We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Millstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Congress Hall the hotel , the staff, the atomoshere is just wonderful .
We just love the way we feel when we vacation at the Congress Hall. I always say , "it is like going home for us " We love the Brown Room and all the music. The pool , beach ,the shopping and the restaurants are just great. It is our favorite place. We do not drive , we walke everywhere . It is just so charming, we love it! .

Room Tip: All the rooms are so clean and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCapeMay, Vice President of Hotel Operations at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear spa51,

Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed the amenities, dining and services of Congress Hall and our beautiful town of Cape May. We agree, it is the perfect town to explore by foot or bike. Many of our guests also enjoy renting Congress Hall bikes and peddling to our 62-acre Beach Plum Farm where they can explore our fields and meet our farm animals. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed part of our live entertainment program, featured in the Brown Room and Boiler Room at Congress Hall. Come back and see us soon!

Patrick Logue, VP of Operations, Cape Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    332
    128
    41
    42
See reviews for
306
502
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were in town for the Ocean Drive Marathon which started just outside the hotel and I greatly enjoyed my stay. The hotel worked well with the runners to make sure we had what we needed the morning of the race.

Congress Hall was a wonderful place with the feel of an old fashioned resort hotel. Rocking chairs sit under the broad awning circling the front of the building. Our room was generous in size with a lovely window seat. The bar was delightful and we had a great breakfast on Monday morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davetcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCapeMay, Vice President of Hotel Operations at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Davetcmom,

Congress Hall has proudly hosted the starting point for the 26.2 mile, annual Ocean Drive Marathon for 16 years. We’re glad you enjoyed the night you spent at Congress Hall as well as breakfast at the Blue Pig Tavern. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner year-round so please come back, put your feet up, and enjoy another meal with us! Thank you.

Patrick Logue, VP of Operations, Cape Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We love Cape May and usually stay at this landmark hotel every time we come to Cape May. We love the quaint old fashioned finishes throughout the hotel that overflow into the room. I love the screen doors on the outside of your room door and the old fashioned keys. Some of the staff has been there for as long as we have been coming. Great food at the Blue Pig and delicious drinks in the Brown Room, which is always busy with people coming and going. One negative, try to stay away from the rooms with the huge trash dumpsters. The seagulls will wake you at 4 in the morning. Cannot wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms beside or above the trash dumpsters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgang4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCapeMay, Vice President of Operations at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear travelgang4,

Thank you for letting us know how much your family enjoyed your visit to Congress Hall. Much of our guest programs are hand-tailored with families in mind, including: Square dancing, carnival night, farm outings, Blue’s Clubhouse, tye-dye, ceramics, kid’s karaoke, and much more. Our long-time staff enjoys welcoming back familiar guests throughout the year and we’re pleased to know you noticed. I’m sorry to note you were awoken by our iconic, (and sometimes pesky) seagulls. Our rubbish is contained at the far end of our parking lot, away from the hotel. While a few rooms do overlook the parking lot, most rooms either overlook the Atlantic or town. Please be sure to mention your view preference upon making your next reservation and we will gladly accommodate your request. We look forward to welcoming you back to Congress Hall!

Patrick Logue, VP of Operations, Cape Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We just stayed at the Congress Hall for three days two nights and found the hotel quaint and inviting. The service at the hotel and at the beach was very good but............ for a hotel that charged over $600 dollars a night I was surprised we were charged a cot fee. The children's night celebration at the pool became a nickel and dime fest where there was a $4 fee charged for a "s'mores" kit which was 4 marshmallows, 2 graham crackers and a piece of chocolate and 2 dollar fee for a small box of popcorn. Since we were nickel and dimed at the hotel you can imagine my surprise when a box arrived at our home a week and a half after we were home from the hotel. It was a nice gift box. Surprise! the gift was one that was dropped off by a friend to be delivered at the hotel for us. You can imagine my embarrassment when I received the box and realized that my friend must have thought me rude for never saying thank you for the gift I never received because the hotel staff never delivered it at the time of our stay So overall service not so good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCapeMay, Vice President of Hotel Operations at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Robert D,

Thank you for your comments. I’m sorry to hear you felt your stay may have lacked value. Given the rate you noted, it sounds like you booked one of our ocean-view suites or premier balcony rooms. We strive to provide an exceptional value given the robust roster of events and programs we offer. I’m guessing you attended our nighttime, “Full Moon” party at the pool which includes complimentary glow sticks and pool games for kids, while snacks like S’mores and popcorn are offered for sale. Amongst our other complimentary events offered for families: pop-up soccer games, kid’s karaoke, and shell painting. Tye-dye, ceramics, carnival games, train rides, Sundae-making and Blue’s Clubhouse are some of the events and activities for which there is a nominal charge. Our friendly concierge staff, (9am-7pm) can help point you to the event or program that best suits you and your family. I apologize for the fact that we neglected to deliver the beach toys left by your friends for your children as a welcome gift. This was a complete oversight on our part but is not indicative of the overall service we typically provide. Upon realizing our mistake, we shipped the beach toys to your home on a complimentary basis, including a plush, Blue Pig toy from our gift shop, along with a note of apology. We hope that in some small way, this helped make up for your disappoint. We look forward to seeing you again and welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly.

Patrick Logue, VP of Operations, Cape Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The location is still great, the place is still charming but the service is so disappointing and the food is terrible. It's a beautiful building but its looking rundown and needs to have a good restaurant.
The pool bartender is terrific.

Room Tip: Be careful about being over the "boiler room" - the name of the downstairs bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geez88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCapeMay, VP of Hotel Operations at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear geez88,

We’re saddened to read your comments and frankly, a bit surprised. Please contact us directly so that we may understand the nature of your disappointing dining experience and service issues. Thank you.

Patrick Logue, Vice President of Operations, Cape Resorts / 609.884.8421 / Plogue@caperesorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I've stayed at Congress Hall several times over the years, most recently with my wife and son (now 2 1/2). In terms of location and amenities, Congress Hall is hard to beat. The hotel is very quaint with a strong sense of history everywhere you look. The level of service from the hotel staff is top-notch, especially around the pool area. The food is also very high quality, either from their anchor restaurant, the Blue Pig, coffee shop Tommy's Folly, or at the pool or beach. You also cannot beat the location of the hotel since it is in walking distance to most of the main attractions of Cape May and is literally across the street from the Washington Street Mall which has all the shopping and dining you could ask for. The main drawback of the hotel is that it is old, and there are several infrastructure issues, including some minor plumbing and electrical issues. On this recent trip the lock on the door to our room was broken, so that when you turned the key the lock barrel just kept turning in a circle with the lock becoming disengaged. My wife had to have the maintenance team come, who told her that "they've had constant problems with the lock in this room." You'd think they'd have the lock replaced, but instead we were forced to deal with this issue every single time we reentered our room. Also the shelves in the bathroom were starting to come out of the wall and were therefore on a slant so that our belongings kept sliding off. Lastly, the WiFi in this hotel is basically non-existent. I know this could be classified as a "first world problem" but the fact is when you are charging first world prices, I don't think its unreasonable to expect WiFi that works properly. The main reason this was an issue for us was that my wife and I own our own business and were working remotely during our trip, and relied very heavily on our smartphones and laptops but were basically unable to use them for 90% of our trip. Other than that we still believe Congress Hall is the premier destination in Cape May, but that considering the prices that they charge, they should be handling some of these infrastructure issues.

Room Tip: Don't pay up for the ocean view rooms as the balconies on those rooms are accessible by climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCapeMay, VP of Hotel Operations at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Peter L,

Thank you for detailing your impressions of your stay. I’m sorry to note that you encountered maintenance issues. While Congress Hall is a historic building, registered by the National Park Service as a “National Historic Landmark”, it was completely renovated with modern amenities and systems, including electrical, plumbing, and HVAC. The age of the building is not an excuse for the poor maintenance issues you cited and I apologize these issues were not addressed, prior to your arrival. I’m also sorry that our wifi did not meet your needs during your stay with us. There could be a variety of factors that may affect wifi, but since upgrading our system last winter, we have received mainly positive comments. I was very pleased to note your satisfaction with our service standards, hotel amenities like our coffee shop and home wares store, Blue Pig Tavern and Sea Spa, as well as our spectacular, ocean-front setting in the heart of Cape May. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Patrick Logue, Vice President of Operations, Cape Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My wife & I just came back from a 3 night stay in Congress Hall. The property is top notch with excellent customer service. My wife is disabled & we found the ADA room to be set up perfectly in spite of this being an older hotel. The Blue Pig Tavern is great & we would definitely come again. The only downside was we could hear the people on the floor above us on occasion. Made good use of the adult pool, this is a big family spot.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tonyda61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCapeMay, VP of Hotel Operations at Congress Hall, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Tonyda61,

So nice to hear you relaxed and enjoyed yourselves! Congress Hall is fully certified as an ADA hotel and we’re glad you felt properly accommodated. Our Blue Pig Tavern proudly serves the very freshest of seasonal ingredients from our nearby Beach Plum Farm – we’re so glad you enjoyed it! Sorry to hear of the noise issues you encountered but we’re happy to hear you found your “place in the sun” at our adult pool. We hope to see you soon.

Patrick Logue, Vice President of Operations, Cape Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing