We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible room and unfriendly check in and atmosphere.”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
ny, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible room and unfriendly check in and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked this hotel to stay with my three girls. I was on my own and when I checked in, we were given the room in the far back, basically next to the cleaning closet. When one of my girls asked why we were given his room, the check in person replied, well, that's what happens when mommy books the vacation at the last minute. What a welcome! The room was depressing and shabby. The pool is tiny and literally surrounded by parked cars. The worst part of the whole experience was that the staff was completely unhelpful and unfriendly. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vjny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am not certain this is a valid review for several reasons: we do not have back rooms near cleaning closets, you stated you stayed in August and it is July, you also stated you stayed in 2013 and it is now 2014 and finally you stated that our staff was unfriendly which is contrary to our history which would most certainly not be a valid statement. We are a family operated establishment and we take great pride in our guest relations and ability to satisfy each of our guests' needs. In the last 45 years that we have owned and operated the Heritage Inn "unfriendly" is not a word associated with the Heritage Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    134
    42
    29
    34
See reviews for
133
243
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camillus, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is directly across the street from the beach, and is close/in walking distance to all the shopping and restaurants you would ever want. My husband and I stayed in room 24 on the 3rd floor, and this was a beautiful ocean view room. The staff at The Heritage are very friendly! The only downfall was that the bed was very uncomfortable. We brought our own comforter, so what we ended up doing was flipping over the bedding sheet side up, and that added a extra layer of bedding made it tolerable. The air conditioner worked very well, and the free wifi was awesome too! I was able to look up information on different excursions we wanted to do during our stay. All in all, a excellent hotel!!! I will stay there again and again!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 103SueFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is located right across from the beach, you could not be closer! It's also very close to everything in town! The staff were very warm and friendly. They are dedicated to maintaining the building, we saw a painter working on fixing up some of the railings.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here July 11th to 14th with wife and 2yr old. Been to Cape May quite a few times and stayed at different motels. This room was base 2 x double bed.

Positives:
- Location is perfect for walking anywhere; beach, restaurants, bars, Washington st mall area. Never had to use car. Room was clean.
- Staff was kind and informative.
- Pool was a high of 4ft which is a good height to be able to play with your kid/run around pool with her.
- room has mini fridge. Kept things very cold.
- AC in room can make room very cold on a hot day

Negatives:
- Towel bar fell off in bathroom.No biggie, just should be fixed so customers don't experience it.
- Bathroom is big but a lot of unused space. There is no counter space at all. Zero. And no cabinet. No room on sink besides for tooth brushes and some soap, so you find yourself stashing your belongings on top of toilet and having to use the bedroom counter for all your bathroom needs.
- the double bed is always going to bed tight when sharing with another, unless you are both tiny, but this one sank a lot too. A firmer double bed so it can handle two people well would be a nice upgrade.
- Parking is only for one car. This is due to limited space and you can park on street a block down for free if you find a spot. This is something just worth noting for people looking to stay.

Summary:
Great time with fam enjoying everything cape may has to offer. Great breakfast right across the street overlooking the ocean, shaved ice across street, Rita's ice cream, and good coffee place, next door to your right. All restaurants and bars a walk away. Just a great location right on beach Ave.
Remember I stayed in base 2 x double bed room. I can't speak for other rooms, but it needs to additions and bed overhaul to be a good base double bed room.

Would I come back? There are lots of hotels/motels even closer to center of town on beach ave but very tough to find availability on short notice. Short notice equals a nice weather weekend.

I would try others if price was right if available. But for price and location alone I would definitely come back to heritage.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I can appreciate your comment about the bathroom's overly large size as it is a very large bathroom. The reason for this is that it is our handicapp bathroom which was required by law to be that size with no obstacles such as cabinets etc so that a person in a wheel chair can manouver to the sink, shower etc. While I would love to install cabinetry I can not for the above reasons and must adhere to the guidlines set by the American Disabilities Act. As to the parking, as everyone knows, parking in Cape May is considered a premium which is why we can only offer parking for ONE car per unit which is typically sufficient.
Again thank you for your review and we do hope to see you at the Heritage on your next visit to Cape May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Heritage Inn is our 1st choice. We feel like family each time we visit (and that's usually 2-3 times per season)! Clean, convenient and we walk to great restaurants, clean pristine beaches and all the fabulous shopping. All the while enjoying the Victorian architecture along the way. We are 60 and 61 years young and don't mind the steps at all (no elevator) but if you can do it, worth every step. And on top of the hotel is a lovely open deck and new lounge chairs to see the view of the ocean for miles. So relaxing. And their pool is great for families. Each and every time we stay we've had no complaints of riff raff or disturbances. Gwen goes out of her way to make us feel welcome. Convention Hall is right across the street as is the boardwalk and beach access. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Heritage Inn where you are treated like a friend and your visit will be that much better. Thanks Gwen, we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: We've stayed on every level and they're all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

hotel has carpet and stunk like mold eyes teared and watered and felt ill. plastic pillows. owner/ mother rude and nosy room never cleaned properly. mold all over building inside/out just look at pics

Room Tip: all rooms have must/mold smell and its everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I appreciate your going over our property with a fine tooth comb and have addressed all your issues. Again thank you. I just wish you had mentioned the painting crew that was here working during your stay and that you could see the finished product. I do hope you come visit again, ask for me, and I am positive you will enjoy your stay just as much as the many other guests we have at the Heritage. Please read their reivews and you will be assured that the Heritage is indeed a terrific place to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallkill, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

...you will find The Heritage Inn. A hybrid blue victorian with white trim, The Heritage Inn is a place for younger to middle age patrons (as there is only stair access besides ground) to let their hair down and enjoy cape may. Each room has all the necessary comforts-refrigerator included-to enjoy your stay. Gwen will greet you at the front desk and her sons will assist you at night. A great sun deck (the hidden secret) overlooks the beach and promenade. Don't come for the pool however it is clean, just smaller, perfect and safe for small children. Overall The Heritage Inn is a place you come back to each year, ask for room number by name, and they will remember yours as well. No complaints about anything, A/C is amazing for a hotel, outdoor access, and everything is walking distance. Check it out for yourself when your at exit 0.

Room Tip: Third floor has access to sun-deck...noone uses it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Property: Heritage Inn
Address: 721 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May
Heritage Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing