We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B”
Review of The Harrison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harrison
Ranked #3 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here just the other night We drove down and got to Cape May by 2 pm. We were able to check in right away with no problems. The living room and seating areas were beautiful with antique furniture, a piano and lots of books and area information. I loved the porch with the swing chair. We enjoyed afternoon tea and snacks on the porch after we checked in. We later went to explore the town and beach area, going into antique shops and a nice book store.

We had dinner at Lobster House which was a great value. $70 for dinner with appetizer, two entrees, dessert and sodas. I loved the location at the marina and the food was excellent. Later on that night we went home to just relax and enjoy time in our room. We wanted to go back and watch a movie but the TV was tiny! That was just one small disappointment but I'd suggest to the owner to make that upgrade.

The next morning we had breakfast which we were kind of disappointed in. At other b&b's we've had really creative and delicious meals so it wasn't what we were expecting. Muffins and fruit were good but the breakfast casserole was a bit soggy. My boyfriend would have prefered eggs cooked to order or even pancakes.

The b&b wasn't fully occupied but we had a lovely conversation with the other guests staying there. We loved that the b&b was on a quiet street and our room, Harrison Cottage, was kind of in it's own nook by the little kitchen area. It was perfect for us to have snack and drinks in the fridge. We never really heard any of the other guests either. Overall decor and ambiance of the b&b was beautiful and peaceful. It has a lot of charming touches like Victorian fashion, hats, pictures, art work etc throughout. It was a unique home and you could tell the owners take pride in it.

I would definitely recommend a vist to Cape May. I'm sure the summer season is very active but the fall is very beautiful as well. Definitely stop by some of the many antique stores! There are a lot of inns to choose from in this area but I would recommend Summer Cottage Inn to anyone. Finding parking was also not a problem for us but I'm sure during busy season that is a hassle.

Room Tip: Harrisson Cottage was private and spacious enough and had a nice big shower. Water pressure was weak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairytale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our first experience at the Summer Cottage Inn. Having vacationed in Cape May for the past 25+ years it is always a gamble to stay at a new bed and breakfast. Well, we won the jackpot with this gamble! We appreciated Aimee, the innkeeper's, friendly, warm, and helpful yet non-intrusive demeanor and felt cared for each day of our six day stay. From a generous breakfast which included an entree and buffet with fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, and sweets to afternoon lemonade or iced tea with a snack, evening wine and cheese, to after hours Keurig availability and a tasty rich dessert every day of the week, we felt like royalty. Our room was comfortable and kept very clean. The front porch had ample seating including tables and chairs along with rocking chairs and a swing to relax on and watch the carriages trot by. An easy walk to the beach and Washington Mall made the location ideal. We're planning our next year's stay already.

-Mary K. & Family

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank MaryK_201383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Summer Cottage Inn for a weekend getaway and had a lovely time. It's in a great location, only a block from the beach, and also very close to the shops on Washington St. The staff were all welcoming (though, admittedly, we never met the innkeeper), and we enjoyed the homemade breakfast (a hot dish, fruit salad, yogurt, granola, bagels, juice) and the afternoon cookies. Our room was very comfortable; our only complaint was that the bed was super squeaky. They also have bikes to use (I would highly suggest this!) and an ample supply of beach towels. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the Summer Cottage Inn last week. The inn is one of our favorite places and we stay there every year for our anniversary. Although the inn is very clean and comfortable the new staff does not seem to be very friendly. The innkeeper never once came out to greet the guests. The assistant would appear and then disappear. There was one staff member that was very friendly and chatted with all of us. Breakfast was ok, the afternoon tea was really lemonade and cookies. At 5:00 wine and cheese is offered. The front porch and rocking chairs are wonderful. The location is perfect for walking to most everywhere in Cape May. We will continue to stay here but I would suggest that the staff become more people friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNSHPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The two of us were making last-minute plans to spend two nights in Cape May, wanting a BandB. The Summer Cottage had a couple of rooms, where most others did not. BIG SURPRISE, and fortunate for us because this is a high-quality place. The Summer Cottage is beautifully located, across the street from The Abbey, one of the most renowned Victorian Houses in Cape May. Summer Cottage is close to the beach and downtown area; it offered an unique (and good) breakfast each day, lemonade and homemade cookies at 3, and a wine and cheese happy hour at 5--really nice feature. The rooms are well-sized, finely appointed, and comfortable!!!

The Summer Cottage brags about their porch, and should. We made very solid new friends during this short stay--it all happened on the porch.

Other reviewers have mentioned parking issues; Cape May has parking issues--applies to virtually all BandBs. Pretty much the only advantage most BandBs might have over the Summer Cottage is room to park two cars in front of the house. However, and interestingly, the prohibition of parking in front of the Summer Cottage brought two significant advantages: 1) easy to load and unload in front of the BandB--i.e., no need to double park on narrow streets; and 2) unobstructed view from the porch at all times!!!

I would be remiss to not mention Amy, the innkeeper, her younger sister, and Cherrie, who was there working with character and joy at all times of the day. They put in long hours, and quality, hard work into this labor of love, and create a very pleasant experience for their guests, from us the "first-timers" to our new friends the Silvons, who have only been going there for about 20 years.

Go to the Summer Cottage; you can't miss.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Location- The location was great-one block away from the beach and close enough for us to walk to Washington Street Mall and the historic district. However, there is no parking lot onsite which was annoying as we had to park a few blocks away.

Room-We stayed in the wicker garden room. One note-the room is very, very small so if you plan on spending time at the B&B then I would pick elsewhere. I'm sure the garden area is very nice at other times but it poured on Friday turning it into a mosquito breeding ground. Otherwise the garden room has a small private garden area for the guests to enjoy.

Food-The breakfast was adequate but definitely nothing spectacular-fruit, yogurt, granola, an egg strata, and bacon. If you're really into the breakfasts at B&B's then I would pass. We actually skipped it on our second day. They also advertise tea service which was lemonade and cookies.

Overall, we enjoyed our visit and would return. However, I wouldn't be opposed to going to a different B&B either.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at the Summer Cottage Inn the weekend of March 15-17, 2013. Cape May was putting on a Sherlock Holmes weekend and this bed and breakfast was part of the package. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to find some time to go back. I can't believe how close Summer Cottage Inn is to EVERYTHING. The outdoor mall, restaurants, bars, and beach are all within walking distance.
The breakfasts in the morning were great and the whole B&B smelled wonderfully delicious. The innkeeper (I think her name was Amy) was helpful and polite. Her baked goods were phenomonal and she shared one of her recipes with me that I can't wait to try.
The inn was very clean and cozy. The fireplace in the main area is very welcoming and I can just imagine reading a book in front of it. My only complaint is that we didn't have more time to enjoy!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelPrincess3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,243 reviews
1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#17 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrison

Address: 613 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £155 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrison 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the newly renovated Inn, "The Harrison," formerly "The Summer Cottage Inn". We are delighted to invite you to stay with us where you will be surrounded by Victorian Elegance complimented by Contemporary Luxuries. Our rooms are appointed with luxurious bedding, elegant wall coverings, opulent lighting, and updated bathrooms with marble floors. The Harrison will allow you to relax and step back in time while enjoying modern conveniences. All of our rooms have their own private baths, are fully air conditioned, and include luxury toiletries by Beekman, in wall USB chargers, Bluetooth wireless speaker and alarm clock radios, in-room Iron and Ironing boards, LED flat screen TVs with Cable, free high speed internet and Wi-Fi, and come with access to our pantry for a late night tea or to store your restaurant leftovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Harrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrison Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing