We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Brown Room is a Must!”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very nice bar and lounge in the Congress Hall Hotel. We had drinks before dinner and enjoyed the atmosphere very much. The drinks were excellent, bartenders attentive and bar menu good to satisfy that craving before dinner. Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mbeekerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Congress Hall is a very special place for my family. We have been coming many years and love the history of the hotel, the old slanted floors, and just how beautiful and charming the spot is. On our past stay this week we noticed a few things that could use improvements. If they are going to charge the rates that they charge, they need to provide a level of service to match it. 1) They are stingy with water. They give you 2 at check in and none for the rest of the week. Not even one little bottle with their advertised turn down service 2) You still have to buy beach tags even when staying at the hotel!! Come on!! They can't strike any kind of deal & build it into the already hefty rate?? 3) During the time that maids are cleaning, the floors have garbage piled sky high everywhere. I am talking a 6 hour stretch of time. The beach was the same way. Employees sat laughing in their chairs with heaps and heaps of balled up sandy towels in front of them.
The owners of Congress Hall should visit any Four Seasons and just take note on how they can step things up. Just because you have a gorgeous spot doesn't mean you should slack off!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank E4388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent four days and nights at the Congress Hall Hotel for a family reunion in August. Tragically, during the reunion a family member died suddenly in California and some of us had to immediately leave Cape May and head across the country. The staff at Congress Hall could not have been nicer or more more helpful, caring and compassionate. They went above and beyond and even made a private room available to our family so we could talk and be together without interruption. I am so thankful for the gracious way they reached out to us. The hotel itself is beautiful, comfortable, a real treasure. And the Blue Pig Tavern gets very high marks for helping out our family. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JKWilson195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Definitely a unique place, with lots of history. We had a room with a balcony. Frankly, the cost was ridiculously high for what you get and I would skip the balacony if we ever stay there again (but, I suppose it is a question of "supply and demand"). Small room, with the usual amenities at best. In addition, we are not fans of carpet in a room, or of having actual keys (even though there is a different room number on the key) The hotel itself is quite a structure - very well maintained, etc. The pool is quite small, which is strange considering the large area they have available - they really could create beautiful pool "complex"). Lots and lots of families with kids ranging from ages 4 - early teens, so snagging 3 or 4 lounge chairs can be daunting, if not impossible. There is a small, separate pool for "adults," although that does not mean it is just "adults" around that pool, just that only "adults" are allowed in the pool.

For a couple, I would try one of the smaller properties owned by the group. We walked past the Virginia, which is owned by the same group. As you are in Cape May there is no shortage of great little B&B type properties.

Congress hall's location is great. The beach is a across the street (although it is a bit of a walk to get there) and the walking/shopping area downtown is just 30 seconds from the front door.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived on August 10th we where suppose to stay 3 nights. I previously had surgery and thought I would be up for the vacation. I got sick the first night. I tried to stick it out but by lunch time the next day I knew I had to go home. I told the front desk my situation and they credited me all but a day and a half. The credit is good for our next stay. I was very grateful they could of kept it all. My husband and I have been going to Congress Hall and The Star Inn for many years now. Actually I won't stay any place else I love the 2 properties. The staff is always kind and pleasant and the rooms are so clean. We are planning to go back in the Fall and use our credit can't wait. We love Cape May...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank flop710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have been coming to cape May for 3 years. I have stayed at Congress Hall the last 2 years and just checked in today for the 3 rd year and would not consider staying anywhere else. The hotel has a unique charming feel to it as soon as you step in the front door. It is extremely family oriented from the pool side down to the beach. They have exciting events everyday for families from Carnivals to pottery and karaoke. The staff at this hotel is amazing. They are professional, friendly, Courteous and beyond accommodating for whatever you need. Christian checks your car in and brings your luggage up and has a smile the entire time. Jackie cannot check you in with anymore enthusiasm, she is so sweet. The staff at the pool and the beach are attentive and there for whatever you need all day long. The nighttime manager, Mike has made this years stay for us perfect so far. I called him about a minor incident last year and he gave me his card before we left and followed up throughout the year. He made sure I was happy with my room and he could not have been more sincere. We love this hotel and plan to be back for many years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DEspo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have been coming to the jersey shore for fifty years.
There is no better hotel or location than Congress Hall.
The rooms are great and the service has always been excellent. There is a comfortable feeling here.
The Blue Pig provides delicious meals that are priced right.
There are all the accommodations you need from the pool to the beach chairs and bicycles.
I love this place!!!
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
578 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £74 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing