We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth coming back to”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victorian Lace Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Lace Inn
Ranked #19 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
“Worth coming back to”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We have been coming to the Victorian Lace Inn for the past few summers and now feel our summer would not be complete without at least one visit to this fabulous B&B! Weather permitting a delicious breakfast is served outside on the front porch. In inclement weather breakfast is served in the formal dining room. The rooms are spacious and clean. Each room has its own television and refrigerator. Free high speed internet is also a nice touch. The staff is professional and very helpful! Even when you have completed your stay at the Inn and checked out, you are still welcome the use of their beach towels, chairs and outdoor shower. Since we like to go on the beach one last time before hitting the road we consider this a big convenience which puts this B&B over the top!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cape_May_NJ_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    18
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
40
112
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2009

My family of 4 returned today from our 3 night stay at the VLI and we're still thinking about it! We had such a wonderful time. Everything was perfect from the service to the location. The Inn is ideally located (1 block to beach) and walking to shopping/dinner on the Mall is a beautiful stroll through historic Cape May. We will definately return. This was our daughters' first stay at an "Inn" (ages 11 & 8) and they truly enjoyed their experience. Breakfast on the porch was enjoyable and delicious. The owners and Deborah and staff were so pleasant and Deborah's recommendations for restaurants were perfect for our family. We stayed in the Sand Castle 1 BR condo and it was perfect for our family of 4. Next time we may try one of the other suites merely to try something different, but at the same time, staying at the Inn. Thanks to the wonderful staff and owners at VLI to making beautiful memories for our family.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myscreenname09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2009

My 15 year old daughter and I had a wonderful time at the Victorian Lace Inn. Our room was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast on the porch each morning was lovely from the deliscious food to the friendly service provided by the delightful owners. The beach is right around the corner as is shopping, restaurants and even a movie theater. Our stay was perfect and we definately will be going back soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapdragon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Victorian Lace Inn. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and fully equipped. In the Leitrim suite, we had a huge second story porch all to ourselves, which was perfect for stargazing with the family at night. Our daughter was so thrilled with her little old-fashioned bedroom, we nearly couldn't get her to the beach. Breakfast on the porch was terrific, as was the kitchen in our room. The staff was warm and very welcoming. They happily offered an alternative to the breakfast for our daughter, who is rather selective in her tastes. The hotel is only a block from the beach and the staff was very helpful in directing us on where to go for the grocery store and bike rentals, etc. We would love to visit again next summer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libraryjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This is our fifth year staying at the VLI. We have stayed in the inn and at both of the condiminiums. Carrie and the staff are wonderful, the breakfasts are superb and the location a short walk to the beach. The rooms are clean, well maintained and nicely decorated. Planning to return again next year!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryHHPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We have stayed at the Inn a few times in the last few years and have never been disappointed. The Inn is very clean, the Innkeeper and her staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are wonderful. This recent visit we stayed in the Bantry Cottage which was perfect for a couple. We had our own deck and entrance which was different than a visit to the main inn. However we still enjoyed the comforts of the Inn's breakfast and afternoon sweets! We have found our place to stay in Cape May and will look no further. Our next visit we will try the Cork Suite which looks magnificent.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kac519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I believe we wore out our welcome before we even arrived. When we did arrive we were not welcomed and no introduction was provided only a request of payment for our remaining balance. A tour was given of the Sand Castle Condo we stayed and then left. Service was not provided (mostly a misscommunication - twice) and no thank-you for your stay was ever mentioned. I believe we met the owner Carrie, but she never introduced herself. Breakfast was delivered to us because children were not permitted in the dining room only on the front porch. It was a chilly weekend, so we had it delivered and not even a good morning was uttered. Upon our departure the only thing mentioned was our check-out time was 11. Perhaps because we were not staying at the main house or because we came with children but we did not feel the one bit welcome and the 600 dollars I paid for two nights did not feel worth it in the least. The condo was clean and it was nice to have a fully equiped kitchen. Unfortunately, the hospitality was so poor to us, that I would not recommend this place or ever repeat my stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4fun3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
609-884-1772, Owner/Innkeeper at Victorian Lace Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2009
We too are disappointed - disappointed that this guest did not have a good experience with us. We are one of the few bed and breakfast inns in Cape May that welcome children and we delight in having families stay with us. We are not able to accommodate children under five years of age in the main house but we do have a cottage and Sand Castle Suites that are perfect for families with small children. When we are unable to serve breakfast on the porch, we deliver breakfast to these families.

We are proud of our staff. The staff member who checked this party in has been with us for over ten years. She is a real favorite of guests who look forward to seeing her when they return year after year. The tour mentioned in this review is part of our welcome to the Inn. Instead of just giving a key and sending guests to "fend for themselves" in their accommodation, we walk them to their suite and show them all the rooms including the bedrooms, baths, and kitchen to make sure that everything is to their liking and to see if they have any questions. We also let them know what time we will be serving or delivering breakfast. As stated in our confirmations, we do ask for payment upon arrival. With regard to check-out, it is the policy of the Victorian Lace Inn to bid our guests goodbye, check that they enjoyed their stay, and wish them a safe trip home. However, we were not able to do that with this guest as they did not return the key to us, left it in their suite, and left without us even knowing it.

I am sincerely sorry that these folks felt that we were inhospitable. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and service as you can see from other reviews online. Hopefully, the children in this group enjoyed themselves. We think Cape May is great place for children and always look forward to beach season when families come to visit.

Carrie O'Sullivan
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
207 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Lace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Lace Inn

Property: Victorian Lace Inn
Address: 901 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Carrie, Owner/Innkeepers invite you to Victorian Lace Inn, an all suite Inn just five doors from the beach featuring spacious one and two bedroom suites, all with fireplace, kitchenette, and private bath. Two suites have lovely ocean views and some offer jacuzzi tubs. In the summer, enjoy a relaxed conversation and a cool drink on our wrap around porch with ocean views. In the cooler months, curl up by a crackling fire to enjoy our homemade afternoon refreshmentsGetaway packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victorian Lace Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing