We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great location! We were able to walk to all the hot spots that we wanted to see in cape may. The owner is great ,friendly and accommodating .The room was clean and we had a great view on the ocean from our window. There was a microwave refrig and a coffee pot in our room. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcarabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a room on the third floor with an ocean view. It was great! We could see the ocean from the table in our room, or we could sit outside our room in chairs and see the ocean and boardwalk. We were in walking distance of so many things with the beach right across the street.There are not any elevators so we had to carry our luggage up the stairs; but the fact that we couldn't hear a thing while in our room made it worth the trip up the stairs. We could not hear any children, people talking, TVs, or toilets flushing. The room and our sleep was very peaceful. The rooms were very clean and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Mark, one of the innkeepers steered us in the direction for a pizza the first night we were there; the pizza was huge and delicious. We shared it with Mark and he stored the rest of it in their refrigerator. Another thing we noted is that there were plenty of police officers in the vicinity patrolling the area. It was a great vacation! We plan on staying there again! Beth & Steve

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I had the occasion to visit Cape May for the wedding of our friends. We choose the Heritage Inn because of the great location and reasonable high season beach price. We arrived early (about noon) and were greeted by a friendly Inn operator. Check-in was efficient, and parking abundant. The first thing we noticed was the great locale - walking distance to much of what Cape May has to offer. The room was meticulously clean. Being clean freaks, we appreciated that. And actually, the room was over deodorized - it had a very strong cleaning chemical odor. However we opened the window and that quickly dissipated. The room was very basic - older furnishings, a clean bathroom and we particularly enjoyed the extra sink and room frig.

The inn has a nice pool, and a wonderful roof-top sun deck. The sights there were great and there were brand new chaises, which were very comfortable. Parking was abundant.

I have only two complaints - the mattresses and bedding were not comfortable. The mattress was a bit hard and worn, and the pillows were covered in plastic which was just not comfortable. The walls are a bit thin in this hotel and we could hear normal conversations of our neighbors and a screaming child woke us in the middle of the night.

However, overall, this is a good hotel and I think we'd definitely stay here again. The locale, parking, and the roof top deck made this a good value.

Room Tip: I'd recommend not paying extra for ocean view rooms. The Inn is located across the street from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the inn for one night during the long Memorial weekend as we only planned to be at Cape May for a day trip. But we decided to stay for the night so we can enjoy the beach and see the lighthouse. I am so glad we did because the rate was great and the room was pleasant.

We stayed at the Breezeway room with a king size bed. The room was clean, fairly bright (oceanview rooms weren't available) and a comfortable bed.

There are several restaurants nearby and it is walking distance to the mall/restaurant area. The beach is literally across the street so it is super convenient for beach-lovers like myself. Also, there are shops along the beach promenade to check out.

We really enjoyed my stay at inn and we would definitely come back here when we are in Cape May again. It was quiet and relaxing at night and we slept like babies.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

For the location and price, this is a great place! It's clean and pleasant. Also of note is the hospitality of the innkeepers, particularly Mark. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome and to make sure we were happy - so much so, we extended our trip a day. Our views of Cape May (charming as it is) were greatly enhanced by this experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank L.s. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We experienced car trouble on our way to Cape May for a two night stay at the Inn. We were very distraught. When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner's son Mark. He was so cheerful, friendly, and sympathetic to our issue. He immediately began to show me all the great places to see and where to dine, etc. This Inn has been kept up for 45 years and is family owned and operated. The entire Inn is in fabulous shape. The rooms are very clean and nice. We were directly across from the beach, and within walking distance of all historic Cape May sights. I will definitely stay here again, only longer. Wonderful Inn.

Room Tip: 3rd floor deluxe rooms have an ocean view. All rooms were good however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg and Barbar... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Great view of the ocean. Owner was very nice and polite. Close enough to center of town to walk to all shops and restaurants. The only negative was the coffee maker was filthy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlotteO1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#16 of 37 in Cape May
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £93 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May
Heritage Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing