We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
35
6
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
6
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2010

My husband and I went to Cape May to recuperate from a busy year. We had stayed in other B & B's, in many other places as well as in Cape May, but this one was by far the most enjoyable. White Dove Cottage is not huge and impersonal, but quite pretty and very well situated on a quiet gaslit street. The beach and mall are an easy walk which makes morning power walks an easy activity as you work up an appetite for breakfast. The accommodations are attractive, comfortable and like a second home (without the housework!). The breakfasts are among the best I have ever eaten and I am already missing them. Alison was friendly and knowledgeable without being intrusive. We appreciated her advice on places to go, where to rent bikes, etc. We have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This particular B&B was at one time associated with my husband's family. We thought we'd stay there once as a touchstone then never again. Now, I'm not sure we'd ever stay anywhere else!
We were in the Princess Jillian room with a King bed. The space was ample and we lacked for nothing in terms of accommodation. We simply couldn't have been more comfortable. Coffee and breakfast in the morning was never less than special. This was our favorite, conversing with Alison Bjork, and on our last day, her mother Joan about Cape May, its history and the house. We spent our days exploring the town and surrounding area. Dinner recommendations were always spot on. We finished each evening relaxing in the sitting room for a time. Had the weather been warmer we would have been hard to dislodge from the front porch. An overall exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

This B and B was the ultimate get away experience for us! Wonderful location, beautiful appointments, helpful, informed owners, and the FOOD....beyond compare!!!!! I would definitely return, again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funinthesuntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My daughter (26 yrs.) and I wanted a getaway for 3 nights at the beach and we agreed upon Cape May since I had vacationed there before. Needless to say, I adore Cape May for being mostly residential with a great wide sandy beach, good swimming water, and some waves. However, what sets Cape may apart from most beach areas in the world is the quaint and historic town with many traditional Georgian and Victorian homes, a long beachside promenade, a great variety of good restaurants in various price categories, antique shops, clothing boutiques, biking trails, bird refuge area, and being able to walk nearly everywhere, once you settle into your B&B.

However our trip was highlighted by our magnificent B & B, Alison and her mother, Joan, the owners who live on-site and run their B&B as a personal home. All of the bedrooms and main areas are decorated tastefully with a variety of antiques, hand needlework (by Joan), paintings, photographs and many collections (china dogs, wooden horses, hand painted chairs, silver, rare blue glass). This B&B is maintained perfectly and is spotlessly clean. In addition, you have many extras usually expected in 5 star lodgings such as pretty containers on lotion, shampoo, soap, shower cap, and luscious towels, hand clothes and face clothes. In addition, Joan supplies thick, large beach towels, comfortable beach chairs, and an outdoor shower with HOT water too! The house has a nice wide porch with comfortable rocking chairs which overlooks Hughes, a quiet tree-lined street with many Historic Georgian and Victorian homes. White Dove has a great location which is just 2 -3 blocks from most restaurants, the beach, Carpenters Lane, and the playhouse.

Now for the breakfasts....superb! We began with wonderful fresh fruit and yogurt topping, and each day the following selections were featured….Eggs Benedict, French Toast served atop warm apple slices and a flower basket of thin ham that contained a poached egg with a bit of cheese...absolutely delicious. We also enjoyed a variety of fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, and each day a different homemade baked sweet.

Alison and Joan have thought of all the creature comforts to make one happy.....from candies in the front hall, to a lovely small table on the porch to enjoy your afternoon tea and sweet or, take-out lunch / dinner, to wine glasses in the room, and a refrigerator on each floor for fruit or drinks you may want to have on hand.

Alison and Joan are very friendly, welcoming, and helpful in every way. They are both able to direct you to nearly any interest you might have during your visit. It was a joy to stay at the White Dove Cottage and I plan to return soon!

Bonnie
McLean, Virginia

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UVAMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Great accomodations, gracious and knowledgable hosts, delicious breakfasts, close to boardwalk, mall, and ocean!

Stayed: August 2009
Thank anthonyfarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews