We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary get away”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary get away”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

What a lovely way to spend a special day in a beautiful room overlooking the ocean with a private balcony. Too beautiful!!! The weather was great,the bed clean and comfortable, the dinner at the Blue Pig delicious. It was perfect.

Room Tip: Ocean view, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momsquaredNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    345
    136
    42
    43
See reviews for
324
522
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Congress Hall is awesome across the board. My wife and I stayed here for the second year in a row. The Brown Room in my opinion makes the whole hotel for their ambiance, drinks, and food. The staff is excellent and the people who visit the hotel are so much fun. The only downside and it's a small one at that is the rooms are not level or "slanted" sort of speak and after you had a couple cocktails in The Brown Room, things can get a little interesting later in the night. There are excellent wineries in the area as well our favorite being Turdo Vineyards. See you all next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

A very unique property because it is so old and beautiful. Next to central shopping area. Pricey compared to some other properties in the neighborhood, but fun to stay there. We went off season and got a lower rate.
I requested a fridge for the room 2 weeks in advance. At check-in, the front desk called housekeeping and they said one was in the room. It was not. The next day we mentioned it to the front desk and they said a fridge would be placed in the room that same day. Never happened. The next day was check-out and I asked them to take off the $5 a day charge. They apologized and took the total of $15 off. This will not stop me from returning during the off season however.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor facing the ocean. Great view in room # 304. King size bed. The hall was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICTOR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I visited Congress Hall during a business trip in May. The rooms were fantastic, beds very comfy, the staff was very accomodating and the food at the Blue Pig was fantastic. Relaxing out front in the rocking chairs with a cup of coffee was an excellent way to start the day. Very much looking forward to returning for vacation and enjoying the rest of what Cape May has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pav1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The brunch was a bit on the expensive side, but the omelet station with fresh crab meat & other fresh ingredients were yummy! The atmosphere was great with live piano music. The wait staff very attentive, especially Veronica. Overall a grand meal in a grand place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mcgon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I surprised my daughter and her fiancé with a birthday weekend at Congress Hall. The hotel staff couldn't be more welcoming. The grounds were beautiful, ambiance was great. They had a wonderful time. For those who want to stay away from the bed and breakfast scene, Congress Hall is a good choice. Steps away from the mall and many great restaurants.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth the difference in price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Congress Hall just before Easter. Since it's centrally located, we didn't use/need our car. We walked each morning on the walk by the ocean; then to shops; and at night, out to dinner.
Upon check-in we did have a few minor requests. All were promptly taken care of to our satisfaction. With the daily $20.00 breakfast voucher, just walk down stairs/or elevator and enjoy a delicious breakfast. Rooms are fine. We had a room with an ocean view. What a pretty sight in the morning!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seethesites50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing