We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for a Vacation or a Wedding”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel and was very impressed with the facility, not only as a location for a wonderful vacation but also to hold a wedding. Our room was quite large, clean and well decorated. The beds are fantastic and I always look forward to staying here since I usually get the best sleep in months on the very comfortable beds. During our stay we also attended a wedding here and must say that it makes a wonderful venue. The ceremony was outdoors on the well-maintained lawn, and the reception in the ballroom was also wonderful.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking for a nice location to stay for a vacation and especially a couple who was looking for a great venue for a wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donut1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, General Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Dear Donut1983
I enjoyed reading how much you enjoyed your stay at Congress Hall. Since we have gotten so much positive feedback regarding the bedding we decided to sell our comforters and bed linens in our new Tommy’s Folly Home Store. Now our guests can enjoy this comfort in their own homes as well.
Thank you for your kind words, they are always welcomed and appreciated.

John Daily
General Manager
jdaily@congresshall.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

the hotel room was quaint and charming, nice size tv, huge bathroon and we had a view of town, the room and grounds were spotless. two pools one for adults and a family pool. pool service was exceptional they treated you like royalty. they got you set up with chairs, cushions, towels and the umbrella and food and drink service was available, same for the beach but we did not go on the beach, there is a $5 charge per day of $10 for 3 days. service in the bars and coffee shop was great, fair prices. had a spa, did not use it, not enough time. golf tee time set up without a problem. valet parking was a plus. location was great. will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domino166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Congress Hall is a lovely Jersey Shore hotel.

There are many positives - it is a great option in Cape May if you do not like staying in B & B's, there is a pool on site (with an adult section and relaxing music), it is close to Cape May's shopping and restaurants, they have staff available at the beach and pool to setup chairs/umbrellas, and the property is clean and well taken care of.

While there are many positives I do need to mention some of the negatives that could be easily fixed by Congress Hall. The rooms are very clean, but in our particular room there were chips of paint on the wall and furniture and there were some stains on the carpet and chair in the room. We were there in June (before the high season starts) so I would have thought the room would be in top condition. Stains are something that should not exist at any price point. We were also surprised to see stains on the common hallway carpets. Another negative was the food on site at the pool. Quite simply - it was not good. We tried it two times and could not finish the meal. While there were many options to choose off the menu the food was just not good. It is convenient that there is a restaurant at the pool, but extremely inconvenient when you have to leave the property to search for other options because the food is inedible. That being said - the staff at the pool and the beach were very nice.

We were very impressed with the front desk staff - they were extremely helpful and professional. We also liked that there was a coffee stand downstairs. It made for grabbing a coffee and relaxing on the rocking chairs each morning a delight.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and look forward to staying there again next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsvc, General Manager at Congress Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Dear Randy74,

I am sorry to hear the paint in your room was chipping off the wall, please feel free to contact me personally and let me know which room you were staying in. In the off season we do replace carpets on a rotating schedule. I will be sure to add the room you were staying in to the maintenance list. I am also sorry to hear you did not enjoy our pool food. We have made changes to the mean this year and we were still working out our choices and the process. Since the changes we have been receiving better feedback.
Overall, your suggestions, compliments, and comments are all discussed among the managing staff here at Congress Hall and are taken into serious consideration. Please come and stay with us again and continue to deliver your feedback, we really appreciate it!

John Daily
General Manager
jdaily@congresshall.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

There are no other propertys in this category hands down , up and down the entire Jersey Shoreline. They continue to improve it in small ways each year. Although it 's not perfect it's worth driving to the end of the parkway for. Service can be spotty ( but that's almost everywhere...) Good food , good drinks , comfortable functional rooms , decent pool, great location! We have stayed at least once a summer season since the major renovation and will continue to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vimatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Beautiful location, outstanding facility, tremdous shore town, great restaurants, just a perfect place for vacation, family get togethers, wedding. Staff is great and service A+, food and drinks are very good and value for everything is A++

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoothdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Those that are expecting corporate elegance in the form of cookie cutter rooms that look the same in Minnesota as they do in Miami will not be impressed by Congress Hall. Congress Hall garners its charm from the uniqueness of it's Victorian style while not trying to compete with the bed and breakfast capital of the world that is Cape May. The turquoise blue/green paint color of the interior rooms is calming and appropriate for people who cannot stomach the flowery chintz of the nearby bed and breakfasts.
It is one of a kind in its own right. Yes, the floors tilt and creek sometimes but this is what you expect and want in Cape May, NJ. The hotel did an amazing job of renovating this hotel just enough for it to feel like an upscale resort while still maintaining the integrity of its historic, seaside beachy feel.

We stayed during the christmas season and were amazed at the attention to detail in the lobby and public spaces. The Christmas tree was one of the most amazing I had ever seen as its large, non-traditional shape was a perfect scale for the space. We just couldn't take our eyes off of it. The whole lobby was decked out in branches decorated with what looked liked ice crystals but was not gaudy or over the top. The breakfast at the Blue Pig Tavern exceeded our expectations as the eggs benedict was one of the best we had ever eaten. This hotel has enough charm even without the beach as we did not miss it at all. When we stay here again this spring, the beach will be an added bonus! Not many shore hotels can boast this claim.

The only downside to this hotel is the bloated price during the peak summer months which can exceed 400 per night. We have been lucky to stay here during the off-season and have taken advantage of sites such as priceline in order to make our vacation at this beautiful historic landmark more affordable. But then again, everything in New Jersey is overpriced so this should not surprise anyone.

We are looking forward to our stay tomorrow night for the beginning of the summer season!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Just got back from a weekend at Congress Hall and was very pleased. Great location in center of the action and right across the street from the beach. Free valet parking was a plus too. Our room on the 3rd floor had a great ocean view and was a good size. Bathroom had walk-in shower and a separate tub. Carpet was a little dated, but overall the room was nice and had a nice B&B charm to it. Staff was friendly also.

We got a last minute rate of about $114 and $144 per night on the weekend, so it was a great value as well, even if it was still off-season. It seems like a lot of weddings are here, so it can be a little noisy at night, so maybe get a room on the other side of the hotel if you think it could be a problem.

Many shops and restaurants are a 1 minute walk away. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingfor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
577 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £74 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing