We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay!!!”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We've been spending vacations at the Heritage Inn for many years. It is a beautifully renovated hotel right aross the street from the ocean - great views! The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the best restaurants in Cape May and all the wonderful places to see in town. The hotel is a family-owned business with friendly, outstanding service. Guests are welcomed as family there. We stay in the third floor king deluxe rooms, where the view of the ocean, the town, and the sunset is amazing. Its a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank and Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    134
    42
    29
    34
See reviews for
132
243
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

It seems from other reviews that if you stayed in a room on the upper floors you might have a decent stay. However, we had the misfortune of staying in a room on the lower floor (Rm. 9) that turned out to be a disaster. The entire room reeked of mold and irritated out eyes. The rug smelled awful, we found mold in the bathroom and then (the most disgusting discovery of all) we found the coffee pot with about two cups worth of coffee in it from a previous guest with a layer of mold that looked to be at least a week old.
Initially, we tried to stay to remain open minded about the whole thing and believe the best of the owners in that perhaps they didn't know the room had a problem, but the coffee pot made that difficult to believe.
They did give us back our money for the second night we would have stayed. We would have left it to a bad experience, but when we read from a previous guest (see the August 16th review) that they also had stayed in Rm. 9 and described the same problem with the room. Since nothing apparently was done to rid the room of the mold problem, by the time we stayed in this room it was undoubtedly much worse than in August. We felt it inexcusable that they still rented this room and did not solve the problem which now expanded to the room not being cleaned throughly. They knew there was a problem with this room and they should have stayed on top of the mold problem its or just not rented it out anymore.
P.S. When we told the owners, they were attentive, but it was bit insulting to tell us that maybe a guest brought fish into the room and that was the cause of the smell. The presence of mold spoke to the cause of the stench.

Room Tip: Should you decide to take a chance and stay at this motel, get a room on an upper floor and check th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cachalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Where to start, Parking... around the corner in a poorly lit lot so you can worry about your car all night. Rooms, the first thing you notice is the funky odor but when you sit on the bed is the real treat. You notice that the bed and the pillows are wrapped in plastic covers. Presumably to keep the bedbugs at bay. Then there is the bathroom, the hair on the lip of the bowl was a nice touch that complimented to the mold and the tub that would not drain but the highlight of the bathroom was the two damp cleanish towels and two dry towels. I would have not minded the 20$ upcharge per night per child for each of my two children if they could have managed to get 4 useable towels and washcloths in the room.

After about 10 minutes we decided we would only spend one night there as opposed to the planned 2 night (We stayed one night because we were exhausted and it was late.) Upon informing the night manager that we would be leaving in the morning I was told to take up the matter of the refund for the second night with the day manager who was unavailable.

The day manager offered a credit for a future visit in lieu of a refund. We declined as we had no intention of spending another night in that place. So we ate the charges for the second night and found accommodations elsewhere.

I would sleep in the car before spending a nickel at that place again.

Room Tip: Pick a different establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
The real complaint here was not about the motel but about the fact that I would not refund you for the second night when you checked out at 3:30 pm after the Graduation Ceremony you attended was over. Our check out time is 10:00 a.m. not the middle of the afternoon. Additionally, we were kind enough to change your reservation dates several times at the last minute notice that you gave without any questions leaving the motel with a last minute vacancy. Fortunately we were able to fill that vacancy on both occasions. I think we were more than accommodating to you. Taking advantage once again by checking out in the middle of the afternoon and demanding a refund for that day is just one more example of your inconsideration. Again, your complaint is not with the motel it's self but with me not refunding your day's rent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle River, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Among the grand and great hotels of Cape May, The Heritage Inn is a gem. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a stay there. The folks there were so nice; advising us on places the "locals" dine etc. A totally terrific hotel!!!

Room Tip: Top floor # 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 783Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Enjoyed staying here for 5 nights in October! It's right within walking distance of beach/ attractions. I could see the ocean from my 2nd floor room. Love the top deck to relax and see the ocean and streets below! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room is a seashore type experience. Very quaint and plenty of space: sitting area, 2 double beds, kitchenette area and bathroom. Not brand new, but everything was clean. Will hope to stay there again!!

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors have better ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! (1) The customer service was terrible: the guy at the front desk was completely unaccommodating and argumentative whenever I raised completely legitimate complaints (e.g., I booked a room with a king size bed--not two beds--a month in advance). (2) Fraudulent billing practices: I booked my stay through Priceline.com at a specific price, but the hotel refused to honor the price quoted on my confirmation with no explanation of the added fees (except "take it up with Priceline"). In addition, the hotel made me pay the full price up-front, rather than at the end of my stay. (Has that ever happened to anyone?) (3) The amenities are terrible: no complimentary shampoo and conditioner, no phone in the room, a 13 inch TV from the early 90's without a functioning remote, a torn bed cover, plastic covers beneath the pillow cases, etc. (4) Finally, incompetent management: when someone set off a smoke detector at 2:30am, instead of contacting the person in the room to find out whether there was a fire (I suppose a phone would be required for that), the hotel fire-alarm went off, and I was rudely awakened in the middle of the night to stand in my underwear outside while the fire department came to shut off the alarm. Three or four people packed up and left immediately. The ONLY positive feature of this place is its location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Worst Guest Ever!!! Perhaps I should ask the other guests that were in the office at the time of your arrival to document the scene you caused which I think would speak volumes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Have been coming down to Cape May for years. We enjoy the Heritage Inn - it's across from the beach. We can watch the sunrise and the sunset from the veranda when we're not watching it from the dunes or from Sunset Beach.
Everyone at the Heritage is helpful and friendly. The hotel is just blocks away from all the shops.
I come down to Cape May to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet -- and I can really do that here.

Room Tip: Can't give away my favorite room - sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesel_Vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Property: Heritage Inn
Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May
Heritage Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing