We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice time!”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice time!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We experienced car trouble on our way to Cape May for a two night stay at the Inn. We were very distraught. When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner's son Mark. He was so cheerful, friendly, and sympathetic to our issue. He immediately began to show me all the great places to see and where to dine, etc. This Inn has been kept up for 45 years and is family owned and operated. The entire Inn is in fabulous shape. The rooms are very clean and nice. We were directly across from the beach, and within walking distance of all historic Cape May sights. I will definitely stay here again, only longer. Wonderful Inn.

Room Tip: 3rd floor deluxe rooms have an ocean view. All rooms were good however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg and Barbar... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    134
    42
    29
    34
See reviews for
132
243
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Great view of the ocean. Owner was very nice and polite. Close enough to center of town to walk to all shops and restaurants. The only negative was the coffee maker was filthy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteO1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

In mid September, we stayed at the Heritage because we really like Cape May and wanted to be close to the beach. Although it was close to the boardwalk, it was quiet as the season was winding down. Although the motel isn't new, we found our room well maintained and clean. We had a refrigerator, but there was no microwave. We could see the ocean from our second floor room. The location was great as the places we wanted to go to in town, such as the Mall, were in easy walking distance. We would certainly choose the Heritage again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FranandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I have been going to the heritage inn for over 10 years for our anniversary vacation in June it's very quaint and close to everything the rooms are cozy and very clean. Fantastic view of the boardwalk and ocean from the 3rd floor. Family owned and operated it's always a joy to stay there can't wait till next season Gwen and Mark are great hosts HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Third floor has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeastern PA
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a late-October opportunity to visit Cape May and I am pleased we stayed at the Heritage Inn. Excellent view from our third floor room, which was comfortable and very clean. The microwave and refrigerator were an added bonus! The staff of this family owned and operated inn was friendly and helpful. Free parking is near the property yet the car rarely moved as everything was in walking distance. I look forward to our return to the Heritage Inn!

Room Tip: Try for a third-floor room for the best ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

First --- when i was trying to make the reservation , it took me a few days before i reached some one. --Second--- when i was calling to confirm our reservation it took almost a week of calling before some one returned my phone call.. Third-- It had ANTS.. yes ANTS crawling around in the bathroom... and we made the reservation for three adults. but they only gave us supplies for 2. we went to the office the first day but they still only gave us supplies for 2. . Its not the worse I have seen but it sure was not the best or the friendliest. the dog was more friendly. . We will not go back there again.

Room Tip: I liked being on the bottom floor because i am handicapped and can not walk all those steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
It is always been the goal of the Heritage Inn to provide a wonderful experience for the guests that choose the Heritage Inn so we apologize for any inconvenience you felt during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Heritage Inn. The view from our third floor king room was great - we enjoyed seeing the sun rise and set. Nice to have a small fridge, microwave and coffee pot in the room. Convenient, free, parking is located close by which is nice. But you may not even need to use a car since the Inn is within easy walking distance of the Washington Street Mall and many other shops and restaurants. The best thing about the Heritage was the price and the worst were the pillows - if you can - bring your own along! Overall we had a great time in Cape May and would definitely stay at the Heritage again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor - you'll have to use the stairs but it's worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JLS1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Property: Heritage Inn
Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May
Heritage Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing