We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend stay!”
Review of The Harrison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Harrison
Ranked #3 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend stay!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Summer Cottage Inn for a weekend getaway and had a lovely time. It's in a great location, only a block from the beach, and also very close to the shops on Washington St. The staff were all welcoming (though, admittedly, we never met the innkeeper), and we enjoyed the homemade breakfast (a hot dish, fruit salad, yogurt, granola, bagels, juice) and the afternoon cookies. Our room was very comfortable; our only complaint was that the bed was super squeaky. They also have bikes to use (I would highly suggest this!) and an ample supply of beach towels. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    24
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
221
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the Summer Cottage Inn last week. The inn is one of our favorite places and we stay there every year for our anniversary. Although the inn is very clean and comfortable the new staff does not seem to be very friendly. The innkeeper never once came out to greet the guests. The assistant would appear and then disappear. There was one staff member that was very friendly and chatted with all of us. Breakfast was ok, the afternoon tea was really lemonade and cookies. At 5:00 wine and cheese is offered. The front porch and rocking chairs are wonderful. The location is perfect for walking to most everywhere in Cape May. We will continue to stay here but I would suggest that the staff become more people friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNSHPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The two of us were making last-minute plans to spend two nights in Cape May, wanting a BandB. The Summer Cottage had a couple of rooms, where most others did not. BIG SURPRISE, and fortunate for us because this is a high-quality place. The Summer Cottage is beautifully located, across the street from The Abbey, one of the most renowned Victorian Houses in Cape May. Summer Cottage is close to the beach and downtown area; it offered an unique (and good) breakfast each day, lemonade and homemade cookies at 3, and a wine and cheese happy hour at 5--really nice feature. The rooms are well-sized, finely appointed, and comfortable!!!

The Summer Cottage brags about their porch, and should. We made very solid new friends during this short stay--it all happened on the porch.

Other reviewers have mentioned parking issues; Cape May has parking issues--applies to virtually all BandBs. Pretty much the only advantage most BandBs might have over the Summer Cottage is room to park two cars in front of the house. However, and interestingly, the prohibition of parking in front of the Summer Cottage brought two significant advantages: 1) easy to load and unload in front of the BandB--i.e., no need to double park on narrow streets; and 2) unobstructed view from the porch at all times!!!

I would be remiss to not mention Amy, the innkeeper, her younger sister, and Cherrie, who was there working with character and joy at all times of the day. They put in long hours, and quality, hard work into this labor of love, and create a very pleasant experience for their guests, from us the "first-timers" to our new friends the Silvons, who have only been going there for about 20 years.

Go to the Summer Cottage; you can't miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Location- The location was great-one block away from the beach and close enough for us to walk to Washington Street Mall and the historic district. However, there is no parking lot onsite which was annoying as we had to park a few blocks away.

Room-We stayed in the wicker garden room. One note-the room is very, very small so if you plan on spending time at the B&B then I would pick elsewhere. I'm sure the garden area is very nice at other times but it poured on Friday turning it into a mosquito breeding ground. Otherwise the garden room has a small private garden area for the guests to enjoy.

Food-The breakfast was adequate but definitely nothing spectacular-fruit, yogurt, granola, an egg strata, and bacon. If you're really into the breakfasts at B&B's then I would pass. We actually skipped it on our second day. They also advertise tea service which was lemonade and cookies.

Overall, we enjoyed our visit and would return. However, I wouldn't be opposed to going to a different B&B either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at the Summer Cottage Inn the weekend of March 15-17, 2013. Cape May was putting on a Sherlock Holmes weekend and this bed and breakfast was part of the package. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to find some time to go back. I can't believe how close Summer Cottage Inn is to EVERYTHING. The outdoor mall, restaurants, bars, and beach are all within walking distance.
The breakfasts in the morning were great and the whole B&B smelled wonderfully delicious. The innkeeper (I think her name was Amy) was helpful and polite. Her baked goods were phenomonal and she shared one of her recipes with me that I can't wait to try.
The inn was very clean and cozy. The fireplace in the main area is very welcoming and I can just imagine reading a book in front of it. My only complaint is that we didn't have more time to enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPrincess3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A wonderful experience for our anniversary. The Summer Cottage Inn is very quaint, clean and affordable. The host (Margie) was gracious and very nice. The breakfast was "buffet style" that offered plenty of hot/cold food (egg/cheese casserole, bacon, muffins, assorted fruit), hot coffee/tea, and juice (orange & cranberry). The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The only issue I had was parking, as there isn't any onsite parking. If you are going on a busy weekend, you might have to park about half-mile away, north on Columbia. I highly recommend the Summer Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just returned from a weekend in Cape May, NJ. Can't say enough about the Summer Cottage Inn, Bed and Breakfast. From the moment we arrived, Margie, the Inn's Manager was inviting and courteous. She promptly warmly greeted us and graciously showed us to our room. The Inn is Victorian with all the expected features of a Circa 1869 home. Upon entering the common rooms were filled with antiques of that era and cozy, welcoming furnishings. Our room on the second floor offered a huge king-sized bed, rarely found in Inn's of this nature. The room was decorated with mahagony accents and with three windows was light and airy. There is a small kitchen on the third floor with a refrigerator and coffee pot for guests to share. As well, there were wine glasses and coffee mugs available for use. All the rooms have a private bathroom and airconditioning.
The atmosphere was perfect for couples looking for a quiet, peaceful retreat.
For the romantic, background classical music was continually played which is heard from the wonderful spacious porch. The porch contained plentiful seating for relaxing and enjoying the sights of Columbia Avenue and warm summer breeze.
Before dinner each evening my husband and I very much enjoyed sitting on the rocking chairs there.
In fact, Margie took some time to talk with us on the porch one evening. She is friendly and warm and went out of her way to be gracious to her guests.
As well, the Inn's location is perfect to spend a day at the beach or walk to the many shops, restaurants, etc. There is no need to drive since everything is within walking distance.
In addition, the Inn provides a buffet breakfast which provided an array of homemade foods.
Most especially enjoyed the stuffed french toast casserole. I believe some of the items were made by Margie.
I highly recomment the Summer Cottage Inn as a perfect B&B choice in Cape May, NJ if you appreciate a memorable B & B quality vacation.

Room Tip: Although did not see other rooms, our room faced the front of the inn that offered a nice breeze, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pmv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrison

Property: The Harrison
Address: 613 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrison 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the newly renovated Inn, "The Harrison," formerly "The Summer Cottage Inn". We are delighted to invite you to stay with us where you will be surrounded by Victorian Elegance complimented by Contemporary Luxuries. Our rooms are appointed with luxurious bedding, elegant wall coverings, opulent lighting, and updated bathrooms with marble floors. The Harrison will allow you to relax and step back in time while enjoying modern conveniences. All of our rooms have their own private baths, are fully air conditioned, and include luxury toiletries by Beekman, in wall USB chargers, Bluetooth wireless speaker and alarm clock radios, in-room Iron and Ironing boards, LED flat screen TVs with Cable, free high speed internet and Wi-Fi, and come with access to our pantry for a late night tea or to store your restaurant leftovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrison Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing