We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value in Cape May”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best value in Cape May”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I've been coming to Cape May with my family for many years. I've done a lot of hotels and Montreal Inn is definitely the best value with everything I need in a hotel; on the beach, pool, restaurant, quality of rooms and service. They are very family friendly. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    192
    52
    23
    18
See reviews for
234
265
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

It's the Jersey shore and I wasn't expecting the Ritz.

Positives:

Location, location, location...across from ocean, nice views on upper floors and close enough to everything else in Cape May

Clean

Beach services

Negatives:

smallest bathroom ever

no shade/umbrellas at pool

area outside pool on first floor where there are umbrellas are seized by folks in rooms that back out and signs say this is a no-no and that these chairs/tables/umbrellas are for all guest, but no enforcement and staff turns it's head when there is conflict

Parking is a problem...like the bathroom, the spaces are also small and no designed for large cars/SUVs and cars are wedged against one another

Will probably look at other options next visit.

Room Tip: book upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bobk1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Vacation time is now more precious and valuable than it has ever been! My wife and I have one week in the summer to take off, so we want a guaranteed fabulous time. Period. Well, for the fifth consecutive summer, The Montreal Inn has provided us with a "dream vacation week". The service, the food, the amenities, the luxury, the convenience, rooms, the pool, the beach, the people are all extraordinary. Across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and a spotless, beautiful beach...nestled within an elegant and historic Cape May community...spoiled by one great restaurant after another... a summer-beachtown environment that places us in another world. Stress-free, pampered, and all very affordable. Thank you Larry and your wonderful family for continuing to be owners of one of the best hotels on the east coast. See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuk123
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I've been going to Cape May for years and have walked past the Montreal Inn many times and eaten in the restaurant. This year we decided to make an off-season visit and stay at the Montreal Inn. This is a great place! The room was one of the cleanist I've ever seen and the staff are so friendly.

The room itself is nothing special--it's your basic hotel room. The balcony facing the ocean is great. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed in a room on the 4th floor near the sundeck.The renovated rooms are nicer than when we were there 5 yrs ago, though we would've liked an extra chair and small table in the room. The extra space was there. An extra hook in the bathroom, maybe on the back of the door, would've been nice too. Our only major complaint is that the AC was so loud when it kicked on! Alittle disappointed that beach umbrellas are now $7 when they used to be free. We really liked the Caesar and Aisan wraps from Harry's restaurant too, had them for lunch twice. Montreal Inn is in a great location. Easy to walk many places.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pgh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our family just returned from our second stay this summer at the Montreal inn. We have been staying at the MI for the past twenty-two years and look forward to staying there for many more years to come. Our sons loved all the available activities, and we as parents could easily monitor and supervise them. Walking across the street to the beach is super convenient. The hotel staff warmly greeted us when we arrived and wished us the best when we departed. The owners have always taken the time to chat with us despite the fact that they're busy. We appreciated being able to stay in a designated smoke-free room. The attention to detail is outstanding...the grounds are very clean. Our stay at the Montreal Inn is a family tradition...it's what defines our summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cones1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Edge, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The total experience is wonderful. The Front Desk staff are greet you with a smile and complete the registration/check-in quickly and answer your questions on sights to see and places to eat. Parking is convenient to to elevator but once you park everything is in walking distance or you can take the trolley.

The accommodations are beautiful and clean. The televisions and kitchen appliances work as does the internet. I used all of the amenities- pool, exercise room, sauna, bar and restaurant.

I really like the ocean views from the balcony with the beach right outside the front door. The most trying aspect is grabbing a chaise longue at the pool after 12 Noon. I had a wonderful time and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBoy55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing