We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant below Par”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We loved this hotel - but the service in the restaurant, both dinner and breakfast, was terrible. To wait an hour for the appetizer is unacceptable, and then almost as long for the entree.
The kids (part of the problem) serving were very friendly (the guys); very offhand (the girls) but all were battling the desperately slow service from the kitchen, and forever having to make excuses. There didn't appear to be anybody of maturity, experience or with management capability to oversee the entire food service chain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

I am sorry about your disappointing experience in the Blue Pig Tavern. Please give us a try next time you are in Cape May, it sounds like this was an unusual night.

Thank you for your review, I will be sure to pass this along to our restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

My first time to the Jersey shore and very impressed with Caqe May. The area is a little more 30 something plus. Kids were very young for the most part or non existant. Which it does not offer very much for the teenage group so what I saw made sense. This was trip was a long weekend with my girlfriend. The hotel was my decision after much research online.

We had a room with a balcony and ocean view. The balcony was accessable by a window/door combination. The bathroom was very room and nice. Aveda bath products were provided. The bed was queen size and very comfortbale with nice pillows and duvet. We had lunch there twice and drinks once. The drinks were in the boiler room which I guess used to be the boiler room. The hotel did a great job transforming this into a fun place with nice vibe. Lunch was on the beach both days, though a limited menu the food came hot and tasted good. There are many great restaurants within walking distance as well.

If you are not from NJ, then you may not know that nothing is on the beach. All of the beach hotels are across the street. Also, though not much you do have to pay to gain access to the beach.

This place had all of the wonderful east coast resort charm you could hope for and none of the "Jersey Shore" stereotypical scene.

Room Tip: Ocean view is not directly on the ocean but about 200 yds away. Still worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertFan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Your comments are great, thanks so much. We pride ourselves on the comfortable beds & linens, they are for sale in our Tommy''s Folly Home Store.

Cape May is unique compared to other Jersey Shore towns, for the most part we do not have properties on the beach side, everything is across the street. This provides a view of the ocean to everyone. I think that makes us special too!

I am glad you had a wonderful visit and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I arrived at our hotel room only to find human excrement on the toilet from the previous guests. The hotel manager compensated us with a free breakfast.

The hotel advertises to have a "private beach" I can assure you this could not be far from the truth. The "private" beach was closed for a lifeguard competition for 3 out of the four days we were there. We got kicked out of the water twice even when swimming in the area that staff said would be okay for guests. We were forced to walk far down the beach where it was crowded in order to go in the water. There was no warning of this lifeguard competition when making our reservation otherwise we would not have made them. When discussing the issue with hotel manager, we were told that he and hotel staff had no idea that the beach would be closed. After making absolutely no attempt to compensate, he stated that his number one priority was to keep the guests happy.

After a 4 night stay and a bill of over 2,000, we had one day of luxury on the beach. We left extremely disappointed and ripped off.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mrmajestic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

The beaches in Cape May are public, we never advertise them as private, we do advertise them as relaxing, with complimentary beach service, towels, chairs & umbrellas. We can control a lot of things but unfortunately during your visit we couldn't control the relaxing portion.

Regarding the Lifeguard Competition, we were not given notice that the events would be on our beach until Thursday. At that time we were told only the Thursday activity would affect our guests. Every day we were told something different, it was frustrating and embarrassing to us. We were in contact with the City and Lifeguards each day to try and work out an agreement but to no avail. I am sorry that the beach in front of Congress Hall was affected by this event and that our guests were the ones that suffered.

I am so embarrassed that your bathroom was not 100% perfect when you checked in, it is inexcusable. We will be sure to discuss this with the Housekeeping staff so that it never happens again. I am glad you were able to speak with a manager at the time.

We hope these unusual circumstances do not tarnish the reputation of Congress Hall. It would be wonderful if you gave us another chance to show your our true level of hospitality in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The efficiency units at The Star Inn provide sophistication and all the comforts of a resort property. I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJBlaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

I couldn't agree more! The Star Inn Efficiency units are perfect for families. I strongly recommend you book in advance for next year, they go fast! Thank you for your business and review it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I just returned from a wonderful long weekend at Congress Hall. I hadn't been there in many years and I was happy to see that not much changed. Every moment of our stay was a total pleasure. Check in was quick and easy and we spent the afternoon on the beach until our room was ready. Perfect. From the valets, to the beach staff, to the bartenders every staff member was friendly and accommodating. Clearly the general manager runs a tight ship that runs beautifully. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

We really do appreciate your reviews, thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, Congress Hall strives to cater to every need - you never have to leave the hotel. The hotel charm and staff create a perfect vacation atmosphere. Nothing like going to the beach and not worrying about lounge chairs, towels or umbrellas esp when you have children. The staff sets it up for you and when done at beach, you leave everything and go to the family and adult pool. Poolside waitress service is key as you sip your drink and look out at the beautiful grounds.Love the coffee shop, rocking chairs, brown room, blue pig restaurant, boiler room bar,outdoor showers, the rooms and decor of hotel, fitness room... C.H. for LIFE

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manolitoito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

CH for LIFE - that could be our new motto! Thank you for all your kind words. It is important for us to provide ultimate service at our resort, that is our goal with every guest. Of course we think of CH for LIFE and we are glad you do too! We appreciate you business and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I took my 2 boys for an impromtu one night stay in July and it was unbelievable! The room was very spacious and perfectly appointed. The staff and service could not have been more accomdating and friendly and the food was unbelievable and they really cater to children. I would definitely go back for a longer stay. Highly reccomend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

We love great reviews! Thank you~ We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Congress Hall. Our new conceirge Amanda is fantastic, we are lucky to have her on our staff this year. She knows Cape May and wants to please our guests. That is a perfect combination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
567 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,345 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £98 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing