We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Higlhy recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
new zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Higlhy recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

We had only booked for 2 nights but were so impressed that we stayed another night. This grand hotel was like stepping back in time with old fashioned service and beautiful surroundings. Staff were always helpful and the rooms were large and had great beds! We had a 4th floor room were ovely views over the beach.

  • Liked — the setting and gracious furnishings
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sherylnewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    329
    127
    41
    42
See reviews for
297
493
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County
Level Contributor
333 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2008

I rarely use the “5” or “1” on these reviews because nearly all properties have to fall somewhere in the middle out of sheer statistical probability. However, I am going with the “5” on Congress Hall. In terms of location, out front is the beach and out back is the pedestrian mall. Although expensive there is nothing missing from the property: big, clean rooms, a great bar, two nice pools, rocking chairs on the porch, rocking chairs on the great lawn and a chair-and-umbrella setup service on the beach out front and a modern-retro night club called “The Boiler Room” in the basement. The décor brilliantly captures the history (it was first a hotel in 1816) yet also appears clean and modern. Unlike much of Cape May it delivers a sense of its history without feeling worn. The Blue Pig restaurant made a fabulous breakfast and the interior shops were friendly and well-thought out. Although I wouldn’t recommend Cape May as a vacation spot as strongly I would once have, if you going (and can afford it) stay at Congress Hall.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewestchestarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
262 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

Cape May is a great place for families. There are many good restaurants and quaint gift shops. The grounds at Congress Hall are really nice and lively. The rooms are in good condition (not great) and the location is ideal for a visit to Cape May.

  • Liked — Great locations. Lovely grounds.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

This hotel is great! My husband and I had stayed here once the summer of 2006, just to watch a friends' new baby while they attended a wedding here. But we decided to come back for an impromptu mid-week stay, just the two of us. This is a close drive for us (we're from the Philly burbs), just about 2 hours. And we find Cape May to be really charming, the complete opposite of other over-populated beach destinations on the NJ shore.
If you are looking for something brand-spanking new and contemporary, this hotel (and this town!) is not for you- everything here is a little vintage including the refinished tubs, marble slab counters, the old-fashioned rocking chairs on the porch and the demographic staying here! But by no means should this be a turn-off- this is a gorgeous hotel with great amenities like pool side service and beach service, including complementary set up and use of a CH umbrella, chairs and towels. And a lunch menu for oceanview noshing from their in-house restaurant, Blue Pig Tavern. This property is meticulously kept up, inside and out, and the location can't be beat. A beautiful stretch of beach out front, and Washington Street kitty corner from the valet area. Lots of great restaurants in walking distance, including Martini beach for tapas and the Mad Batter for breakfast on the porch.
September is a great time to visit, we heard it's mostly locals finally emerging after the hoards of summer tourists who are now 'back-to-school.' And the weather was really great!
As far as the rooms, they are refurbed the way you'd do it in your own home- vintage touches with modern comforts. Beachy colors are sweet, not psychedelic. We originally booked an Oceanview, but the room had two double beds so we opted for a Townview which was a corner room and I think we actually enjoyed it more! Opt for 2nd or 3rd floor- higher ceilings and I think the rooms are a little bigger. We booked too late for these, but still enjoyed our 4th floor room quite a bit.
Special bonus: awesome Aveda toiletries, including bath salts! You can bet I made room in my luggage for them to come home with me!
Congress Hall is a gem in the sweet Victorian town of Cape May- enjoy it!!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmorgan475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

We did not actually spend the night at Congress Hall but did attend a fantastic wedding and reception. It was beautiful and elegant. The servers and food were excellent. After a long night of festivities we misplaced our camera and video camera. We looked around and asked a few people but we were traveling with a large group back to Ocean City and didn't have time to check with the front desk. The following morning we called the hotel. Later in the day Justin called us back and told us that they had been found. We received them the next business day! We were thrilled! The bride and groom did spend the night and loved it.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Kneiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

I can not rave enough about this hotel

We originally booked a small motel to save money, what a mistake!! I walked right in to the lobby they had a beautiful room available for $100 more a night, but oh my was it worth it!! the beds are wonderful, the rooms as so cool, the bar, lobby, pool, resturants are immaculate, tremendously relaxing, who needs the Carribean???

LOVED IT, and will go back again every year!! Tradition now started!

  • Liked — Chic, relaxed, comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjmn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseland, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

We recently returned from a 5 day stay at Congress Hall. This was our 4th year at the hotel. I have two children ages 6 and 9. We absolutely love Congress Hall and Cape May! Cape May is our favorite place for our summer vacation. We have always had the best family vacations there. We had stayed at other decent hotels on the strip but Congress Hall is in a whole different league. It is more $ but is so worth it. The hotel staff are very accomodating and attentive. The hotel is lovely and charming. You feel like you are at resort. The rooms are clean, well decorated and large. The beds are very, very comfortable. The bar is terrific. They have entertainment nearly every night. My kids love to sit and listen to the music and sometimes dance. My husband and I love to have our after dinner drink here before heading off to bed. The restaurant is the Blue Pig and the food is very good. We love to sit on the patio. The pool is just a treat. They have pool attendants that set up a lounge for you with towels and bar & food service. Jazz music is played as background music. Very relaxing. There are also attendants at the beach that set you up with chairs, tables and umbrellas at no cost. We always enjoy the other guests. Everyone seems to be enjoying their vacation here and just in great moods. There is nothing I can think of as a negative. We can't wait until next year...we already booked it and requested the same room!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank joanrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing