We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a good time”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Freehold
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a good time”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel for two nights over the summer. The location was great! Right across the street from the beach and boardwalk and walking distance from the washington street mall and all of the restaurants..it is also a short cab ride from the Cape May Winery. The room and bathroom were clean and the service was great...anything extra we needed was helpful. The beds were a little uncomfortable but overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltravelmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    141
    43
    29
    36
See reviews for
147
254
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here based on a recommendation from a friend, as this was our first trip to Cape May. What a gem! Not only was it centrally located, right across from the beach, but it was CLEAN, sound-proof and recently renovated! The staff was all very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PATraveler096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We have returned to the Heritage several times and requested the third floor each time. Currently there is re-construction across the street and at first I/we wondered needlessly about noise, etc. (Construction ended each afternoon.) From the front porch we could see the ocean perfectly, partly because the former building is down and the new one is just beginning. The Heritage's location is perfect: right across from the beach,a fudge shop, a restaurant and within easy walking to the Wahington Mall and other restaurants. We use the rooftop deck for (take out) breakfast and a late-night glass of wine (from a local winery). The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is clear blue, clean and refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandDPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Our stay here never disappoints. To us there could be no better location... across the street from the beach, next door to a good latte, and a short walk in 2 directions to our favorite restaurants, shops, and sightseeing. The staff is friendly and the rooms are very clean. We've stayed 7 years in a row and plan to keep coming back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmmreads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Broken bed, missing TV remote, running toilet, zero internet access in the room, loud air conditioner: had to alert 'management' to all of these, and only the first two were addressed. Definitely close to the boardwalk, which is currently undergoing major, noisy construction because they have torn down the convention center. Large machines running all day. If you go, wait until 2012.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sdraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winslow twsp., nj
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We attended a family wedding this weekend. Searching online for a reasonable place to stay, I found the Heritage. I liked the look of it and the location- directly across the street from the beach and very small "promenade". We didn't need anything fancy, just a clean place to sleep and relax. The first thing I do upon entering a room is check out the tub, the bathroom was clean and looked to be recently updated. The bedding was clean, but we requested an extra pillow. We enjoyed sitting on the deck and watching dolphins swim in the surf. Some view was obstructed because there is some constrution on the promenade. True, no coffee pot or phone in the room, but who needs them? there are plenty of nearby shops to get coffee. Also, our blow dryer didn't work, luckily I brought one. The heritage is located on a somewhat busy intersection, but it gets quiet at night. Everyone walks or rides bikes. We were walking distance to wherever we needed to be, except the Lobster House for dinner, very good by the way. We had breakfast at McGlades across the street, again, very good and on the beach! Don't bother with the bagel shop on the corner, 2 bagels, cream cheese and coffee was $12!! The staff was friendly , the pool was small and only 4 feet deep, but that was just fine for me and if you have smaller kids. So in conclusion, I would go back, I would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We just returned from Cape May and the Heritage Inn. We can't say enough about this Inn. The location was wonderful, the staff helpful. My husband and I have found our new home away from home. The location is centrally located so we could walk anywhere we needed to go. The staff was most helpful with the day to day questions of where to go and what to do from a local's perspective. Our room was located on the 2nd floor over looking the beach and promonade. The view was great and the room itself was very clean and comfortable. We will return again to this motel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDBJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Sea Crest Motor Inn
#7 of 37 in Cape May
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Property: Heritage Inn
Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May
Heritage Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing