We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamonds Are A Girls Best Friend”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I titled this review "Diamonds Are A Girls Best Friend" because I view Congress Hall Hotel, its owner and many staff as friends. I am a local but every opportunity I have to share Congress Hall Hotel and its sister properties (especially the cottages) with family and friends, I do. I have rented the Virginia Cottages (a sister property to Congress Hall) for several events, including holidays, a wedding (cousin had her wedding at Congress Hall) and just for a Girlfriends Getaway with 12 of my friends in Cool Cape May. We had a blast! But, Congress Hall in particular is one of the most beautiful hotels at the Jersey Shore. I may be a little biased because I used to work as a sales manager for the property, but I believe my opinion is an honest one, and I'd like to think that my former clients are still returning to enjoy this bright shining diamond on the beach. Kudos to you Curtis Bashaw, Patrick Logue and John Daily and a team of people who truly get what travelers want to experience and enjoy while they are vacationing away from home i.e. comfortable and luxurious bedding, friendly and courteous staff, delicous food, great drinks, lively entertainment, an inviting pool, shopping and spa. What more can a girl or anyone for that matter ask from a friend? 10 Carat Diamonds don't disappoint!

Room Tip: Any room as Congress Hall is a room you will enjoy! My tip is to bring someone special to share it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherSpaulding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The first time I stayed here was for the ocean drive 10 mile run a couple of years ago. I only booked it because they were a host hotel and located at the start line. What a great accidental find. You could spend a weekend here even if the weather was bad and have an amazing time. The restaurant and the lounge are both worth checking out.
The rooms aren't all that big, but so clean you could eat off the floors. It's not the cheapest place to stay in Cape May but I won't stay anywhere else again, and we've been to a few others. It is absolutely worth the few extra $$.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmac0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited Cape May for a wedding and chose Congress as the wedding reception was also there. We had a room on the top (4th) floor with direct views of the ocean which was lovely, and a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was also spacious, with a slightly wonky floor that added to the character.

It was a lovely venue for a wedding with cocktail hour being on the lawn, again overlooking the ocean. After the wedding we went down to The Boiler Room and thoroughly enjoyed the live band. We ordered room service which was also delicious, and breakfast in bed with a carafe of mimosa was a fabulous way to start the day!

When we returned home my husband realized he had left some of his clothes in a drawer in the hotel room The hotel responded quickly and mailed them back to us in a timely manner. I was impressed with this good customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I am in the hotel business and while I am writing this review late, it was a totally great stay. This place has a few things other hotels in the US don't have. 1. History, it was built in 1814. It's housed presidents, governors, etc.
2. Class. The pics do not do it justice.
3. Management, this place is run better than any hotel I've been around. Working with a new staff every year and keeping or training 5 star, 5 diamond quality is terrific.
4.location, it is in a great local on the beach and just great!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nydaytripper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What isn't to love about Congress Hall. Something about this place draws my husband and I there anytime we feel the need to just getaway for a few nights. I love sitting by the pool or renting a chair and umbrella on the beach. Walking in town is always a treat. The place is just charming!

Room Tip: Book early! Stay on right wing away from banquet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel has a ton of charm, bright rooms and a historic feel. The location is great and an easy walk to the beach and shopping. The rooms, while pretty, don't offer much in peace and quiet, but are decorated simply and beautifully.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked a night in Congress Hall. We were lucky to get ocean front king bed on the 400 level. The room was clean, simple and beautiful. Bed was great, sheets and pillows were even better. It was the perfect getaway. Walk to great restaurants, Tisha's to be exact. Great shopping and ice cream right across the street. I also like the free parking they offered. Valet will keep car all day if you check out at 12:00. You can stay formthe whole day with great parking across from beach. I really enjoyed the visit and will go again. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £66 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing