a day and promptly. It is very evident that the owners Doug and Anna Marie love what they do. We enjoyed listening to their stories and recommendations each day. I could go on and on, but I won't. Just know that a stay here will be wonderful in all aspects!!!

Michelle & Mike Scherer

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Raleigh_NCMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,166 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Victoria

Address: 102 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £178 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queen Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Queen Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Victoria Hotel Cape May
The Queen Victoria Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing