We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and historic”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
West Milford, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy and historic”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at Congress Hall mid-week in October, and the place was bustling. This hotel is charming and historic. It's Oceanside location is perfect, and with the right room, you have a fabulous view of the Atlantic and the promenade. The staff is friendly and courteous. The bar harkens back to the 1920's with warm colors and leather seats. We especially loved the little touches of this hotel - the line of rocking chairs on the front patio, the old-school room key, and the louvred doors to each room. This place was everything it says it is ... And more!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    343
    134
    42
    42
See reviews for
317
522
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a great weekend at Congress Hall. Free Valet parking was a nice feature. They got slammed at 4pm with Check-ins so we grabbed our own bags to the room. Read room feedback to understand why the Very Good rating. The other reviewers are spot on about the atmosphere and entertainment. Nice to see these older style properties still doing well.

Room Tip: Spend the extra bucks to avoid any room with an annex view. It is not a view, it is Noisy, with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, SC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Passing through Cape May in mid October, we researched area hotels on Tripadvisor and selected Congress Hall. It was a great choice. Wonderful location in historic Cape May with great ambiance and rooms. The bar is a great place to meet people or just watch their bartenders mix incredible cocktails at lightning speed.

Will definitely stay there again. Free parking (or valet) is an asset.

Room Tip: Water view rooms would be nice, although we chose village view. Be sure to stop in the bar. Impressi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodyreynolds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our third stay at Congress Hall. It has a fantastic location that is on the beach and across the street from the start of the shopping areas. They have some of the best entertainment options available nightly in the brown room where you can also get a delicious beverage of your choice.

Rooms are comfortable and uniquely decorated. Bathrooms tend to be bigger than average with nice fixtures.

The reason for the FOUR star review vs. FIVE is because of the toilet paper and the beds. Congress Hall must be buying the cheapest paper from Georgia Pacific possible to save on cost. For a nicer hotel they should be buying comfortable toilet paper. It reminded me of being in a public middle school that is cutting costs. Next time I guess we will have to bring our own! The beds also seem a little dated. The one we were sleeping on sloped to the middle.

Get a package with a breakfast credit. The Brown Pig restaurant is delicious! Or check out the Mad Batter for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was our first visit to Cape May and Congress Hall. We stayed for 3 nights to attend a wedding there. We had an adequate room with no view.This hotel is all about Victorian charm. We'll maintained, quaint rooms with a tilt to the floors and comfortable beds. Staff was generally accomodating ,particularly the housekeepers. Front desk was less. The smirk when I asked for a mini bar charge to be removed was not appreciated. Great place to visit.

Room Tip: The entrance is on Congress, not on Beach. Had to park and enter the hotel to get directions. Free v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stikky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was probably my 10th visit to Cape May, most often with my husband, but at other times with my mother, a girl friend, a son. In the past, it was usually at a bed and breakfast, not my husband's favorite venue. So for this "romantic" overnight stay, I chose Congress Hall, and splurged for an ocean view room with a balcony. The positives...the bed was very comfortable, the room was a nice size, it had all the usually amenities, the water pressure was terrific, the view splendid, plus free parking and the NY Times in the morning. Not so great...the people at reception did their job efficiently, but with no warmth (the housekeeping staff was MUCH nicer). I was hoping for the big walk-in shower that was in the hotel photos, but got a tub with shower curtain instead. To get to the balcony, one has to open a window, then the doors underneath, then duck under the open window to get out (and I'm short) . Once there, you see the rusty metal balcony. The other window only opened an inch (no screens, which I guess is not a problem in October, though there were lots of bees still hanging out in the flowering shrubs, but in the summer...). The shops closed early. Heard people talking in the halls at 2 am. Simply put, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 19 month old son in July. We had an amazing time. The pool was perfect for kids and adults. There were lot of families at this hotel during our stay so there are a lot of kids in the pool at times, but there is a small adult only pool as well for those that prefer it. I thought that the service by the pool was good, the staff was always available to help get set up. Some of the towels by the pool were stained. We were paying over $500/night and in this price range, I expected more. Our room was very nice. It was spacious enough for a king bed and the crib that we rented from the hotel. We had a balcony so we had a gorgeous view of the beach and pool area. There were two rocking chairs on the balcony which was a nice touch. The bathroom was large and looked like it had been recently updated. The hotel itself was in excellent condition and the staff does an excellent job of maintaining the historical features of the hotel. The beach is just across the street from the hotel. There is staff to help with chairs, towels, food and beverages. However, you will have to pay for access to the beach. While I understand that the hotel does not own the beach, I am surprised that they have not been able to work something out so that people who stay at their properties do not have to pay a fee to use the beach. It wasn't expensive, but it is something to know. The hotel and rooms were immaculate and the service was very good. We had dinner at the Blue Pig one night, and I thought the food was excellent. Additionally, we enjoyed getting coffee and baked goods in the morning from the coffee shop in the lobby. It was very convenient to be able to pick up breakfast quickly and go and eat on the patio or poolside. We can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#18 of 37 in Cape May
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing