We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Treat”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Haddon Heights, NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Christmas Treat”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Because of a late change in plans, my wife and I ended up staying at Congress Hall for Christmas vacation. It turned out to be a wonderful and very Christmasy experience! We spent four nights in a room overlooking the hotel's 35 foot Christmas Tree on the Great Lawn, with the colorful Shopping Village and the ocean as background. While the building is very old and a bit quirky, i.e. uneven wooden floors, we really enjoyed the Holiday adventure. All of our meals, including Christmas dinner, were eaten in "The Blue Pig Tavern" and added another great touch Christmas touch. We will definitely return to Congress Hall and Cape May for Christmas!

Room Tip: Second floor facing the Great Lawn and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dondzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    339
    134
    41
    42
See reviews for
313
515
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Although I didn't like the all the up and down steps just to get to the room after taking the elevator then down a long hallway. Not for those who have a hard time with steps. The private deck was big and over looked the ocean, just a shame all the bulky power lines took over the view. And the kitchen is very tiny. Its located a few steps from shopping at some of the cutest gift stores and restaurants along Washington street. The Blue Pig Tavern inside the Congress hall was nice but pricey. They state its kid friendly but honestly I didn't see anything for kids, my 11 and 12 year old would have been bored. The gift shops in the hotel were very expensive I'd be afraid to take kids in them. Would I stay there again? Not sure...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was our first week long stay at Congress Hall. We normally go for small weekend trips in the Fall or during Christmas. Overall really nice time! Loved the complimentary beach set up with towels, chairs and umbrellas. Blue Pig is also never a disappointment for breakfast and dinner. A few things in the room could be updated. Our room was very dusty, with cobwebs on the lamps. Noticed a lot of scuff marks on the walls. Still, overall, Congress Hall is in a great location and is always a fun experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WDWfan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walden, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Congress Hall Hotel for a wedding in February. To be honest having lived in New Jersey most of my life I really didn't think there was a reason to go to Cape May in February. The wedding party price induced us to stay. Also the convenience of being able to drunkenly stumble directly from the Ballroom to our hotel room was a plus. Stumbling isn't much of a problem in the hotel because the historic building has charmingly uneven floors. Our room was as lumpy as a miniature skate park.

The building was apparently under renovation at the time, so the town view king size room was unavailable. We were upgraded to an ocean view king size room. The room itself was easily one of the largest hotel rooms I've stayed in. The Bathroom featured a tub and shower.

Couple of minor issues. The TV had a technical problem with it, but we didn't watch too much TV. Drunks, not in our wedding party spent about 10 minutes yelling on the veranda. Once we called the front desk, and notified them they took care of the problem immediately.

We sampled the food both in the Boiler room bar which was closed for the Wedding Cocktail hour and at dinner in the ball room. The local scallops wrapped in bacon were extremely good. The main entree of pork was drizzled with a red wine reduction sauce that was savory and sweet and matched the pork to perfection.

Between the food, the comfortable room, and the free wifi, something big hotel chains have been skimping on, I would highly recommend the Congress Hall Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianRWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key west
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just so wonderful to always come back to this Historic and Well Maintained Property.
From the Hotel Lobby , the Brown Room Bar and the Blue Pig..
It's an old world traditional feeling in our Modern World..
A great job by all the staff.
Keep up the good work..
Great Special Offers on their website..
Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: check the congress hall website.. they have several hotels and inns under their umbrella of capymayr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocono Mt., PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Glitches happen and when those glitches impact my credit card, it tends to taint my view of my stay.

We've wanted to stay at Congress Hall since the renovations began some 16 years ago and finally we had the opportunity to do so last week. The ambiance did not disappoint. Loved the room and the staff with whom we had personal interaction. The window which opened onto the balcony was wonderful, and of course we sat out there even in temps in the teens because it was just so perfect.

However...

I booked the room via an online travel company for a decent rate, but then when I checked the hotel website, found I could get a better one through them. I cancelled the online booking without a hitch and booked via the Congress Hall website...and was charged twice for a single room. Glitch number one. I called and spoke with someone who immediately jumped on the defensive. I was kind. I was polite. I get that these things happen. I just wanted to be assured that the second room would be removed from my credit card and instead I was talked down to as if I were a child. I was inches away from cancelling. I wish I had gotten the gentleman's name.

Upon check in, we were asked if we wanted the key to the minibar. Feeling we had no need for it, I refused. Imagine my surprise two days after our trip to discovered a charge for the minibar on my credit card. Did one of the maids get thirsty and help herself to a $5 bottle of Fiji water?

In addition to that charge, there were two additional charges for lodging. Now, all this occurred AFTER I'd paid the full balance two months ago. When I called to rectify this, the woman I spoke with was cordial and said those charges would be removed but she could not explain to me why they had appeared.

Again, loved the hotel, but if you book, keep a close eye on your credit card for these kinds of glitches.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view and shoot for second floor (no balcony on the third floor and the first is ground...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCapeMay, Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. Mistakes do occur, but how it is handled is what leaves the largest impression. Being in the hospitality industry, it is our duty to accommodate each guest with outstanding customer service and unfortunately we fell short of that when working to fix the mistakes that were occurring. Glitches are sometimes out of our control, but how we work with the guest to resolve is in our control and most important. We apologize for the inconvenience you were caused and assure you that your comments are being addressed and we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with family and grandkids. Beautifully decorated for Christmas complete with winter wonderland train ride, carousel, sleigh, and santa shoppes. Our room was large and refreshing Victorian style. Bedding was crisp and comfortable. Free valet parking. Our package included the train ride and hot chocolate for 4 along with $20 voucher for breakfast at the blue pig tavern. Would stay there again. Stay was courteous and professional.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wbracco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
665 reviews
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing