We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wouldn't go anywhere else.”
Review of Saltwood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saltwood House
Ranked #16 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Saltwood House is a great B&B that we have been coming back to for about 13 years now. Don and Erik treat everyone like part of their family. They know everyones names that come and go. They always have an excellent breakfast and that is always a good time , because you get to meet some intestering people. This year we met a family from Denmark. They were traveling the USA and stopped at the Saltwood House for a night.
Our room is great. It is a bedroom and sitting room with our own bath. It also is equipped with cable tv ,dvd player and also a frige. Don has a great selection of dvd's too. All the rooms are decorated in antiques and are very comfortable. It is also great to have onsite parking .
It is on Jackson street in Cape May. A block and half from the beach and all the eatting and shopping you could want. Great location !
All in all we wouldn't go anywhere else.
Thank you Don and Erik for another great year.
R and R

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

When we decided on a getaway for two or a family trip for four, the Saltwood House was our only choice for staying in Cape May. in June our room was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary,then 30 days later to come back and enjoy the large Cape Island suite on the entire third floor was great , especially bringing two teenage boys with us for a vacation. The cleanliness, the great breakfasts, and of course the beach, steps from the front door! Don and Erik provide a very pleasurable experience not to be missed while there. The location CAN'T be beat plus the parking, beach towels and love the new beach chairs all provided for the guests to use. We will keep coming back to experience Cape May and we will be staying at 28 Jackson St at the Saltwood!

Steven & Erika

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJD-EBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip to Cape May for the first time. After much research we found an opening at the Saltwood House and were pleasantly surprised. The website does not do it justice. Don and Eric are both warm and welcoming. We also could tell other people love staying there as we meet those who have been going to Saltwood for years. The location is near everything so you never have to get back in your car. The Newport Suite was a dream and felt like home. Don's breakfasts were fantastic along with the enjoying discussions with new friends over breakfast. We wholeheartedly would go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samradiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed at The Saltwood House with another couple for many years every September. Unfortunately we haven't been back for 5 years. Fortunately for us there was a last minute cancellation(they keep their website availability list very up to date), and we had a few days off with a forecast of gorgeous weather. Called Don, he remembered us, and we were set. Had another great time. The place is lovely with a wonderful breakfast (they even graciously share their recipes) and at a fantastic location on Jackson Street. The large front porch is a great gathering place for guests to share stories and drinks. The onsite parking as well as a suite with 2 bedrooms is a plus. But the best of all is the innkeeper Don and a his "right arm" Eric. They are so warm and friendly and imagine remembering us with great detail after 5 years and many other visitors. We won't stay any where else in Cape May but the Saltwood. Hope it won't be so long next time!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pakkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

What a wonderful B&B! Don and Erik are THE reasons to book your stay, they make staying here truly feel like you are visiting with a long lost friend. The location is perfect, half block to Washington Mall, half block to the beach. Breakfast is well done with good fresh food and great coffee. I stayed on the third floor in the two bedroom suite and felt as if it were home. If you are looking for that special place in Cape May, you'll find it at the Saltwood House.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5,555,522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Our stay at The Saltwood House was wonderful! Our hosts, Don and Erik, were very hospitable and friendly, going out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel at home. It was the small touches that really made the stay memorable-- Don offering to help carry a bag in the way in, the freshly baked cookies, the cold bottles of water readily available, the use of beach towels/chairs... the list goes on!! The homemade breakfasts were delicious! The decor was lovely and the place was very clean. We will definitely return!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank KAF82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Rocking chairs on the wide veranda beckon you to relax at this seaside B&B, and Don, the host and antiques buff, creates an atmosphere that melts away your cares. His beautiful antique filled home is comfy and serene. One block to the pristine beach and cooling surf. One block to the pedesterian shopping and dining district. Delicious full-scale breakfasts with specialties like Don's french toast and creamy cheese souffle. Friendly guests and interesting conversation. around the breakfast table or during afternoon visits on the porch. Great restaurants a walk away, and a birding paradise nearby. Peace and quiet. Our third floor suite - 2 bedrooms, bath, and living room with fridge and coffee maker was ideal for our early risers who needed their coffe and night owls who watched movies and enjoyed their wine. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Third floor suite - great for 2 couples or family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinedevries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 40 in Cape May
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gingerbread House
Gingerbread House
#7 of 40 in Cape May
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Peter Shields Inn
The Peter Shields Inn
#9 of 40 in Cape May
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwood House

Address: 28 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1465
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £75 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saltwood House is ideally located on Cape May's oldest street and 1/2 block from the beach and the center of town. Delight in the Victorian charms of an artfully restored home. Guests enjoy the convenience of our on-site parking. Our on-line guest room availability is updated everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltwood House Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing