We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

my husband and I fell in love with Cape May ( as it was our first trip), and Congress Hall just a cherry on the cake.. beautiful grounds, very tasteful style, decor, attention to a detail.
My hat goes off to the owner & management team. One of the best vacations we ever had.. and we traveled the world.

Room Tip: get the ocean view,- very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vera_anselmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

I am so glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Cape May. We work hard to provide our guests with a great experience, we are happy that you had a wonderful stay. We hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

994 - 1,000 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011


I just checked out of Congress Hall and our experience this time was much improved since our stay in June. Your staff was attentive and the amenities (parking,beach,beach service and nightly turn down service) without additional charge was appreciated.  There was flexibility with holding chaise lounges on the beach & poolside. The chair in the room(#310) could use reupholstering but this was a minor concern in the scope of things.  Thanks again for the complimentary night.  

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vjnitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

I am so glad that you gave us another try and it was a great vacation. Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

If you want to rest this is not the place for you. Very noisy. And false promises from management. Not sound proof at all. Lots of little kids screaming and running up and down the halls. Rooms very old and crooked. Our door didn't lock right and was told it would be fixed,was not. Was told the problem with the noisy kids would be taken care of,was not. We wound up staying here because of the faulty advertising we received,we had a room at the Star (also owned by Congress), so because they gave us an "upgrade" and we had booked with one of those money saving .com companies we were trapped. We cut our losses and left a night early.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank angiehYork_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

I am sorry you had such a poor experience at Congress Hall. We work hard to provide an environment that works for everyone, I am sorry we were not able to resolve the noise issues during your stay. If you choose to give us another try I suggest coming mid-week September through June, it is very quiet then and should suit your needs. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

stayed here instead of Sea Crest Inn since they were so rude. Nothing spectacular, but worth the upgrade to deal with pleasant staff. You always get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We loved this hotel - but the service in the restaurant, both dinner and breakfast, was terrible. To wait an hour for the appetizer is unacceptable, and then almost as long for the entree.
The kids (part of the problem) serving were very friendly (the guys); very offhand (the girls) but all were battling the desperately slow service from the kitchen, and forever having to make excuses. There didn't appear to be anybody of maturity, experience or with management capability to oversee the entire food service chain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

I am sorry about your disappointing experience in the Blue Pig Tavern. Please give us a try next time you are in Cape May, it sounds like this was an unusual night.

Thank you for your review, I will be sure to pass this along to our restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My first time to the Jersey shore and very impressed with Caqe May. The area is a little more 30 something plus. Kids were very young for the most part or non existant. Which it does not offer very much for the teenage group so what I saw made sense. This was trip was a long weekend with my girlfriend. The hotel was my decision after much research online.

We had a room with a balcony and ocean view. The balcony was accessable by a window/door combination. The bathroom was very room and nice. Aveda bath products were provided. The bed was queen size and very comfortbale with nice pillows and duvet. We had lunch there twice and drinks once. The drinks were in the boiler room which I guess used to be the boiler room. The hotel did a great job transforming this into a fun place with nice vibe. Lunch was on the beach both days, though a limited menu the food came hot and tasted good. There are many great restaurants within walking distance as well.

If you are not from NJ, then you may not know that nothing is on the beach. All of the beach hotels are across the street. Also, though not much you do have to pay to gain access to the beach.

This place had all of the wonderful east coast resort charm you could hope for and none of the "Jersey Shore" stereotypical scene.

Room Tip: Ocean view is not directly on the ocean but about 200 yds away. Still worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertFan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Your comments are great, thanks so much. We pride ourselves on the comfortable beds & linens, they are for sale in our Tommy''s Folly Home Store.

Cape May is unique compared to other Jersey Shore towns, for the most part we do not have properties on the beach side, everything is across the street. This provides a view of the ocean to everyone. I think that makes us special too!

I am glad you had a wonderful visit and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I arrived at our hotel room only to find human excrement on the toilet from the previous guests. The hotel manager compensated us with a free breakfast.

The hotel advertises to have a "private beach" I can assure you this could not be far from the truth. The "private" beach was closed for a lifeguard competition for 3 out of the four days we were there. We got kicked out of the water twice even when swimming in the area that staff said would be okay for guests. We were forced to walk far down the beach where it was crowded in order to go in the water. There was no warning of this lifeguard competition when making our reservation otherwise we would not have made them. When discussing the issue with hotel manager, we were told that he and hotel staff had no idea that the beach would be closed. After making absolutely no attempt to compensate, he stated that his number one priority was to keep the guests happy.

After a 4 night stay and a bill of over 2,000, we had one day of luxury on the beach. We left extremely disappointed and ripped off.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mrmajestic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

The beaches in Cape May are public, we never advertise them as private, we do advertise them as relaxing, with complimentary beach service, towels, chairs & umbrellas. We can control a lot of things but unfortunately during your visit we couldn't control the relaxing portion.

Regarding the Lifeguard Competition, we were not given notice that the events would be on our beach until Thursday. At that time we were told only the Thursday activity would affect our guests. Every day we were told something different, it was frustrating and embarrassing to us. We were in contact with the City and Lifeguards each day to try and work out an agreement but to no avail. I am sorry that the beach in front of Congress Hall was affected by this event and that our guests were the ones that suffered.

I am so embarrassed that your bathroom was not 100% perfect when you checked in, it is inexcusable. We will be sure to discuss this with the Housekeeping staff so that it never happens again. I am glad you were able to speak with a manager at the time.

We hope these unusual circumstances do not tarnish the reputation of Congress Hall. It would be wonderful if you gave us another chance to show your our true level of hospitality in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
578 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £74 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing