We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Time”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I loved our stay at Congress Hall. The common areas of the hotel are the winners. The lobby and the rocking chairs out side really set the tone. Great bar scene with a very good wine list and killer cocktails. Beach access is awesome. Once you are on site, there is no need for a car as everything is with in walking distance. I think it has great get away appeal for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Upgrades are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
I agree the rocking chairs are special. It is a great place for your morning coffee, happy hour or an after dinner drink. We hope you are able to come back soon to enjoy them again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    345
    136
    42
    43
See reviews for
324
523
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

John,



Thank you for making our stay and wedding anniversary a great experience. Everything was wonderful from the facilities to the staff you truly have a world class resort that takes you back to a simpler time in peoples lives. In our hectic lives your place was truly one of the most relaxing times my wife and I have had in a long time. We are looking forward to coming back to Congress Hall when we will be able to stay for a longer period of time. You should be very proud of your staff they are all wonderful please share our feelings with them.



Anyone that says you need to leave our state to find a true world class resort has never visited Congress Hall.



Thanks again



Tom

Room Tip: Nothing beats a room over looking the ocean and great lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
I will share your comments with our staff, it is great to read your review. We appreciate the compliments. Take care & hope to have you back for a longer stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The Congress Hotel has been a mainstay of Cape May since 1816, and has the grand air of knowing how to pamper their guests. Due to a misbooking at their sister property, The Virginia Hotel, we were graciously offered accomodations at The Congress Hall. The Reservations Manager in fact offered us two options, a room at the Congress or a suite at their cross-street property The Star Inn. We opted for a room at the Congress so as to enjoy the large grounds.

The room:
Pros: a second floor corner room facing north. Cute, quaint and felt as if we were in the upstairs guest room of a family friend. The room was adequate with the 'wishing-to-be-larger' double bed center-placed. It was a clean, minimally decorated, light blue room with white accents reminiscent of a beach house. The bathroom was surprisingly large, and felt homey.
Cons: since it was a corner room, this is where the building felt its age. Sagging floors diagonally to the center of the building left one reminded of walking in those county-fair haunted houses as a child, where the floor walkways were angled such that you had to hold the walls to move. If you have vertigo, stay away from the corner room. Secondly, being situated one floor above the The Blue Pig Tavern, that evening's wedding party appeared to saunter back from where-ever and plop themselves down, jabbering at unbelievably high decibels, for at least an hour and a half...at 2:00a in the morning. I'm surprised the front desk let this go on for so long. Lastly, one cannot avoid the fact that you could hear just about everything else, from the 'cling' of the next room's wine glasses to toilets flushing. In brief, avoid this corner room, or any room near the Tavern...and bring your ear plugs.

Outside of that, the staff is helpful, and willing to help. There are several boutiques located within the Congress, and a spa. The grounds are well maintained and a great place to have a morning coffee seated in a rocking chair. There is complimentary valet parking, and very easy (minutes) walking along Perry St. to the Boardwalk, Carpenters Lane to Jackson St, and a stone's throw from Washington St. Mall. The Congress is well situated.

The Bottom Line: easy decision to stay at the Congress; make sure your room is away from the Tavern, and bring your earplugs. While the noise was difficult and made for a tough night's sleep, I'll give it the benefit of the doubt, as I know what to ask for next time. If you desire a quaint cottage feel with good service, this is for you.

Room Tip: See review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pointe-Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
We appreciate your review. Our staff and night Manager take the noise issue seriously. We want everyone to have a good time but it is important for our guests to have a good night sleep while they are visiting Congress Hall. I am sorry that you did not experience this during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at Congress Hall for a wedding, which was held outside of Congress Hall. The hotel is centrally located in Cape May, close to the beach and just really cute. It's an extremely old hotel, but everything was very clean and fresh. It's also pretty expensive, but I would stay here again for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ocean side of the hotel for a better view. If not you will most likely be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omni81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We would love to have you back. Try booking mid-week in the off season, especially September & October the rates are more reasonable and the beach is beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

If choosing to spend time at one of the New Jersey beaches Congress Hall is still hands down the best overall. From the rooms , food , pool , beach , spa ect. It does not disappoint . The Brown Room has live music on the weekend ...nice touch. Overall the attention to detail make it worth the trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vimatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
We think this is a special place, glad you think so too! Thank you for posting a review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wILKINSBURG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Star ( part of the Congress Hall/Cape May Resorts) is a great place for adults! We spent 4 nites at The Star. Our last evening we spent a the night at Congress Hall (9/3/11) and that was enough! Congress Hall was beautifully furnished, appropriately decorated and immaculately clean..but.. too many badly behaved unsupervised kids! Noisy children at 7 a.m. and 11 p.m! How about an adult swim at the pool from 8-11? How about no children after August 30th? I have recommend The Star/Congress Hall to many people who have enjoyed and stayed at this unique restored grand hotel!

Room Tip: Stay at The Star!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
We have a variety of properties in our collection just for this reason. I am glad you were able to move into the Star Inn which suited your needs. Our reservations team can help find the perfect property when you are visiting Cape May. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I attended a conference here and was not impressed with the facility. The staff was excellent as was the service I received but the hotel is very old and maintenance could have been better. The paint on the columns in the courtyard was peeling and the hotel is dark. I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCRDSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for your review. The columns do need some attention, this will be a winter project. As you can imagine keeping this historic hotel in order takes an army, we are glad to have an excellent staff that serves our guests and maintains the property. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will change your mind and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
694 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing