We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relatively good, but buyer beware.”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Star Inn, part of the Cape Resorts group. We were there for 3 nights, 6/4,5,6,/2014 . We have returned to Cape May every year since 1988, and love Congress Hall and the whole environment there.
Upon checking out, we stood in line politely to settle up our bill. The lone clerk asked if we wanted a printed receipt. I said "yes". It was handed to me folded, and on we left to drive 275 miles back home to northcentral PA.
After getting back home, I took a closer look at the invoice, and noticed that we'd been charged a $30 "Room key deposit" for each of the 3 nights, but were given credit for only 1 night. Thus, a $60 overpaid charge.
I called back the following day to point out the error, the person on the phone pulled up the account, was apologetic, and fixed the overage right away. But had I not noticed the error, it would have been an error to the advantage of the property. I have to wonder how often this "error" occurs?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lawrence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCapeMay, Vice President of Operations at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Lawrence A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for incorrectly posting three key deposit charges. This was done in error and was corrected after your departure, although key deposits are typically removed upon departure. We should have presented you with a correct bill from the start. Due to the historic nature of Congress Hall and the Star Inn, we supply each guest with real keys attached by a signature, “Congress Hall”, brass plate. While expensive to maintain, we feel the historic keys are an important part of our guest experience. We’re happy to hear that you love visiting Congress Hall and Cape May and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Patrick Logue, Vice President of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We picked Cape May as our honeymoon destination based on our previous trips to the area. Friends recommended Congress Hall. Although we enjoyed the hotel and loved the location, I was very disappointed with our check -in experience. As a new bride, I couldn't be happier. I got to the front desk to check -in. It was around 1 pm on a Monday. No one else was there. Instead of being greeted with a smile and a welcome, I barely got a hello. When I asked about upgrading to a king size bed, the response was we are at 100% capacity. I understand not being able to accommodate my request, but I think there was a more hospitable way it could have been communicated. We were told our room wasn't ready and they would call us when we could check in. When we did get assigned a room, it was a handicap room without the view we paid for. I wish I would have returned to this less than friendly front desk clerk to change rooms, but I decided to avoid dealing with her again. Congress Hall you have a great property and everything else was great. You may want to remind your staff the importance of a good first impression. If I would have had one, this review would be nothing but great comments.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lorisueo530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCapeMay, Vice President of Hotel Operations at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Lorisueo530,

Thank you for taking time to detail your experience at Congress Hall. Front Desk reception is the first impression for all of our guests and a hallmark of our hospitality. I'm very sorry to hear our welcome and front desk staff was not up to our standards. We typically manage each guests experience closely in relation to "a room with a view" as we understand the importance of this factor during a leisurely getaway. I'm sorry the view afforded by your room fell short of your expectations. Please know your comments were reviewed with our Front Desk team. We are happy to note that you enjoyed the many amenities and services of Congress Hall. Please feel free to reach out directly so that we may choose the perfect room for you during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Patrick Logue, Vice President of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We couldn't have had a better time. Before the large crowds appear. We have two pre kindergarten girls and they had the best time. From the valet, to the kid friendly staff by the heated pool, to the accommodating staff at the amazing Blue Pig, it was all top notch. The room was incredible. Immaculate and clean. I would highly recommend king room 330, ocean and pool view.

This was our first time at Cape May and the jersey shore for that matter outside Atlantic city. I am done looking for a great vacation spot close to philly. We are hooked and will be back for many years to come. Even planning a family reunion.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Berrios10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I titled this review "Diamonds Are A Girls Best Friend" because I view Congress Hall Hotel, its owner and many staff as friends. I am a local but every opportunity I have to share Congress Hall Hotel and its sister properties (especially the cottages) with family and friends, I do. I have rented the Virginia Cottages (a sister property to Congress Hall) for several events, including holidays, a wedding (cousin had her wedding at Congress Hall) and just for a Girlfriends Getaway with 12 of my friends in Cool Cape May. We had a blast! But, Congress Hall in particular is one of the most beautiful hotels at the Jersey Shore. I may be a little biased because I used to work as a sales manager for the property, but I believe my opinion is an honest one, and I'd like to think that my former clients are still returning to enjoy this bright shining diamond on the beach. Kudos to you Curtis Bashaw, Patrick Logue and John Daily and a team of people who truly get what travelers want to experience and enjoy while they are vacationing away from home i.e. comfortable and luxurious bedding, friendly and courteous staff, delicous food, great drinks, lively entertainment, an inviting pool, shopping and spa. What more can a girl or anyone for that matter ask from a friend? 10 Carat Diamonds don't disappoint!

Room Tip: Any room as Congress Hall is a room you will enjoy! My tip is to bring someone special to share it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherSpaulding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The first time I stayed here was for the ocean drive 10 mile run a couple of years ago. I only booked it because they were a host hotel and located at the start line. What a great accidental find. You could spend a weekend here even if the weather was bad and have an amazing time. The restaurant and the lounge are both worth checking out.
The rooms aren't all that big, but so clean you could eat off the floors. It's not the cheapest place to stay in Cape May but I won't stay anywhere else again, and we've been to a few others. It is absolutely worth the few extra $$.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmac0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited Cape May for a wedding and chose Congress as the wedding reception was also there. We had a room on the top (4th) floor with direct views of the ocean which was lovely, and a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was also spacious, with a slightly wonky floor that added to the character.

It was a lovely venue for a wedding with cocktail hour being on the lawn, again overlooking the ocean. After the wedding we went down to The Boiler Room and thoroughly enjoyed the live band. We ordered room service which was also delicious, and breakfast in bed with a carafe of mimosa was a fabulous way to start the day!

When we returned home my husband realized he had left some of his clothes in a drawer in the hotel room The hotel responded quickly and mailed them back to us in a timely manner. I was impressed with this good customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I am in the hotel business and while I am writing this review late, it was a totally great stay. This place has a few things other hotels in the US don't have. 1. History, it was built in 1814. It's housed presidents, governors, etc.
2. Class. The pics do not do it justice.
3. Management, this place is run better than any hotel I've been around. Working with a new staff every year and keeping or training 5 star, 5 diamond quality is terrific.
4.location, it is in a great local on the beach and just great!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nydaytripper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#10 of 37 in Cape May
726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £102 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing